Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The grower of all growers
A friend highly recommended Interpol to me, based upon the first album, and I found myself doing a very unusal thing. I bought the album without hearing any of the songs, and not having a clue what to expect. I put it on, and after hearing it the first time I felt very let down. Determined not to waste a tenner and consign the CD to an eternity in the CD-rack, I decided...
Published on 20 Jan. 2005 by Anthony Ackers

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First one was best!
I find this one from Interpol pretty boring, and really not competitive to thei first album... Fine singles, but... weak.
Published on 10 Jun. 2010 by Giorgio Maria Visimberga


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best album in a VERY long time, 27 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antics (Audio CD)
A Very underrated band that deserves the highest of accolades.Best money that i have ever spent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album of 2004 has arrived, 3 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Antics (Audio CD)
Like many others, i'm sure, putting my copy of "Antics" into the player for the first time was slightly unerving. Could it possibly live up the heights of the debut.....?
Well the answer is YES, YES and YES again.
Having listened on repeat for the last few days, the unmistakable thrill of realising we have another classic on our hands, (and ears), has hit me. This is the album of the year, and a very worthy successor to "Turn on..."
Every track is a stand out, but the only track being skipped is that of the opener. Not because it's a poor track, but merely because it's an atmospheric builder, and i'm just too impatient to get to the goodies.
Current favourites are Evil, Narc, Not even jail, C'mere & Length of my love, which i recommend to those wanting to download a taster before shelling out.
All in all, pure class from start to finish, and the first band in a long time to make that "difficult second album", as good if not better than the first.
Well done guys, please keep the momentum up, and give us some more soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The dark side of the tune...., 12 Oct. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Antics (Audio CD)
Here it is at last..after a 2 year wait and Strokes take heed..this is the way to do the difficult second album.
Short and sweet..ten tracks and very little filler!.
The claustrophic uneasiness of "Turn On The Bright Lights" has been enlivened by a parking-mall size sound and production, the drums are massive on every track while the bass rumbles and swoops on the backing like a frenzied falcon!. The guitars are chiming,buzzing cacophonies of noise and the subtle melodies flow under the tactful guidance of Paul Banks baritone delivery.
All of the tracks pulsate energy and fustrated intent, the lyrics inaudible one second but prominient the next. There are 2 average tracks where the pounding intensity suprisingly grates but this compact,well measured and downbeat album is another classic and should be in every good goth-indie collection come Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Antics as in Classic, 12 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Antics (Audio CD)
Interpol's new album starts where Turn On The Bright Lights ended. A wee bit more of depressing songs (Next Exit), great instant classic (Slow Hands) and a few disco beats (Public Pervert). A must have for all Interpol fans and maybe an album to start with if you're not familiar with the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album I've heard since TOTBL, 9 Sept. 2004
By 
shai navot (Tel-Aviv, Israel) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Antics (Audio CD)
Interpol are the best band I have heard in years
They caught me with their dark, claustrophobic, urban rock.
The singer's voice is soooo good!!!
The guitars
everything.
Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First track - naff. Other nine tracks - phenomenal., 26 Sept. 2005
This review is from: Antics (Audio CD)
The theory with Interpol's debut was that if you liked Joy Division, then it stood to reason that you would love Interpol.
This theory is totally fair - on Turn the Bright Lights, they sounded like Joy Division down to the production. Claustrophobic, eerie, isolated - Interpol's sound was all of those things. To put it bluntly, 2002 was the year of Interpol, and few albums came close that year.
On the first play of their second album, you could be forgiven for thinking that Interpol had sold themselves to the dark side ('Next Exit' sounds so much like the Strokes, it's not even funny), but then it hits you - the blistering 'Evil'. The bassline is so infectious, and the guitar just hooks you.
Thankfully, the rest of the album is like the 2nd track - creepy, claustrophobic indie anthems, with a slightly cynical, but also weirdly uplifting outlook. If you liked the first record, you will be disappointed at first, but give it time. Musically, this album is arguably better than the first. It's just a pity that the 1st track is such a poor effort, and it really dents your first impressions of this CD. Still, that's what CD player Program facilities are for, eh?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What i hate the most, 28 Feb. 2007
By 
John Bayliss "Johny Bravo" (East Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Antics (Audio CD)
i love this band and have only heard this ablum, the flavour of the music really strikes a note in my mind. i shall have to give the other album a look.

But what i hate the most is people who rate the product as rubbish it, them wright a total rubbish reveiw i know its there opinion but im sure i dont need to be told what to buy like that idiot Thom who feels so strongly that he wants too control how other people spend there own money, well i tell him to BOG OFF.

this is what he wrote that really ticked me off;

"STOP looking at this album. GO buy the first one. This is a waste of our time."

Sometimes i wish that people would keep there mouths shut instead of rubbishing the bands name.

So Thom if you read this PLEASE dont tell me what to do or what to buy beacuse what you say is crap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romantics..., 28 July 2004
By 
Mr. M. Walsh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Antics (Audio CD)
Think of the words energy and insight. Then think of the words flamboyance and perception. These words all exemplify Interpol. And as we know, words are exceedingly important to Interpol. They are the band that oust any other act coming close to inner-city poetry that is made of perfection. This their second album 'Antics' mixes both lavish sensations in 'Take You On A Cruise' and just plain jaw-dropping angular basslines in 'Evil' and 'NARC'. The release date is punctual also - leaving the listener ample opportunity to get some of / all of the album downloaded in summertime, giving it time to bear fruit. Then when it hits home in autumn, the bright lights will be shining neon-style as Interpol are corroborated as saviours. And it's all in the name of love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars passable pastiche (if ur > 35), 27 July 2007
By 
P. Addyman "padonbike" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Antics (Audio CD)
Kind of interesting and possibily even fresh and dynamic if you missed the first run. Their best songs sound like the worst songs on Closer sung by Michael Stipe. I thought the Editors were an accident, but excavation whilst the topsoil is still fresh is clearly becoming a trend, which is handy because those "in the know" can continue to knock the eighties, whilst eulogising over the "new bands" that owe their every note and nuance to that same decade. Erm, something not quite adding up ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A time to be so pleased, 30 July 2004
By 
"kdonn2410" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Antics (Audio CD)
In 2002, post-punk was saved by the greatest album this side of the millennium so far. Turn on the Bright Lights was haunting, claustrophobic and yet uncontrollable epic. It received criticism from some critics, ones who claimed that Interpol were a reproduction of Joy Division, failing to see the refinements made on Ian Curtis' immortal sound (and voice). Whilst not being a significant commercial success, Interpol delighted fans with a smart, dark aesthetic, driving drums and bass lines, fearsome jangly-guitars and Banks' desolate voice singing eloquent lyrics.
Of course, they had to follow it up.
Early reports came in from late 2003 with regards to the recording of 'Antics', the follow up to Turn on the Bright Lights. Comments from the band indicated a radical change on the sound but "the fans will still like it I think" assured Banks. Not the encouraging reply to fans' "It aint broke, dont fix it" plea. However, when the track-listing was listed in June 2003, fans were able to instantly identify NARC, Length of Love and A Time To Be So Small: tracks that had featured in the band's live set since 2001... perhaps not the radical change feared then, but are we getting anything new?
Come July, the answer came (yes... it was on the naughty internet). Opening track 'Next Exit' is an unusually easy listen, optimistic and backed by uncharacteristic keyboards which made a decidedly different opening to Untitled. 'Evil' was next and made for a very interesting listen, essentially being a matured version of Specialist; gentle then desperate then gentle desperate with the bass line and lyrics stealing the limelight. Then comes NARC, one of the band's greater moments and one of the album's highlights without being a progressive track as indeed it would fit easily on TOTBL. 'Take you on a cruise' is another indication of the new Interpol sound; not as dark as its preceding songs but pleasing nonetheless. 'Slow Hands' is this album's pacy song, it's equivalent to 'Roland' and whilst perhaps not quite as good, its certainly stands its ground and is a strong track. 'Not Even Jail' is another highlight with real enormity and YES really jangly guitars that go NA NA NAN NA NA NANA NANA NA. This track is a great because it takes good points from old stuff and introduces new stuff that works, as well as benefitting from the more sophisticated production on this album. The next two tracks 'Public Pervert' and 'C'mere' are probably the two weakest songs on the album for me but this is a sign of the general quality of Antics as these songs are not bad by any means and feature some cool moments. But then- DADADADADAD DEDED DEEEDEDEEEDEDD DADADADADDA- Length of Love is annouced and once again we are transported back to the days of TOTBL with intimidating power; Length of Love is one of Interpol's finest moments... ever. It can only be suitably followed by 'A Time To Be So Small' which has been given a makeover for the better and makes a fantastic closing song.
Are we getting anything new? Absolutely. Its welcome too. Antics is new and different but not worse off for it, we are frequently reminded of older tracks that make us love Interpol and yet at the same time are challenged by interesting new stuff which really improves with time. None of the tracks are bad in any sense, making an all-round well structured album that will prove to be a vital addition to the Interpol back-catalogue.
Another future classic? Only time will tell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Antics
Antics by Interpol (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews