Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final Season of an Oustanding Series
This 7-disc collection, sporting some particularly impressive cover art, marks the end of an era for the first ever show to be released on DVD as a season boxset. Many fans of The X-Files would argue that this ninth and final season was a huge downturn for the series as it slowly faded out, but it is extremely important not to let this highly vocal opinion colour your...
Published on 26 Mar 2004

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Truth or Hate
As a fan of this once great show I can say with honesty that this season falls short not only in the absence of David Duchovney (Mulder) but of Gillian Anderson, though she is in this she doesnt seem to be involved a whole lot. Gillian Anderson really doesnt apply herself here and doesnt seem to care about the show anymore which reflects in her occasionally glassy...
Published on 9 July 2007 by Peter J. Hodgson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X Files: Season 9 [DVD] (DVD)
as previous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 14 Aug 2014
By 
Brucie (Crawley, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X Files: Season 9 [DVD] (DVD)
Love this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 27 Sep 2014
This review is from: X Files: Season 9 [DVD] (DVD)
Good Buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Series Ends on a High ..., 29 Mar 2005
By 
Kieran A. Gough "kier_gough2" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X Files: Season 9 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 9 gives the X-Files a fresh start and is a refreshing change from the disappointing Season's 6,7 and 8. The brilliant Robert Patrick as Doggett more than fills adequately Mulder's boots and is well complemented by Annabeth Gish who plays Agent Reyes well. Disappointingly though Scully is very much in the background and Gillian Anderson looks as if she's going through the motions and has lost all enthusiasm for the role. The season kicks off with an excellent two-parter in 'Nothing Important Happened Today', which adds the super-soldiers storyline to the complex mythology arc. Next up are two very good MOTW episodes in 'Daemonicus' and '4-D' but then probably the worst episode ever made: 'Lord of the Flies'- avoid at all costs. Another mythology episode follows in 'Trust No 1', which deals again with the super-soldiers and Mulder's disappearance. Two good MOTW episodes in 'John Doe' and 'Hellbound' are next which are great showcases for the talents of Gish and Patrick. Another mythology double parter comes up in 'Providence' which has an interesting and engrossing storyline but is let down by the fact it doesn't tell the viewer anything new. Gish then shines in 'Audrey Pauley', then comes 'Underneath' one of the poorer episodes of the season, as it's all a tad dull. Burt Reynolds then guest-stars in a bizarre but enjoyable comedy in 'Improbable'. Another decent MOTW in 'Scary Monsters' is next which is pretty unoriginal about a young boys nightmares coming true but nevertheless enjoyable. However 'Jump the Shark' is dreadful, one of the worst episodes ever made. 'William' deals with the on-going mystery with Scully's son and is well directed by David Duchovny, himself. 'Release' then ties up the mystery over the murder of Doggett's son and is one of the best episodes ever made. The last ever MOTW in 'Sunshine Days' is a light-hearted comedy to do with a man who has a disturbing obsession with the Brady Bunch, giving the Agents some sort of closure with their work investigating the Paranormal. The series finale in the 'The Truth' sees the returning Mulder being tried before a military panel for murdering Knowle Rohrer one of the government's super soldiers and provides a thrilling climax to the series. As for the DVD set itself it's excellent value for with plenty of special features for the die-hard fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars uh...worst series everrr., 14 Mar 2003
By 
Rachel Johnson "Rachel" (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
very sad sad way to end. don't get me wrong - i love LOVE this show but i was disappointed at the way the last series was handled. a rather bizarre way of getting rid of mulder to make way for david duchovny's "projects" (what projects?). the series seems to falter without him (and a less gillian anderson) and consequently the impression is given that the writers are desperately trying to fill in time before the end of the season. Essentially they seem to have run out of ideas in the stand-alones, as they seems to re-tread old ground (Lord of the flies-crazy insects, crazy teenager), and some are just abysmal: audrey pauley (what the hell was that about?), john doe (ditto). Frankly both in terms of chracter developement and acting Reyes is awful, Annabeth Gish is a pathetic attempt to rejuvinate the series by adding a poorly plotted and very forced love interest for doggett. Incidentally Robert Patrick delivers a great performance for Doggett, who i warmed to quickly, especially in "Release".
The mythology episodes are generally good however, with some interesting developments in particular in regard to mulder and scully's son. "William" stands out as do "The Truth", "Trust No1" (despite some pretty hefty plot holes) and "Providence". Apart from the Truth and William however, the plots just don't compare to genius arcs such as "biogenesis" and "redux".
Series nine isn't necessarily bad, it's more that next to series 3 or 4 for instance it's nothing, and i'd say only purists should bother shelling out for it. I'll buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The End - At Last, 26 Jan 2003
Ahh finally the "X Files" comes to an end. Season nine was a peculiar season in many was, it was trying to start a new era for the show, with Doggert and Reyes, while still clinging to stories relating to Scully and the location of Mulder. Thus as a whole it lacked a identity of its own, the standard monster of the week episodes were based on Doggert and Reyes with Scully on screen for about five minutes doing a autopsy, then came the mythology episodes based on Scully, with very little for Doggert and Reyes to do. So the show couldn’t move forward or back. About halfway through the season it became clear that it would be the last, and the writers seemed to try and wrap up the show.
However the main problem with this season, as with the past few, was that the episodes were either absolute rubbish, or mediocre, none stood out as classics.
The season kicked off with the poor two parter, "Nothing Important Happened Today", it was a bland attempt to try and explain why Mulder had left, without saying that David Duchovny was sick of doing the show.
Next came a pair of fairly good monster of the week episodes, "Daemonicus" and "4D", the first involving satanic ritual murders and the other about a serial killer who can jump dimensions. As became a pattern with this season, two fairly good episodes were followed by a poor episode "Lord Of The Flies", a story about a teenage boy who was fly.
"Trust No 1" was a follow up to the season opener, with scully trying to contact Mulder, while still trying to determine the origin of hear baby. while not a brilliant episode it is made to look so by the forthcoming mythology episodes...
next came another couple of two good episodes (now you see the pattern) "John Doe" and "Hellbound". The First about Doggert losing his memory in Mexico, and the latter about Reyes investigating a series of criminals skinned alive.
Then came the dreaded mythology episodes "Provenance" and "Providence". involving the same "where’s Mulder, and who’s the father of my baby" story yet again. - avoid at all costs
Three more poor episodes followed this up, "Audrey Pauley", "Underneath" and "Improbable". The First featured Reyes being trapped in a dream like hospital. "Underneath" was a story akin to "Dr Jeckel An Mr Hyde". And "Improbable" was another Chris Carter comedy episode staring Burt Reynolds - say no more. "Scary Monsters" followed this trio up, and was surprisingly good, if not very original. a young boys nightmares come true.
Then came "Jump The Shark". I could make a joke about the title but I can’t be bothered. I didn’t think it was all that bad, that was until the end. The story is an end of sorts to the spin of series "The Lone Gunmen" and we all know how good that was. (Im being sarcastic if can’t tell)
More wrapping up came with "William" and "Release". "William" was back to the ongoing story of the season, you guessed it - "where’s Mulder, and who’s the father of my baby", redeemed only by the fact it was written and directed by David Duchovny. "Release" was a follow-up to last seasons "Empedocles" regarding the untimely demise of Doggerts son.
The last monster of the week episode ever, "Sunshine Days" dealt with the Brady Bunch, and wasn’t all that good either.
Finally we come to "The Truth" or not as it was. A series of former guest stars are trotted out to tell the story of the x files at mulders murder trial. Those of you looking for real closure won’t find it here. all I can really say is it was a wasted opportunity.
So in conclusion it was a series of lows, and mediocres. If you have collected these box sets, why not finish the collection, if you haven’t don’t bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BOUGHT FOR DAUGHTER, 25 Aug 2013
By 
Weblet (Worksop England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X Files: Season 9 [DVD] (DVD)
As a Christmas present
Not sure whether she ever watched it so difficult to say whwether t filled the bill or not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars last season of the brilliant x-files, 8 Feb 2006
By 
This review is from: X Files: Season 9 [DVD] (DVD)
so it has come to an end,one of the best shows to ever air on television. i think it was time to come to an end since mulder left the x-files full-time(he does come back but he wasnt a full-timer like before) agent dogget is good but he is no mulder. season nine also killed off one of my favourite people from the x-files, the lone gunmen. but the only thing i didnt like about season nine (apart from it ending) was the end scene, it just wasnt good enough to finish it off as the aliens are still out there. if u like the x-files and havent started collecting the dvd's yet, i would suggest that you get the box set(seasons 1-9) i was going to get it but by the time it did come out i had already bought seasons 1-6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Say what?, 2 Mar 2006
By 
B. Massey "George" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The X Files: Season 9 [DVD] (DVD)
So you think this is the best season of the X Files, do you? Or perhaps you think it's one of the best? Is that what you think? Really, that's your honest opinion? You've searched deep inside yourself, thought about the quality of the show, the story, the lighting, the intelligence, the intrigue, the mystery, the music of all those fantastic years we all spent, and you feel that season 9 did it for you. Is that what you think?
Well, good for you, because I don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X Files: Season 9 [DVD]
X Files: Season 9 [DVD] by Gillian Anderson (DVD - 2005)
£12.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews