Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars122
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2016
Very good series. With only little memories of the original run due to me only seeing it when I was very young it is great to finally sit down and watch it from the beginning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
I watched the original series and have had the series two or three times over.It never seems to age and is still relevant now with what is going on around the world now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
I love the original series and had them on video with really bad quality watching so just didn't watch them for years. Great to see them again - in good quality!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2011
It's definitely a 90s classics: suspence, investigation, lies, paranormal...each episode is a sweet. i like the tension between main characters too. must see :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2006
without a qusetion one of the most defining programs of the 90's .
every episode of season one is a joy to watch, the season starts with scully being assigned to the x files and to agent mulder, the sceptic scully at first finds mulders way of thinking difficult to work with, but as the season progresses her respect for her partner grows, and she beging to realise that mulders outlandish idea's are not to be so easly dissmised,
with episodes such as squeeze/tooms with the mutant with a taste for human livers, down to the episode ice with parasite alien worms in the artic, season one of the x files is highly recomended. the vancover filming adding mood and atmosphere to every episode and top class acting from both leads, makes this unmissable to both x files fans and to people new to the x files phenomena.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
With the X-files coming back to tv, this is a great opportunity to catch up with one of the greatest tv series of the 90s and for a absolute fabulous price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
Watch the x files first time around and really enjoyed it. Can't wait to watch them again....Brill...wonderful..... great...stuff. Will def get more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
the great beginning as mulder meets scully and a great friendship grows as they try to solve cases and explain the unexplained,a great box set
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 October 2007
It's funny to think it now, but I started watching X Files with my mum as a nine year old, and watched it almost without missing an episode until the final series came to an end in 2003. Funny because that feels like a long time ago now that Agent Scully walked into the little basement office inhabited by 'Spooky' Mulder in order to spy on him and gradually come to realise that maybe there are some paranormal happenings in the world...

I gave this box set to my mum for her birthday in March, and we calmly and steadly worked our way through it. What really amazes me is that the X Files does not look dated - either in content or style - and conjures the same tention that it did all those years ago. In fact, the only things that looks dated are Scully's hair and her jackets.

The episodes in Series One are mainly one-off investigations into the paranormal, often touching on myths and legends (the Jerzy Devil), and often pushing at the boundries of what my stomach could manage (Ice). There are some of the most classic episodes X Files ever produced (Stretch), and there are echoes and hints at the conspiracy filled series that follow, and that will probably be remembered as the trade mark of the X Files.

Make no mistake, for me the X Files was a formative series - Mulder's mocking grin is as reassuring to me as the opening chords of Wonderwall - but that doesn't change the fact that the X Files is a total classic, and that this series is the most easily accessible for new fans, and the one it's easiest to dip in and out of. I can't recommend X Files enough to anyone, and for fans and newcomers alike, Series One is the only place to start.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Arrived on time in perfect condition. DVDs are like new. Really good series that I'm looking forward to complete!Thank you very much!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.