Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end is here!
I thought this was a rather touching end to such a long running well loved programme! People may disagree but the characters have grown up and been through so much together on screen that I thought the episode paid tribute to that!
I for one will sorely mis Only Fools and Horses now! But by buying this I will have the last part in the jigsaw!
Thank you all OFAH...
Published on 7 Oct. 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye.....Again.
Like most, i believe this great British comedy should have come to an end with the "Time on Our Hands" episode, but with most successful things it is usually pushed and pushed until it runs out of steam. Needless to say it doesn't come close to the "good ol' days" of Only Fools magic.
Published 6 months ago by Stuart


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end is here!, 7 Oct. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - Sleepless in Peckham [2003] [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
I thought this was a rather touching end to such a long running well loved programme! People may disagree but the characters have grown up and been through so much together on screen that I thought the episode paid tribute to that!
I for one will sorely mis Only Fools and Horses now! But by buying this I will have the last part in the jigsaw!
Thank you all OFAH Characters/Writers/Producers etc for writing a great end to a great legendery programme!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A first-class extra-long special., 25 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - Sleepless in Peckham [2003] [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
It looks as though the Trotters are about to be evicted from their flat, and just as Cassandra is soon to give birth. So Del and Rodney set about various money-making schemes, such as Rodney attempting to write a new thriller. Meanwhile, Marlene goes missing (just after Boycie takes out a huge life insurance on her), and a photograph from an old 1960s trip to Margate shows more than just the series' regulars with silly haircuts. As with 'Strangers on the Shore', this is an example of the series back to its very best after the train-wreck 'If They Could See Us Now'. The combination of humour (the chopsticks scene is a classic Trigger moment)and the occasional darker moment work well and it's a fine way to round off the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars End Of An Era, 31 Aug. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - Sleepless in Peckham [2003] [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Only fools has to be the longest running sitcom in the UK; 22 years in the making! After the trilogy ending with the Trotters becoming millionaires in 1996 many people though that would be the end, but due to popular demand they came back for one final outing. Many people have criticised the final three episodes, which i think is unfair. Both Buster and Kenneth past away after the millionaire episodes, so i personally think it was very brave of John Sullivan to bring it back with two main cast members missing and to take away the millions. I believe the episodes should have been shown together over one Christmas as the intended Trilogy, instead of the BBC splitting it over three Christmas years just to grab the guaranteed ratings for three years in a row. When watched together the final three episodes make a funny and poignant ending to the sitcom. I agree with many people that the episode is not a funny as previous episodes, but that wasn't really the point of the episode. The episode closed a few loose ends, rounded off the story very nicely, explained some missing parts of the story and has paved the way for the sequal stories that John Sullivan is working on.
This episode has (is) a wonderful ending for the Trotters. I would like to thank John Sullivan for the Trotters and 22 years of VERY funny moments; it has been a part of my life, from a child to a man, and always will be. As voted for this year, Only fools IS the number one Sitcom in the UK! Only fools has been a part of so many peoples lives for so long, it will be sorely missed, especially at Christmas.
My only criticism for the DVD, that why it doesn't get 5 stars, would be the usual for ALL only fools DVDs. WHERE ARE THE BONUS FEATURES? If other sitcoms like Red Dwarf, first aired in 1988, can cram bonus features then why not only fools? Has the bonus stuff been lost by the BBC, like many of their tops sitcoms? Maybe they should add bonus material for only fools and horses on their BBC Treasure Hunt list?!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars much loved, 2 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - Sleepless in Peckham [2003] [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
when i sent for this dvd,the end to a much loved series,i wasnt aware that i had not seen it.so was i delighted to find that out,what a treat,i liked the way it was rounded off,leaving old friends sorted ,and everything shipshape as Abert would say,do i think it was time to say goodbye,yes,anymore might have damaged the whole thing,who am i kidding if they had made them, i would loved em come what may sueb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars under-rated classic, 28 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - Sleepless in Peckham [2003] [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
I can't understand why so many people criticise this final episode so much. I know there are a few dodgy moments but overall this is a very emotional and funny episode, especially the last half hour. For me it's the perfect end to the series, all loose ends are tied up and everyone is happy, healthy and wealthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tu jour le monde as they say in the dudoine., 29 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - Sleepless in Peckham [2003] [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Great end to what is undoubtably Britain's Best Sitcom and a show which is very worthy of that prostigous title it won earlier this year. We've seen Del and Rodney grow over the years from those two likely lads to mature family men married (well married and a significant other in Del's case) and now both with kids. It was quite something to learn after all these years of suggestions that Del and Rodney might have different dads it turns out that they really did. It's sad to see the Trotters go but we mustn't forget that John Sullivan has said he never says never and he's brought them back before. Who knows? Personally I'm going to hope that this is not goodbye to Del Boy and Rodders but merely... Bonjour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fools & Horses, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - Sleepless in Peckham [2003] [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Brilliant as all the Fools & Horses are. There is little to beat this, it will last a lifetime. Our sons love all the episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 April 2009
By 
S. Egan (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - Sleepless in Peckham [2003] [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Brilliant as usual - recommend you buy the box set which contains the full series and Christmas Specials - it's fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleased, 14 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - Sleepless in Peckham [2003] [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
This was a gift and the person was pleased with it. The recipient is collecting the full set of these DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fitting Ending., 2 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
The comedy series of last centuary of the last millenium, the depth and sheer scope of the characters mind boggoling, the script writing a "touch of glass" (excuse the pun). has their ever been a comedy with a more consistent set of episodes over such a long period of time, the simple answer no. many people were dissapointed with the finale episode saying it wasn't that funny, ok yes it wasn't the most hilarious, but it was a good round up of the series (how can a final episode be hilarious when you no it's the end?) with suspicions that del and rodney aren't.... confirmed. it was an extremely emotive ending and was a far better finish than that of the office which had praise heaped upon it (it was a predictable ending, with unrealistic circumstances inbetween, and wasn't as poigniant an ending as made out to be), in my opinion the office xmas special didn't have the same quality of writing as the previous two series nor "a sleepness night in peckham" and the talking heads weren't up to their usual brilliance. only fools on the other hand was well scripted with the acting up to its usual impecible standard. for one i will miss the series, it will surely go down as the greatest comedy ever series writen and i will be suprised if it is suppassed. DPT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only Fools and Horses - Sleepless in Peckham [2003] [DVD] [1981]
£5.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews