Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another superb act of realism.
The start of this film is typical Ken Loach. Real people living real life in a film so drenched in reality that it could have been filmed using hidden cameras in Glasgow.

Loach does something on screen that I've never seen any other director do. He manages to get performances so realistic that you feel compelled to stay tuned to see what happens - a bit like a...
Published on 16 Oct 2007 by @GeekZilla9000

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars bad sound quality
The sound quality of this DVD is very bad especially at the beginning. Terrible background 'hissing/humming'
Published on 2 Oct 2010 by sharon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another superb act of realism., 16 Oct 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Carla's Song (Director's Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
The start of this film is typical Ken Loach. Real people living real life in a film so drenched in reality that it could have been filmed using hidden cameras in Glasgow.

Loach does something on screen that I've never seen any other director do. He manages to get performances so realistic that you feel compelled to stay tuned to see what happens - a bit like a soap opera, but good. You genuinely feel for the characters and believe that they exist - this is especially important for a Loach film as they tend to be politically charged - and the people involved HAVE to feel real in order for the politics to matter.

The first part of this film is set in Glasgow and shows how the Jack-the-lad bus driver George lets an exotic looking passenger (Carla) escape from his bus after she is shouted down by a ticket inspector. She snook onto the bus and has no ticket, George defends her and pays the 40p himself for her a ticket.

She later sees him and thanks him, she even gives him a present for his act of kindness. From that moment on George is intrigued by her and through his persistence they start to develop a friendship. George even `borrows' his bus for a romantic walk in the Scottish countryside.

Robert Carlisle is nothing short of fantastic in this film. His natural charisma helps carry the character of George, and he portrays all the frustration and anger the character has in a touching way.

Carla's suicide attempt, post-traumatic stress, and knowledge that she has a difficult past help George build a strong protective instinct for her. They become lovers and then the film takes a dramatic cinematic shift.

The rest of the film is based in Nicaragua where revolution is all around and Carla must face her demons. Here we see Carla come out of her shell as she begins to feel more comfortable about herself. We she an almost childlike innocence about her and sympathise about the unspoken horrific event which she is so rocked by. They search for her friend and former lover Antonio.

Oyanka Cabezas manages to put across the vulnerability and independence of the mysterious Carla in an equally touching way.

Whilst in Nicaragua they find Bradley - a former associate of Carla and a US worker over there. Bradley played by Alien's Scot Glen provides the mouthpiece for the political teachings of the film. His character is difficult to like initially, but you always feel that this is because he is embittered by people's lack of understanding of the appalling situation in Nicaragua. It is he who explains how the Americans have effectively sponsored the killings of innocent people. Glen acts well in the role, but he seems to stick out like a sore thumb when compared to the more naturalistic acting of the rest of the cast.

I'm not going to discuss the plot any further, but there are scenes with Robert Carlisle which glued me to the screen. His exchange of T-shirts at a bar in Nicaragua was such a powerful scene and couldn't help but make you love George even more.

The film doesn't feel as preachy as other reviews have made out - but it does certainly feel a bit all over the place at times. As if it's trying to cover more than it can in the time it has.

If it wasn't for the strength of Robert Carlisle's performance I'd have maybe given this three stars (as I can't give it 3.5), but because he was so enigmatic during the whole feature - I've given this a four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Educated and Entertained., 22 Jan 2010
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Carla's Song (Director's Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
I watched Ken Loach's "Kes"(69) many years ago, and was mightily impressed. I still chuckle at the memory of the football scene. It was probably the first film that awoke a social conscience in me. I remember wanting to put on a flat cap, shout ecky thump and head north to where the real men lived. Remarkably the evergreen Loach is still at it, even though he qualified for his free bus pass some time ago. He has always been politically engaged and has sought to educate us about political conflicts. In the case of "Carla's Song"(98), it was about the civil war in Nicaragua.

The film is a rather flimsy story of love between a rebellious Glasgow bus driver, played by Robert Carlyle, and Carla a Nicaraguan woman trying to escape from the horrors of her past. The two slowly try to build a relationship, but this is constantly hampered by Carla's past experiences. I am reminded of words from the Bob Dylan song "Tangled up in Blue". "Then all the while I was alone, the past was close behind". Carlyle decides that the only way to excise the demons is to take Carla back to her homeland, and try to find the answers to haunting questions. This puts them into the danger zone as they seek Carla's family and an old lover. We head to a bittersweet finale. Will true love win the day?

As a love story the film does not quite work for me. The relationship is a little contrived and unlikely. The story itself lacks any real structure and is just a means for Loach to fall back on his common themes of politics gone sour, and mans inhumanity to man. Robert Carlyle is excellent in the lead role. That solid American actor Scott Glenn turns up improbably in the guise of an ex CIA man now batting for the other side. He even picks up a gun for the cause, which reminded me of his role in the western "Silverado". I just had to get some reference to my beloved westerns in! The film does contain some nice scenes, most notably when Carlyle takes Carla on a trip to the hills above Loch Lomond in his double decker bus.

But the love story takes second place to the politics. Franklin D Roosevelt supposedly said in 1939 of the Nicaraguan dictator Somoza, who was perceived to be anti communist, "He may be a son of a bitch, but he is our son of a bitch". The quote has often been used for those that back unjust causes for misguided reasons. The US backed the Contras who were the last struggling embers of the Samoza days, thus prolonging an agonising conflict. In 1984 they were taken to the world court in the Hague where they were ordered to pay 17 billion dollars as compensation for illegal military intervention. I am not being political here, merely stating the facts. Mr Loach has, through the medium of film, made me much more aware of what actually took place in Nicaragua. Politics and films do not always mix in the wrong hands, but in the hands of Loach it works perfectly. He wears his heart on his sleeve as they say. I was both educated and entertained. A happy mix. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars River City meets the Killing Fields, 13 Sep 2009
By 
LXIX (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carla's Song (Director's Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
Carla's Song is a strange film, but highly watchable. The concept of a Glasgow bus driver taking pity on a Nicaraguan refugee with no money to pay her fare and then falling for her is an unusual one. Does it work? Kind of, but not really. The relationship accelerates at an implausible pace and before we know it the Glasgow bus driver has dumped his blonde fiancee and is in Central America rapidly learning about the sandanistas etc amidst guerilla warfare.

Although the premise of the film is quite strange it's still an entertaining story and has a number of amusing scenes. For example, the dialogue exchange at the very end about the CIA and the Glasgow buses is an absolute classic.

Set in 1987, the film-makers have paid attention to detail (including the old red Strathclyde Regional Council buses and Glasgow's Miles Better t-shirts). Some of the actors here are also familiar faces and do seem to pop up all the time in Scottish films (Orphans, My Name Is Joe etc).

Overall, an unusual, amusing tale of contrasts (urban Glasgow and the Nicaraguan jungle), dark at times and with light humour, but entertaining.

There's also a raft of useful extras on this DVD package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carla's Song, 22 Sep 2010
By 
David Rowland - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Carla's Song (Director's Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
It is 1987 and George (played by Robert Carlyle) a young bus driver in Glasgow picks up a Nicaraguan refugee (played by Oyanka Cabezas) and when she does not pay her fare he protects her from the onslaught of the ticket inspector and pays the fare himself. They later come into contact and he finds she is suffering from post traumatic stress disorder as a result of her experiences in Nicaragua where she is a supporter of the Sandanistas which is fighting the US backed Contras. They fall in love and he saves her life when she attempts suicide by cutting her wrists and George is also told in the hospital that this was her second suicide attempt. In an effort to lay the ghosts of her past they go to Nicaragua, make contact with her family, get caught up in the fighting and the outcome for both of them is dramatic and life changing.

Carlyle and Cabezas (who is from Nicaragua and a dancer) are both superb in the main roles and, as always, Ken Loach produces a gem of a film that is fresh, original, mature, intelligent and dramatic. The film was made not long after the conflict so the scenes shot in Nicaragua have an authentic feel about them and Loach stages the scenes there brilliantly. Films of this quality made from a left wing perspective are difficult to make as film companies are not usually keen to fund such projects and tend to stick with familiar tried and tested themes which is maybe why so many films made these days are unoriginal, predictable and bland but this seems to be what the public wants which I think is a pretty sad state of affairs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another (Ambitious) Political Romance From Ken Loach, 13 Jun 2012
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Carla's Song (Director's Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
Ken Loach's 1996 film Carla's Song is another example of the trademark Loach mix of politics, romance and comedy, on this occasion focusing on the political situation in Nicaragua during the 1980s, as the elected Sandanista government was engaged in a war with the US-backed Contra insurgency in their country. Interestingly, the film was also the first collaboration between Loach and (his now regular) screenwriter Paul Laverty, who had worked in Nicaragua during the early 1980s as a human rights lawyer.

Given this background, Carla's Song therefore fits into the group of films that Loach has made which have a more international scope such as Land And Freedom, Bread And Roses and The Wind That Shakes The Barley. In general, for me, these films tend to be some of Loach's least successful, primarily because of the fickle (and, at times, opaque) nature of international politics, plus the more ambitious production values that such subjects inevitably require. Carla's Song also rather suffers as a result of these factors, but, notwithstanding this, has many things to commend it. Of course, such potential limitations are not a reason not to attempt to produce films on such subjects.

Carla's Song is essentially divided in two parts. The first (and, for me, the most successful section of the film) is set in Glasgow (something of a home-from-home for Loach in his more recent films) and covers the initial encounters between disillusioned bus driver George (the always reliable Robert Carlyle) and Nicaraguan 'refugee' Carla (played by first-time Nicaraguan actress Oyanka Cabezas). The second part of the film is set in Nicaragua, as George and Carla travel there in order for Carla to confirm what has happened to her family and friends. For me, this section is less successful than the UK-based segment as it is simply too ambitious (particularly with a production budget the size of Loach's) in its attempt to communicate the scale (and impact) of the political struggle taking place.

On the acting front, as well as another solid Carlyle performance, and a remarkably assured one from Cabezas, Loach (for the Glasgow-based scenes) cast (for the first time) the brilliant Gary Lewis as George's co-worker Sammy and Louise Goodall as George's erstwhile intended Maureen - Goodall went on, of course, to deliver an outstanding (and more extensive) performance in Loach's later masterpiece My Name Is Joe. The early section of the film is peppered with typically hilarious Loach scenes, featuring George as bus driver, as he variously antagonises bus inspectors and taxi drivers, and then (in effect) hijacks the bus in order to take Carla on a romantic backroads picnic excursion to the banks of Loch Lomond. For the American-based part of the film, Loach cast Hollywood actor Scott Glenn as an ex-CIA human aid worker (an interesting concept, certainly), and Glenn delivers a solid performance.

The other slight reservation I have with the film is that (for me) it rather over-sentimentalises George and Carla's relationship. Nevertheless, this is an ambitious attempt to cover a complex subject and, for that, Loach should again be congratulated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ken Loach at his best, 21 Mar 2009
By 
Mrs. M. Layden "Mags" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carla's Song (Director's Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant film - very moving and will stay with me for a long time - thoroughly recommend it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Carla's Song., 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carla's Song (Director's Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this film. Would definitely recommend this film to friends to watch.
Would watch it again.
One not to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Director's cut not as good as the original, 28 Feb 2013
By 
E. H. Muller (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carla's Song (Director's Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
I liked the original better with the scene's in that were cut in the director's version Ecxellenr film though deeply moving. I suggest parental guidance at least
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 22 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. Julie A. Collison (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carla's Song (Director's Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
Great item, arrived promptly in good condition, it was very helpful to find the product I wanted at such short notice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab movie., 27 Oct 2012
This review is from: Carla's Song (Director's Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
Really fabulous film - one I would highly reccomend. The drama is quite interesting and the plot different to many of the usual films we see nowadays. Loved it from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carla's Song (Director's Cut) [DVD]
Carla's Song (Director's Cut) [DVD] by Ken Loach (DVD - 2005)
9.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews