Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXPECT THE UNEXPECTED!
Cardcaptors is definitely one of my personal favourites in anime. Surely it has suffered a lot of changes in the dub but it is still a great piece of anime to add to your collection. Cardcaptors has the ultimate feel good factor. Not to mention the amazing characters, my favourite ones being, Sakura her brother Tori and of course her ‘crush’ Julian...
Published on 22 Nov 2003 by A

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A good movie, but...
Now, don't get me wrong. If I was rating this DVD on its own merits, I'd give it at least 3 stars. Even the way it is in the UK, it's a very entertaining movie with great animation, a great story, and (dare I say it) some pretty good acting.
However, the UK release of this movie just isn't worth it. It only contains the English dubbed version, and it's cropped to 4:3...
Published on 5 Dec 2002 by Mr. P. Reuben


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXPECT THE UNEXPECTED!, 22 Nov 2003
Cardcaptors is definitely one of my personal favourites in anime. Surely it has suffered a lot of changes in the dub but it is still a great piece of anime to add to your collection. Cardcaptors has the ultimate feel good factor. Not to mention the amazing characters, my favourite ones being, Sakura her brother Tori and of course her ‘crush’ Julian! You’d never get bored watching an episode. I have to admit, when I first bought a tape from this series I was a bit prejudiced, thinking it would not appeal to adults… How wrong was I! The series really grows on you and if you like magical girlie shows (like Rayearth and of course Sailor moon) then you’re in for a great experience.
As far as the animation is concerned, the designs are beautiful; colour schemes are really pleasing to the eye, which really adds to the feel good atmosphere of the show and all the characters are very pretty. This tape contains the first six episodes (around 20 min each) for the series, which are all equally exciting. Episodes that stand out from this collection, well apart from the obvious one, which is the 1st episode I’d say ‘Allies’ was my favourite (Sakura goes on a trip to the aquarium where she confronts the water card…) followed by ‘Trouble at twin Bells’ (Just how dangerous can cute and fluffy animals can get? Enough to put a nice shop owner out of business!). Favourite moment would have to be when Kero (the guardian …erm beast of the clowbook) pops out of Sakura’s bag in school in front of her friend Madison, you gotta love Sakura’s expression! The soundtrack, although dramatically changed from the original, is not bad and can get quite funny at times…(hint: ‘each card possesses a power of its own we’ve got to find them to bring the power HOOOOOOOOME’…lol)
To conclude, you can’t really take Cardcaptors too seriously or you’ll miss out on the fun. It’s a sweet, funny, and ultra magical series and although it may not appeal to everyone, it serves as a classic in its genre!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Key Of Clow!, 6 Nov 2005
This is the first and only cardcaptors dvd i have watched. This is a tale of a young girl called Sakura Avalon who mistakedly set free the powerful Clow Cards and with them came Kero (such a cute creature!) and now it is her quest to get them back! This dvd contains the first 3 episodes and you get 3 more free. I enjoyed it and i can't wait to see the next dvd which is coming to me soon! Not as good as the books but you have to watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars card captors movie is fantastimagical!!!!!!!, 21 Aug 2003
By 
james b (waunarlwydd swansea wales) - See all my reviews
The card captors movie is really good!! It has got card capturing, ancient magic and a card full of mystic adventure. This movieis garanteed too satisfie any card captor fan. I really loved this film. Sakura , with then help of lee, madison keero etc must find a way too defeat the evil sorceress and set her spiruit free. Can sakura save Hong Kong from the wrath of the evil sorceress? Buy it and find out what an extradinary movie it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good movie, but extras could be better., 9 Feb 2003
Sakura goes on holiday and takes Madison with her. They meet Li and Mei-Lin and end up pursuing an evil from Clow Reed's time (one of his lovers, actually.) The animation is good and the plot is interesting. The only downside about this DVD is that it is not bilingual. The only extras you get are some scary music videos, which although they guarantee a fair few laughs, do not suffice. I would have rather have this movie in both english and japanese, that way you could enjoy the original plot as well as the dubbed one. However, this doesn't really spoil the movie, but it would have been nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Card Captore Finaly on DVD!!!!!!!!, 28 Oct 2004
By 
D. Griffiths (Dorset U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The great hit is finaly on region 2 DVD and its brilliant! i loved the TV seris and now that its been incarsarated in a disk it will last forever!!!! (and note you dont need to be a girl to like card carptors!)
The general story line (for those of you who dont know it) is sakura finds the clow book and lets the cards loos, she then (with the help of a very funny little flying teady bear) has to re-capture them, this is the base line and other side plots are put to make it more interesting, this has been for me one of the best fantasy TV hits i have seen and recomend it to all who like these sort of storys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beginnings of great magical girl moments, 21 Oct 2005
By 
Created by Clamp, Cardcaptors is a lot easier to understand, and a better contemporary anime than the likes of Sailor Moon, which now shows it age.
Enjoyable to both girls and boys, so long as you remember it was created for a child audience, you will be truly enchanted by the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's no time to sleep ! ! !, 29 April 2003
After a little disapointment by missing 2 episodes to fit Meilin in, from the Cardcaptors vol.5 & 6 VHS, this volume cheered me up!!! This volume didn't miss a single episode & is the first time when Sakura's substitue Maths teacher, Ms Mckenzie makes her first appearance, helping Sakura & her friends finding their way out of the maze card . Meilin is also a very funny character, on how is tries to stand up for Li on capturing Clow cards. Madison also sings to help Sakura capture "The Song Card" (What a sweet voice!!!). My favourite part is when Sakura turns back to her normal size after being shrunk by "The Little Card" & sits on top of Kero (poor thing!!!)
This volume is a must have for all Cardcaptor fans & if you enjoyed the previous Cardcaptor volumes, than I'm sure you will enjoy this volume, because its the best volume so far......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cardcaptors the movie, 17 Jan 2004
cardcaptors the movie is a step up from the tv series, the film is set somewhere around the first season of cardcaptors when sakura has to catch the clow cards. the movie is just as much fun to watch as the tv series, the film has plenty of joke and a times very sad. anyways it would be great fun to watch it's not just for children you know!, i did not want to reaveal the story incase i spoil it for anyone, just one more thing
" expect the unexpected " as kero would say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best volume yet!!!, 2 Sep 2002
I'll admit that i hated Cardcaptors at first. I thought at the time that the only good anime's were Pokemon and Digimon. However after watching a few episodes i grew into it, and started taping it. Soon after i loved it so much!!! A while later, i was ever so pleased that the episodes are out on video and bought them right away. The first 2 videos were very good and i gave them 4/5 but this one gets 5/5 but why?
From what i watched so far (only the first 3 episodes) they are some of the best ones i've seen! This is probably because i haven't seen them before - but even if i had they are certianly 5/5 episodes! Who couldn't smile when you see Tori dressed up as Cinderella?!? All in all a fantastic video (though i wished they brought it out on DVD), and i can't wait for the subsquent volumes to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Volume Yet!!, 14 Jan 2004
Its nice to see that contender video decided to continue releasing this series on VHS (the first 3 double pack volumes combined to form a single image and there were fears, in my house at least, that these would be all that would be available)
The tapes in this package contain some of the later episodes from the first season of the show and introduce supporting characters who are essential to the resolution of the story in the second series, as well as depicting sakuras increasing confidence in the way of the clow.
As always the art is beautiful and delicately detailed,the scripting, translation and acting (although a thorn in the side of hardcore anime fans) are touching and nicely handled.
The westernization is also quite respectful of its japanese origin, with a slight insight into eastern festivals, folklore and mythology available throughout the series.
Ideal for kids introduced to anime through studio ghibli releases like 'spirited away', this will be like the memory of sunny mornings as a child for the adults who watch it with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cardcaptors: Volumes 3-4 [DVD]
Cardcaptors: Volumes 3-4 [DVD] by Cardcaptors (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: 2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews