Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Porridge Christmas Specials
Many comedies fall down on the Christmas special, when an extention to the normal running time highlights flaws in the scripts, or takes the characters out of their normal zone with disastrous results. This is not the case with this DVD. No Way Out has Fletcher trying to swing a stint in the prison hospital, but Harry Grout has friends on the outside who need a favour...
Published on 6 July 2010 by Suzie Scribe

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars funny
good old fashioned humour.
no blood,violence or crime,although set in a prison.
just illustrates how times have changed brilliant comedy
Published 7 months ago by fleurplumb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Porridge Christmas Specials, 6 July 2010
By 
Suzie Scribe (Basildon,England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Porridge - The Christmas Specials [1975] [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Many comedies fall down on the Christmas special, when an extention to the normal running time highlights flaws in the scripts, or takes the characters out of their normal zone with disastrous results. This is not the case with this DVD. No Way Out has Fletcher trying to swing a stint in the prison hospital, but Harry Grout has friends on the outside who need a favour. The Desperate Hours has Fletcher and Godber looking forward to a Christmas drink. Things are bound to go wrong when Reg Unwin has visions of Christmas outside. Classic comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ho Ho Ho, 31 Dec 2004
By 
Grandpaw Broon (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Porridge - The Christmas Specials [1975] [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Superb value. Both Porridge Christmas Specials plus the episode of the BBC Britain's Best Sitcom on Porridge in full (about 1 hour). This is a must for fans of good old Fletch and co.
Worth the money for the Britain's Best Sitcom programme alone. It's great to see cast members reminisce and see them as they are now, for example Sam Kelly (Bunny Warren) and Tony Osoba (McClaren.) The programme is presented by Johnny Vaughan - please don't let that put you off!
As for episodes themselves - pure golden Porridge.
Mr Mackay orders you to by it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy Genius, 9 Mar 2005
This review is from: Porridge - The Christmas Specials [1975] [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
I love Ronnie Barker, I think the man is a comedy genius. I will sit down and watch anything with him in it. I had all the Porridge DVDs and was very, very happy when this became available. Good to hear that the Two Ronnies will back on our screens this year too as it should gain a new audience of younger viewers like me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 14 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porridge - The Christmas Specials [1975] [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Seen a clip on TV of the Porridge series and decided to buy the complete series as well as this DVD Christmas specials What a great DVD,brings back memories of when i was young Ronnie Barker at his best,Richard Beckinsdale oh so young, in fact the cast is all great ,Christmas sitting by the telly with my kids watching the christmas specials together good times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completists Will Need To Buy This, 11 Jun 2011
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Porridge - The Christmas Specials [1975] [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD contains two classic Christmas episodes, extended to 40 minutes each, so you aren't getting a full series.

However, if you are one to own the whole set, then you will not be disappointed with these.

One episode is the one where Fletch is trying to blag Christmas in the sick bay, and the other is the day Fletch and Godber get stuck in a hostage situation in the Governor's office.

Full of classic lines, wonderful expression, and more comedy on one DVD than most modern comedies manage in a whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality TV series, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porridge - The Christmas Specials [1975] [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best classic tv series of all time and many people hold fond memories of Porridge ! I cannot stop laughing at the episodes and is a huge enjoyment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porridge - The Christmas Specials [1975] [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Never ceases to please. Great comedy and acting from 2 wonderful talented men. A pure joy to watch over and over again.
Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porridge - The Christmas Specials [1975] [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
great product would recommend, i was and am very pleased with my purchase and the arrival time.Good value for your money.And arrived well within stated timescale
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 70's TV fideal for nostalgia lovers and those who just enjoy good tv, 3 Mar 2014
By 
S. Fletcher (peterborough UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porridge - The Christmas Specials [1975] [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Classic Ronnie Barker and Richard Beckinsale provide timeless laughs in this classic sitcom. Good for nostalgia lovers and those who just want a laugh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas classic, 29 Nov 2013
This review is from: Porridge - The Christmas Specials [1975] [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely love Porridge and the Christmas specials are up there with the best of them. Timeless comedy, still raises a laugh no matter how often you watch them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Porridge - The Christmas Specials [1975] [1976] [DVD]
1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews