Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 24 Movies for this price?
I was a big fan of the X-Files when they were shown on the BBC back in the mid 90's. Unlike most other primetime shows, these mini-movies were beautifully shot and lit, the use of realistic lighting in many scenes juxtaposing with the use of abstract lighting in others. Deep shadows were common place, again a relativly new style then, though its legacy can be seen in many...
Published on 29 Dec 2004 by Simon McMahon

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent SciFi tv series sadly spoilt by poor DVD transferquality
X Files was an exceptional tv series. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone. The series was originally sold as VHS (remember them?) and these DVDs appear to be a transfer from those VHS tapes. You can definitely see scanning artifacts on scenes of 'high motion'. If this is from the original production recordings, which I doubt, then it would be better...
Published 1 month ago by Edward Soland


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revisit the magic!, 28 Oct 2004
By 
Z. OConnor "tantezoe" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The X Files: Season 1 [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I was a dedicated x-filer - and shipper! The show is probably my all-time favourite, and now finally I can afford to own all series on dvd (previous packaging and prices were totally prohibitive!)
I came to the show late - I didn't twig it until season 3, and I had to rely on reruns to get a taste of series 1 and 2. Although I loved it to the end, watching the first series again reminds me of how good it was when it started. It's pacy, well-written and beautifully acted. Watching the budding 'relationship' between the sceptic Scully and believer Mulder is an eye-opener. Before the audience - and the series' writers - became obsessed with a potential romance between the two, Mulder and Scully's relationship was a very believable and touching friendship. I must admit that I lost interest once Chris Carter kept teasing us with hit-and-miss moments. Also, the storylines of the first series were crisper and simpler - the later complicated conspiracy theories and send-up comedic episodes rather weakened the impact.
Don't get me wrong - even when it had 'jumped the shark' (refer to [...] - a fantastic website, for explanation)the x files was still the best show on the box. But revisiting the early episodes is a great reminder of how wonderful it truly was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And so it begins, 15 Aug 2005
This review is from: The X Files: Season 1 [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Anyone who is bewildered about the "cult" of the x-files should start here. An array of the wierd and wonderful and colourful fast moving episodes, a beliver or not the whole season has something for everybody. Fox Mulder is an ardent believer in the paranormal (since his sisters disappearance 20 years earlier) and is teamed up with a sceptic MD Dana Scully. This is to de-bunk his findings since he has been working on the X-files. I have been watching the seasons ever since they started in 1994 and this is the season that got me hooked. Well worth the money-but remember not to hide behind the sofa to get your money's worth!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Believe the hype !!! A cultural phenomenon is born..., 5 Aug 2014
This review is from: The X Files: Season 1 [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
"Nobody down here but the FBI's most unwanted" quips Mulder as he meets Scully for the first time and so it begins...

The X-Files, there was no show like it before and although there have been imitators, no show quite like it since. What can one add here, to these many existing reviews that testify to it's brilliance ?

What is striking about the Season 1 episodes, is that already the show has a confidence and finds its footing early on. There are already 'classic' episodes, that would stand the test of time, being fondly remembered throughout the show's 9 year history.
The characters of Mulder and Scully already also feel established and developed when we meet them.

The production quality is also fantastic. Each individual show, sandwiched between that iconic theme tune, has a concise script and is well edited to produce thrillers cut with intelligent concepts. Already notable, is the sheer variety of subject matter; Alien abduction, Miracles, Psychics, Reincarnation, Ghosts and Apparitions, Cloning, back engineering of extra terrestrial technology, Artificial intelligence, etc etc...

Although the show is famous for Mulders' quest to uncover evidence of ET's, the show clearly demonstrates its about far more than that, with many 'monsters' and supernatural events being investigated.

As you would expect from a Sci-Fi/Horror show, there is the presence of special effects, which are well executed and still have an impact to this day. But such special effects are not over used, and much happens 'off camera' which excellently works to the show's benefit, since the imagination and what remains unseen can be far more unsettling...

The show is also remarkable for it's emphasis on characterisation. Many of the shows have fascinating supporting characters, either existing just for the one episode, or becoming part of the shows 'Mythology'. Occasionally, its the character's that make an episode really worth while, perhaps even more so than the events that are going in it, 'Shapes' being a case in point.

One assumes, that perhaps the preciseness and subtlety's of Season 1's script, special effects and characterisation are necessities of a show in it's infancy and with a relatively limited budget, but ironically, these already seem as part of its strengths rather than weaknesses.

A further point, there are NO bad episodes in season 1 !!! The X files is unique, because it can only really be judged by its own standards and each episode by the standard of other episodes. Of course, viewers will have their individual preferences based own their own tastes and experience. Episodes that seem weaker to this reviewer, will be personal highlights for others.

Personally, my favourites were 'Deep Throat', 'Shapes', 'Miracle Man' and 'Ice'. 'Deep Throat' because of its intrigue and because it gave me the first really eerie moment in the season, 'Shapes' because its very fun to see Mulder and Scully chasing after a Werewolf but what really makes it, is Mulders' classic dry sense of humour and his interactions with the American Indian culture. 'Miracle Man' has some brilliantly strange moments in the way that only the X files can be and is emotionally very moving and 'Ice' is a claustrophobic thriller set in a remote research base in Alaska and is more like a mini-movie !

Perhaps though, the real success of the X files, is because it speaks to a deep part of us, the part that we don't often disclose to others, that wants to believe the Universe is a more mysterious and fantastic place and because there is so much we can't explain. We have a desire for secret and hidden knowledge as also evidenced by the success of so many movies like Spielberg's 'Raiders of the lost Ark' or 'Close Encounters' or Dan Brown's 'Da Vinci Code'. The X files also helped highlight the unfortunate truth that many do not trust the powers that govern us and our acceptance of the notion of 'Conspiracy Theory'.

The X files spoke of these issues and ideas in its own unique and eloquent way. It assumed the intelligence of its audience and is perhaps best viewed with and an open mind and heart.

So, be warned, the X-Files is addictive. If you buy the first season you will buy the 2nd season and so on. You will want to know more, you too will want to believe...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a striking start to a cult tv show of great standard setting for the modern day tv show...one of THE BEST OF ITS KIND, 30 July 2008
By 
S. J. Pinder "scifihorror fan" (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The X Files: Season 1 [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
The X-files hit rock hard with this fantastic debuting series that...in my opinion...is much better fare than the likes of Star Trek.
definately one of my favourite television programmes and the best of its kind...a truely unique tv series with a great vision.
im sure Chris Carter was surprised to learn that this season was a huge hit and for it to be renewed for further seasons must have been a shock for 'im.
season one is in itself a very unique exploration into the paranormal and supernatural which is what makes it genuinely fantastic tv to watch.
it was certainly a hit in our household during its era through the 90's and in many ways this show upped the anti for future television shows.

mini eppy review-

Pilot-5/5
Deep throat-4.5/5
Squeeze-5/5
Conduit-4/5
The Jersey Devil-4/5
Shadows-4/5
Ghost in the machine-3/5
Ice-5/5-keep an eye out for future Desperate Housewife star Felicity Huffman.
Space-2/5
Fallen Angel-4/5
Eve-4.5/5
Fire-4/5
Beyond The Sea-5/5
Genderbender-3/5
Lazarus-2/5
Young At Heart-3/5
E.B.E-4/5
Miracle Man-2/5
Shapes-3/5
Tooms-5/5
Darkness Falls-3/5
Born Again-3/5
Roland-2/5
The Erlenmyer Flask-4/5

all in all a fantastic set of episodes that only gets more and more intriguing as it goes on.

MUST SEE TV if you are a fan of Buffy,twilight zone,or Angel...a must for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding beginning for one of the best shows of the 90s!, 15 Jan 2006
This review is from: The X Files: Season 1 [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Growing up in the 90s, it was impossible to avoid the X-Files phenomenon. I was a fan of the show as a child and in my early teens, but the complexities and very nature of the show placed a limit on my enjoyment. Now, years on, I decided to revisit the show in the form of the DVD box sets, viewing them in order of course. I am very happy I did; in retrospect, The X-Files is a very high quality programme, and I enjoyed all 24 episodes in this first season.
Aside from "Squeeze" and "Tooms" being relevant to one another, each episode of the first season is like a short movie in itself. The stylistic and cinematic choices, not to mention the excellent scripts, make each 45 minutes very compelling. I find myself wanting to watch the next episode each time I complete one.
For those not familiar with The X-Files, the pilot episode sees two FBI agents partnered by the higher-ups of the bureau. One is Fox Mulder, one of the FBI's top agents in criminal psychosis but ridiculed internally for his controversial theories and his dedication to the infamous "X-Files", the other Dana Scully, a very "by the book" agent with a medical background. Her purpose is to influence Mulder's investigations to be more scientific, but naturally, it seems Mulder isn't so paranoid after all when she witnesses a whole host of oddities, such as a UFO above a military airbase, an advanced artificial intelligence system that begins killing off people within it's building to preserve itself, and prehistoric insects that come out at night to feast on human flesh.
While some of the storylines are fairly camp, and some of the early 90s TV CGI effects leave a little to be desired, this is addictive, quality telivision. Mulder and Scully are two of the best characters in television. While some fans were unhappy about Mulder's disappearance in the show's late seasons, season one is vintage X-Files with no hiccups.
As for the DVDs themselves, the quality is excellent. The only thing I noticed was that a couple of the title sequences appear much grainier than others, which is rather unusual, since the actual body of these episodes are fine so it must have been on the original medium. Or maybe I'm just getting paranoid.
The special features are fairly sparse, despite the extra disc solely for them. Audio commentaries would have been excellent, but I suppose at 45 minutes per episode, 24 episodes would have been quite a task, let alone the 202 episodes in the entire series. The extra features include short clips of dubbed scenes from different countries' broadcasts (a fairly uninteresting feature; I watched two and left it at that), a couple of short documentaries about the show's first season with crew members, which were pretty interesting, and the original promotional TV spots for the episodes, which were fairly entertaining (mainly due to the typical movie/television "trailer voice") but it gets boring after watching a couple. There is also a DVD rom game.
The packaging is nice; whereas the original DVDs came in bulky, fold-out sets, these re-releases are in more stylish, shelf-friendly cardboard sleeve/single plastic case combinations. They look great.
Despite the somewhat disappointing special features, the sheer quality of the show overcompensates. Especially considering the extremely low price of the re-released box sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Want To Believe..., 3 April 2013
This review is from: The X Files: Season 1 [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
The X Files Season 1 is one of the greatest television series ever made.

If you are new to The X Files, this season introduced us to FBI agents Fox Mulder (David Duchovny) and Dana Scully (Gillian Anderson) as they begin their journey into paranormal investigations and all manner of unexplained phenomena.

Creator Chris Carter had to pitch the show twice to the network chiefs before they gave it the green light, apparently concerned that a show designed to be scary was so different and unknown to the mainstream audience that it would potentially disappear without a trace. It did the opposite, and for the best part of a decade, The X Files became a living breathing entity all of its own, garnering legions of fans and devotees that still hold firm to this day.

This Season planted the seed for success, as we see the simmering relationship form between Mulder and Scully, the DNA of the ongoing story of Mulder's Sister's disappearance and the machinations of clandestine groups and governments-within-governments all aiming to outdo each other with the illegal aid of E.T. experimentation.

The season is almost perfectly paced and includes a good range of episodes, including some for the `core' story, a generous helping of `stand-alone' X Files episodes, a staggered `two-parter' involving one of the greatest ever X File adversaries in Eugene Victor Tooms, and even a couple of `Wildcard' episodes in the form of `Ice' and `Darkness Falls' (many a fans' favourite, which sees the agents trapped in one location for the entire episode). It is arguably the most fertile inaugural series ever created.

If you are a long-term X-Phile you already know how important this series (sorry, `season') is. If you are an X Files newbie, you simply must watch this series. It is timeless, has aged brilliantly and is almost single-handedly responsible for sculpting most of the shows we watch today (Fringe, Bones etc).

IMPORTANT NOTE
Over the years there have been several issues of The X Files Season 1 on DVD. This review refers to the pictured `Blue' boxset (released 2004) and also the equivalent found within the second issue of the complete collection (the big black boxset released in 2007, listed on Amazon as `The X-Files - The Complete Collector's Edition'), I own both and the only difference between the two is the cover art inlay and the internal housing for the 7th `features' disc. The content is the same.
The `M-Lock' casing is very sturdy and there's no plastic-wallet nonsense here (apparently found in the new issues of 2012). The packaging is very durable and nicely designed, with the 6 main discs housed in traditional `clasp trays' and an additional housing enclosed for the special features (7th) disc. Which are, incidentally, well worth watching and there's a generous amount, including TV spots; a documentary; retrospective interviews regards different episodes with Chris Carter; a DVD-ROM game and more.
Just make sure you know which one you are buying as you may get one of the earlier or later issues (which supposedly have inferior packaging etc).

The X Files is magnificent and timeless. If you've seen it already, watch it again. If you haven't; what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Perfect, 26 Dec 2010
This review is from: The X Files: Season 1 [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
This TV series is just perfect. I have only just started to watch The X Files and can't believe I didn't start years ago. If you're considering to buy this, just do it. Trust me; you will not be dissappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Start To Cult-Classic TV, 28 Jan 2006
By 
James Cameron "Artist / Filmmaker / Nerd" (a world of my own) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The X Files: Season 1 [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
The X-files like most TV great cult-classic TV shows grew and developed, gaining it a bad-repuation with pop-culture, but its so much more than an alien-hunting series.
From the word go, there are great episodes, beginning with a classic alien story that introduces mulder and scully not only to uthe veiwers but eachother (and in a great twist is continued in season 5)and the pace never stops through the whole season. Tight, well-written stories that keep you engaged from start to finish. You don't have to be into the paranormal to enjoy this series, the mystery in each story will keep you guessing and want to see it all (at least thats what my girlfriend says lol).
spread across a neat little 7 disc set, the documentary on the final disc is very good and makes for interesting look into the creation of this classic.
well worth the money and the M-lock edition is alot nicer than the digi-pack 1st release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE X FILES Season 1, 5 Jan 2009
This review is from: The X Files: Season 1 [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Here is the First Season of what would go on to become one of the longest running and most popular Sci-Fi/Horror series on Television.
It all begins with Special Agent Dana Scully (Gillian Anderson) being assigned to The X Files, in order to debunk the work of Special Agent Fox Mulder (David Duchovny). The brilliant First Season's highlights include:
'DEEP THROAT'
'SQUEEZE'
'ICE'
'BEYOND THE SEA'
'E.B.E'
and 'THE ERLENMEYER FLASK'.

This boxset includes all 24 episodes complete with hours of bonus features, making for a good purchase for old and new fans of the show combined!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent SciFi tv series sadly spoilt by poor DVD transferquality, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
X Files was an exceptional tv series. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone. The series was originally sold as VHS (remember them?) and these DVDs appear to be a transfer from those VHS tapes. You can definitely see scanning artifacts on scenes of 'high motion'. If this is from the original production recordings, which I doubt, then it would be better to transfer the original quality to BluRay. Perhaps we can only hope for an anniversary BluRay box set, I would certainly be interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The X Files: Season 1 [DVD] [1994]
The X Files: Season 1 [DVD] [1994] by David Duchovny (DVD - 2004)
£15.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews