Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars43
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2004
I thought this was a rather touching end to such a long running well loved programme! People may disagree but the characters have grown up and been through so much together on screen that I thought the episode paid tribute to that!
I for one will sorely mis Only Fools and Horses now! But by buying this I will have the last part in the jigsaw!
Thank you all OFAH Characters/Writers/Producers etc for writing a great end to a great legendery programme!
0Comment14 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2004
Only fools has to be the longest running sitcom in the UK; 22 years in the making! After the trilogy ending with the Trotters becoming millionaires in 1996 many people though that would be the end, but due to popular demand they came back for one final outing. Many people have criticised the final three episodes, which i think is unfair. Both Buster and Kenneth past away after the millionaire episodes, so i personally think it was very brave of John Sullivan to bring it back with two main cast members missing and to take away the millions. I believe the episodes should have been shown together over one Christmas as the intended Trilogy, instead of the BBC splitting it over three Christmas years just to grab the guaranteed ratings for three years in a row. When watched together the final three episodes make a funny and poignant ending to the sitcom. I agree with many people that the episode is not a funny as previous episodes, but that wasn't really the point of the episode. The episode closed a few loose ends, rounded off the story very nicely, explained some missing parts of the story and has paved the way for the sequal stories that John Sullivan is working on.
This episode has (is) a wonderful ending for the Trotters. I would like to thank John Sullivan for the Trotters and 22 years of VERY funny moments; it has been a part of my life, from a child to a man, and always will be. As voted for this year, Only fools IS the number one Sitcom in the UK! Only fools has been a part of so many peoples lives for so long, it will be sorely missed, especially at Christmas.
My only criticism for the DVD, that why it doesn't get 5 stars, would be the usual for ALL only fools DVDs. WHERE ARE THE BONUS FEATURES? If other sitcoms like Red Dwarf, first aired in 1988, can cram bonus features then why not only fools? Has the bonus stuff been lost by the BBC, like many of their tops sitcoms? Maybe they should add bonus material for only fools and horses on their BBC Treasure Hunt list?!!!
11 comment10 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2012
when i sent for this dvd,the end to a much loved series,i wasnt aware that i had not seen it.so was i delighted to find that out,what a treat,i liked the way it was rounded off,leaving old friends sorted ,and everything shipshape as Abert would say,do i think it was time to say goodbye,yes,anymore might have damaged the whole thing,who am i kidding if they had made them, i would loved em come what may sueb
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2010
I can't understand why so many people criticise this final episode so much. I know there are a few dodgy moments but overall this is a very emotional and funny episode, especially the last half hour. For me it's the perfect end to the series, all loose ends are tied up and everyone is happy, healthy and wealthy.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2004
Great end to what is undoubtably Britain's Best Sitcom and a show which is very worthy of that prostigous title it won earlier this year. We've seen Del and Rodney grow over the years from those two likely lads to mature family men married (well married and a significant other in Del's case) and now both with kids. It was quite something to learn after all these years of suggestions that Del and Rodney might have different dads it turns out that they really did. It's sad to see the Trotters go but we mustn't forget that John Sullivan has said he never says never and he's brought them back before. Who knows? Personally I'm going to hope that this is not goodbye to Del Boy and Rodders but merely... Bonjour.
0Comment7 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
Brilliant as all the Fools & Horses are. There is little to beat this, it will last a lifetime. Our sons love all the episodes.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2009
Brilliant as usual - recommend you buy the box set which contains the full series and Christmas Specials - it's fantastic!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
This was a gift and the person was pleased with it. The recipient is collecting the full set of these DVD's.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2004
The comedy series of last centuary of the last millenium, the depth and sheer scope of the characters mind boggoling, the script writing a "touch of glass" (excuse the pun). has their ever been a comedy with a more consistent set of episodes over such a long period of time, the simple answer no. many people were dissapointed with the finale episode saying it wasn't that funny, ok yes it wasn't the most hilarious, but it was a good round up of the series (how can a final episode be hilarious when you no it's the end?) with suspicions that del and rodney aren't.... confirmed. it was an extremely emotive ending and was a far better finish than that of the office which had praise heaped upon it (it was a predictable ending, with unrealistic circumstances inbetween, and wasn't as poigniant an ending as made out to be), in my opinion the office xmas special didn't have the same quality of writing as the previous two series nor "a sleepness night in peckham" and the talking heads weren't up to their usual brilliance. only fools on the other hand was well scripted with the acting up to its usual impecible standard. for one i will miss the series, it will surely go down as the greatest comedy ever series writen and i will be suprised if it is suppassed. DPT.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2007
There's 2 big problems with this episode. First of all is it's length. It's clear that the writers didn't know what to do with the characters for 70 minutes. They knew they had to give them a happy ending, repaying off their debts and have Cassandra give birth to a kid, But that's barely discussed until about an hour in. Instead, we get a story that Marlene's gone missing, which, while entertaining in places, doesn't seem to do much for the plot overall (particularly when we find out the reason why she's been missing).

The other big problem is, while the Trotters are given a happy ending, it all seems a bit tame to the perfectly-ended 'Time on Our Hands', where Del and Rodney get everything they ever asked for and more. In this episode, while there's a new baby in the house, essentially they're in the same position they were in for the whole series, meaning that they haven't ultimately progressed that much over from the show's beginning to end.

While worth one watch, for a few good moments (Trigger's still on top form, in particualar), it certainly wasn't worth the revival. The series should have stopped when they became miwwionaires!
0Comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse