Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
59
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2006
I actually missed out on the X-Files when it was first on TV, only getting glimpses of occasional episodes. But now since I've started to collect the Season Box Sets, I can't believe what I was missing out on.
Season Two is the X-Files nearing its peek, with the Mythology episodes that follow the recurring government/Alien conspiracy especially strong. This is not always the case in later seasons.
As well as this, there are also notable 'Monster of the week' episodes where the Agents have to investigate numerous unexplainable anomalies, including a creature that lives in the sewer system, a death fetishist, a group of school board members who have a taste for the occult and a dangerous creature that is the result of a circus sideshow.
Obviously as in all seasons, there are weaker episodes. But with the majority of episodes being so strong and well written, it makes it easier to forgive and be able to see the clear assets of the season overall.
As well as the episodes, there are a number of notable characters that are introduced this time round, such as Alex Krycek, Mr X and The Alien Bounty Hunter. All of these are welcome additions.
With the drama and excitement of the season finale 'Anasazi' leaving you almost breathless, you can't wait to get hold of Season 3. Let me assure you, nothing quite prepares you for all the events that take place in the finale.
Overall a brilliant season. 10/10.
Recommended
Little Green Men
The Host
Sleepless
Duane Berry
Die Hand Der Verletz
End Game
Humbug
Anasazi
Avoid
3
Firewalker
Excelsus Dei
Fearful Symmetry
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2004
I was a big fan of the X files when they were aired during the mid nineties. Unfortunatley when the series first came out on DVD, the Prices were around £70 for just 1 season. But for around £25 you cant go wrong in purchasing this new digi-pak box set. The box set includes 25 episodes spanning over 7 Discs, Which is approximately 1100 minutes of footage including speacial features. This is a huge amount of viewing time for a price of £25. The special features inlude Chris Carter and other production staff comentating on certain episodes. Its fascinating to find out what lengths the crew went to whilst filming the season. Watch out for Scully eating a cockroach!
As i started to view the episodes I instantly realised why this programme was one of the best shows on tv. The special effects, tension, drama, story lines, acting are all amazing. Considering the season was filmed 10 years ago, the special effects are even good viewing by todays standards. Compared to other seasons, the 2nd season was one of the best. Each episode is unique ranging from scullys abduction to mulders discovery of a huge government conspiracy about Aliens. Basically at the end of the day the whole series is extremely entertaining. Even people who have not seen the shows on tv should experience the best sci-fi series ever made. Buy the box set, enjoy it, then save up for season 3.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2005
I was never up on X files, and the closest I got to watching the series was buying those videos in the mid nineties that came in a cool limited edition box. When release on DVD, X-Files was a very expensive series to collect, and at 80 pounds a pop for each one was costly. Now though, they have rereleased them in a new package (better than the old ones and more robust) and still have the same amount of DVD's and features. If you missed the X files, like I did, then here's your opportunity to catch up with one of the best TV series ever made. Featuring 25 episodes on 6 disks and the 7th disc saved for special features, the set is concluded with a 20 page booklet which the 7th disk neatly fits in!
All in all a great set for fans, and an affordable series for those who would like to get into this cool TV programme.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2006
Season one ended on a remerakable cliffhanger, which left a lot of people shocked. As the second season begins, the X-files has been shut down and now Agent Fox Mulder (played brilliantly by David Duchovny) is stuck with routine service work. His partner, Dana Scully (Gillian Anderson on top form) is now working in the acemdemy.
The first season had some very amazing episodes, but thses episodes beat them hands down. Invisible rapists in an old folks home, demonic possesion with little boys, the classic aliens (the best being the three part episodes, Duane Barry, Acension and One Breath) Mulder finnaly meeting the aliens who stole his sister, and more including vampires, parasites, cannibals and freaks.
The best episodes would have to be the scary ones. Season one wasn't scary enough for me, but season two does the trick. Watch out for Die Hand Die Verletzt, Little Green Men and The Calusari.
This season is the only 18 rated season in the entire show. This is because of the exorcism scene in The Calusari, which (annoyingly) doensn't mention on the back. It's not that suitable for kids, either, unlike (in my opinion) the first season.
The best series.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 October 2014
This second season of 'The X-Files' begins where the previous season left off with the X-Files shut down, Deep Throat killed and Mulder and Scully separated. Not everything is going badly however as Mulder still apparently has friends within the FBI and the government he didn't even know about who wish the truth to be known.

The episodes in this season are all very entertaining with a good mix of monster-of-the-week episodes alongside episodes that focus on the series myth arc and government conspiracy with both of these styles of episode including some very good episodes and some poorer episodes. The season does see Scully leave the show for a brief period (due to Gillian Anderson being pregnant) and the writers do a good job of working this into the plot. Of the episodes in this season my favourites have to be episode 4, 'Sleepless', that is about mysterious deaths and introduces the characters of X and Krycek; episode 15, 'Fresh Bones', which deals with voodoo; and episode 19, 'Død Kalm', which sees Mulder and Scully investigate a ghost ship. Another notable episode is episode 20, 'Humbug', which is arguably the first straight comedy episode of the series and is very funny throughout. My least favourite episodes are probably episodes 16 and 17, 'Colony' and 'End Game', a two part story that sees identical strangers murdered and has personal ramifications for Mulder.

The season sees both Assistant-Director Skinner and the Cancer Man taking a bigger role in the narrative with both characters probably being two of my favourite recurring characters. The new people introduced in this season (X, Krycek and the alien bounty hunter) are also all quite interesting with their respective actors doing a very good job of portraying them.

Overall this second season of 'The X-Files' was a very solid one with very few missteps and is easily worth a full five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2006
The X-Files gets properly underway with season 2, with a good mix of stand-alone episodes and some solid contributions to the emerging `mythology'. The closure of the X-Files section at the end of season 1 lasts some way into the season, and makes for some interesting changes in the way the agents get to work together. We meet Mulder's new informant `X', and the duplicitous Alex Krycek. A.D. Skinner and The Cigarette-Smoking Man get bigger roles.

The show feels more confident - we have stories spread over more than one episode for the first time, and signs of a lighter, self-referential mood from writer Darin Morgan in `Humbug'. Although I don't rate this season as highly as some subsequent ones, it's still very good indeed.

Favourites:

Duane Barry, Ascension, One Breath, Red Museum, The Calusari, Anasazi

Episodes I remember not liking, but enjoyed this time round:

Soft Light, `3'

Weak points:

Little Green Men - worth seeing for the scenes between Mulder & Scully, but actually quite disappointing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2006
This season of the X-files shows how the series could go from stand-alone episodes in season to 1, and expand on it in season 2, to larger story arcs and better strories to tell. This X-files season is quite possible one of the best seasons of the show.
The first episode picks up after the last episode 'The erlenmyer flask' and it shows Mulder and Scully still off the x-files. It brings us back to a more alien story. This sort of sets us up for a bigger story arc which would come later: 'Duane Barry' is probably the first proper mythology episode. It sets us up for a huge story-arc. It continues on in 'Ascention' with Scully's abduction and concludes in 'One breath' with Scully's resurrection. These three episodes are three of the most stunning episodes, and have to be viewed. Another mythology two-parter is 'Colony/End game' which introduces one of my favourite villains: the alien bounty hunter. It deals with the Earth's colonization and the bounty hunter is after the clones. It also gives us more information of Mulder's sister's abduction. 'Anasazi' is the season finale which is fantastic, as it gives more insight to the governments involvement with aliens.
The stand-alone episodes are also great in the season. A popular episode is 'The host' which deals with a large fluke-worm which is roaming the New Mexico sewers. In 'Sleepless' Mulder investigates the deaths of green beret soldiers who participated in a sleep expermient. This episode also introduces one of the most popular chracters: Alex Krycek. 'Red museam' concludes the story of Deep Throat's death. 'Die hand die verletzt' is one of the scariest x-files and 'Humbug' introduces the show to a comedic route. Though, a few episodes are weak: 'Firewalker', 'Aubrey' and 'Fresh bones' but most of the episodes are great. 'The calusari' is apparently the episode which makes this season an '18' rating, but frankly the episode isn't so bad. It could easily be a '15'.
This season is probably superior to season 1, as most of the stand-alones have interesting ideas. There is a larger amount of aliens in this season, many chracters are more involved more such as Skinner and Cigarette smoking man. If you liked season 1, you will love this also.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
Great entertainment and excitement
For a very fair cost we the family will enjoy again and again by one and all.
So can I now take a moment please on behalf of our whole family group to state loudly here and now
...`We Thank You`
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
Absolutely excellent! Season two is just as good as the first, I'm glad to say. The box set itself is not such a good design though, and for some bizarre reason they put the last episode on the special features disc, and it doesn't say anywhere! The special features disc just rattles around in a cardboard sleeve, and I totally missed 'Anasazi' until I decided to watch the extras!

Giving this five stars because it's the actual series that matters in the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 February 2006
After the excellent introduction to the Xfiles in season 1, it took a huge leap forward in season 2. Adding a much more deeper story and evolving plot to the ever growing and moving story, it added scarier and much more darker tones to the show. Mulder and Scully grow closer and have a more fluid relationship in this series.
The stories are much more well worked and sometimes ever poke fun at the XFiles itself like in "Humbug".
This has to be one of the stand out points in the whole XFiles saga, showing a much more powerful and dark side to the stories and with more impressive writing and fluidity than most of the seasons.
Sit back and be ready for one of the best shows to leave America....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.