Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated
This season is much better than many people make out. I think this is because, at the time it aired, fans were beginning to grow tired. I remember not liking it very much, but now I've watched it again, I really do rate it highly.

The writers earnestly tried to prepare for the end of the show, an event which would turn out to be three years away as it happened,...
Published on 31 Oct 2006 by BobOxford

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointing...
This is the series where they officially ran out of ideas and went into comedy overdrive.

I can't understand why, if this was originally supposed to be the final series, there were so many dodgy episodes.

The Sixth Extinction gives the impression that the season is going to be awesome. It's well-scripted, well-acted, and I felt a whole lot of...
Published on 11 Sep 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 31 Oct 2006
This review is from: X Files: Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
This season is much better than many people make out. I think this is because, at the time it aired, fans were beginning to grow tired. I remember not liking it very much, but now I've watched it again, I really do rate it highly.

The writers earnestly tried to prepare for the end of the show, an event which would turn out to be three years away as it happened, but which looked likely even as 'Requiem' aired. As a result, some loose ends are tied up, and not many new questions are raised until the last episode. Still reeling from Two Fathers/One Son in series 6, there is possibly less mythology than any other season. This vacancy gave the show room to play with some new ideas: a story from the monster's perspective in Hungry, a Cops-style fly-on-the-wall documentary in X-Cops, a con-trick caper in The Amazing Maleeni, a genie with three wishes in Je Souhaite. The stand-alone episodes vary in quality a little more than in previous years, but there's some good stuff here.

Favourites:

Rush, Hungry, Sein Und Zeit/Closure, En Ami, all things, Requiem

Episodes I remember not liking, but enjoyed this time round:

Millennium, The Amazing Maleeni, Orison, X-Cops, First Person Shooter, Je Souhaite

Weak points:

Signs & Wonders - you'll see it coming

Fight Club - I can't believe Chris Carter wrote this one thinking it would be one of the last episodes of the show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spacecrafts, sisters and strange sightings in season seven...., 18 May 2006
This review is from: X Files: Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite seasons of 'The X-Files' and it was my first purchase of all the DVD sets because it balances the intellectual and dense extra-terrestrial stories with the quirky tales that the show has always done equally well. With the exception of the first double episode 'The Sixth Extinction' (and no, I don't know what that means either) and perhaps episode 15- 'En Ami' (where the Smoking Man rears his ugly head once more) season seven may not contain as many of the brilliant, all-questions and no-answer stories that made this show such a great success in previous years, but it is a season that possesses in spades some of the strangest, most original, emotional, frightening and funny episodes in the history of the programme. In fact, this season more than any other in my opinion (with perhaps the dubious exception of the show's finale episode 'The Truth') goes a long way to answer some of the many questions it has posed in the past in relation to our FBI abnormality-investigating duo and their government's continual attempts of the cover-up of alien activities. Something that also factored into my decision to purchase this season above all others (I'm somewhat ashamed to say) is the fact that by this point in the mythology of the X-Files the makers were able to bring to life the stories with far superior special-effects, make-up designs and locations than they were capable of utilising in earlier seasons. As a result this season has a great look and shows no signs of age, which I'm sure was aided more than a little by the lovely quality of the DVD picture here.

I don't think there's a single episode in this season that's anything less than absolutely thrilling, each is so distinctive in style and plot that I never felt stories were being repeated or the writers were running short of new ideas seven years into this ground-breaking show. As a fan of 'The X-Files' spin-off series 'Millennium' I was a little disappointed that the producers didn't see fit to award the Frank Black character a double episode to conclude his story, but I couldn't fault the plot or the tone of episode 5- 'Millennium' and it's one of my favourite episodes in season seven. Episode 17- 'All things' (Gillian Anderson's effort as writer and director) is also one of my favourites- the critics hated it and the fans hated it, so I guess I'm in the minority, but I don't care! The pacing and the camera work and the refreshing story make it a highlight of this season for me. And the other big selling point of season seven that must be mentioned is episode 11- 'Closure', which finally (at very long last) offers loyal viewers some explanation of the most important event in the life of Agent Mulder- the abduction of his sister Samantha. It's a solid episode and very touching, and it's the second part of a two-part story that begins with the episode before- 'Sein Und Zeit', both of which are extremely poignant and unpredictable, and share a superb performance by David Duchovny running through them. That only leaves the finale episode 'Requiem', which explores the mystery surrounding Scully's earlier alien abduction, as the other main highlight of the seventh season for me, but that's all I'm going to say about that episode, because I don't want to give too much away- but rest assured- it's an excellent episode.

You might imagine that seven seasons into 'The X-Files' and also since this is David Duchovny's last full season as Agent Fox Mulder that he and Gillian Anderson might be showing signs of being a little jaded with the same old routine, but there're absolutely no signs of any tiredness on their part. Mulder is his usual enthusiastic self for all things paranormal and Scully is still the same cynical and sceptical FBI agent as always (although definitely a little more open-minded to other-worldly possibilities than she was in the very beginning) and the rapport between the two actors is, as always, electric and after six seasons and one feature-length movie it's indisputably the main reason for the show's success. I cannot rate this season highly enough, but 5 stars will have to suffice.

(Moby is used to great effect in this season. 'Play' is a superb album and consequently the episodes that utilise tracks from this record are all the more moving as a result.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Season.., 7 Jun 2006
By 
S. Bailey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X Files: Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
Ah. Here's an interesting moment for the x-files; presumably aware that it would be David Duchovny's last full season, the x-files directors allowed explorations deep into characters. All Things, written and directed by Gillian Anderson is an expecially good example. The season is one of the worst, however, because the StandAlone episodes took a noticably humourous and light-hearted edge to the show. The season gets under way nicely with The Sixth Extinction, which follows Mulder's journey through his visions as his brain suffers from its deadly disease (as contracted at the end of season 6) and Scully searches for a cure. There are high points in the coming StandAlone episodes, such as 'Millennium' which rounded off Chris Carters second-best TV Show of the same name, which was cancelled before the conclusion. The episode also features a beautiful moment between Mulder and Scully at the New Year's Eve, which starts an insight into their relationship which was to continue throughout the season. Mulder learns the truth about his sister in 'Closure', which was a wise idea since the story had grown thin of late. Some of the funnier standalone episodes include 'X-Cops' and 'Hollywood A.D' which are genuinely funny, but there are also some dissappointing episoded such as 'Fight Club'. 'En Ami', written by the Cancer Man himself was an interesting look at the life of the x-files most mysterious character. Then there's the Finale, 'Requiem'. Mulder's abduction, which bought a lump to my throat. Scully's pregnancy, which baffled me yet interested me. With Mulder going, Chris Carter wrote in some shippy moments between the infamous partnership which left me praying to see how they'd go on, being a 'shipper myself. A lot of questions were left for season 8, after a good yet imperfect season that provided some great shippy moments but none of the dark atmosphere we saw in the earlier seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars X Files Season 7 - the last one with Mulder!, 1 Feb 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X Files: Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 7 of the X Files is important in many ways, not only because it is the last one with David Duchovny as part of the regular cast but also because it was intended and assumed to be the final series ever. This is particularly evident as many long-running storylines and characters bow out during this season. For many fans, I am certain that they treat this season as the series' last considering the general consensus that the show "jumped the shark" by going on for another two seasons without Mulder. However, whether you agree with this opinion or not, there is plenty to enjoy here.
As a fan of the show, I have to admit that I enjoy the stand-alone horror/sci-fi episodes much more than the alien mythology/government conspiracy two-parters. The season begins well with "The Sixth Extinction" with Scully desperately trying to unlock the secrets of an alien vessel off the coast of Africa in order to save Mulder's life. However, the story continues on in "The Sixth Extinction 2: Amor Fati" which completely discards the alien ship storyline and casts Mulder into a dull virtual reality thread. This not only completely throws the viewer but ruins what might have been otherwise a decent set of episodes. By this time, this whole alien story arc has become so overcomplicated that it is hard to follow. My advice is don't try and rather appreciate the other episodes here. The quest for Mulder's sister finally comes to an end in the intriguing but rather bizarre "Closure" while you may notice a more notable comedy element creeping into many of the episodes particularly towards the end which only serves to make the season finale "Requiem" with Mulder's abduction, the death of the Cigarette Smoking Man and the revelation of Scully's pregnancy that much more shocking. If the series had have ended on this note, it would have been a great finale, leaving the show posing as many questions as it did answer them.
Season highlights include:
HUNGRY - An episode told entirely from the vantage point of a real-life monster working in a fast food restaurant, who just cannot control his hunger for human brains. A really interesting and well-written episode which makes you sympathise for the character as he is pursued by Mulder and Scully.
MILLENNIUM - Chris Carter's other show "Millennium" finally crosses over with "The X Files" as Mulder and Scully try to enlist the help of Frank Black to stop some former members of the Millennium group from being resurrected and fulfilling a dark prophecy about the end of the world in the year 2000.
ORISON - A long overdue sequel to Season 2' "Irresistible", as death fetishist Donnie Pfaster escapes from prison and the memories of Scully's abduction by him come back to haunt her. As disturbing as the original.
THE AMAZING MALEENI - A truly funny episode as the agents investigate the death of a decapitated magician who moments before his death, performed the amazing trick of turning his head a complete 360 degrees.
SIGNS AND WONDERS - Investigating the death of a man who died from repeated snake bites but with no traces of any snakes, Mulder and Scully come to investigate a group of religious fanatics who test their faith through the handling of dangerous snakes only to find that darker forces are at work.
X COPS - "The X Files" done in the style of famous American reality police show "COPS" as the agents investigate a spate of mysterious deaths and attacks by an unknown creature in a rundown, crime-ridden area of Los Angeles.
FIRST PERSON SHOOTER - In a new virtual reality game, one of the players is slain by a female character Maitreya who was not originally in the program, prompting Mulder to try the game for himself and flush out the assailant who by all means, does not exist.
EN AMI - The Cigarette Smoking Man offers Scully a deal to retrieve a disc containing information about a possible miracle cure for all disease but can he be trusted?
HOLLYWOOD A.D - Mulder and Scully visit Hollywood where a film of their exploits on the X Files is being shot, with Garry Shandler and Tea Leoni (David Duchovny's wife in real life) playing them to hilarious results.
REQUIEM - The season finale where the agents return to Bellefleur, Oregon, the site of their first ever X File to find a spate of new abductions are taking place. Meanwhile, the CSM enlists Krycek to find the alien craft hiding in Bellefleur before Mulder and Scully do.
The extras are the usual that you would come to expect from an X Files boxset. The commentaries on certain episodes and the documentary "The Truth About Season 7" are the most interesting although none of them include David Duchonvy or Gillian Anderson talking about their roles or the episodes which I found dissapointing. There are also the usual Special Effects featurettes and the original FOX TV trailers for each episode. A DVD-ROM game based on "First Person Shooter" has been included as well though as yet I have been unable to get it working on my PC!! All in all, however, a strong season of the show that is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the 7th x., 3 Jan 2014
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X Files: Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
By season 7 , this hit show had already had a major movie which did ok. And it had become part of popular culture like few other shows had ever done.
Even today many of this shows themes live on or were popularized. Like alien abductions , which was a fringe idea. This season had more light hearted eps than usual. But there were still plenty more serious ones. It's a very good season. BUT, it is not as good by far than any series that came before it. FOr that reason some viewers were unhappy with it. Which is a mistake , taken on it's own, it's the x files and it still has a lot of great episodes in here. THe unnatural is one of the better ones and it barely features the two leads in it! But there's not a bad episode here. It's just a lot fewer great ones. The next series was much stronger. Series 8 returned the show back to pure greatness. But this one is well worth watching. You will notice a decline in some episodes but that's to be expected. So many fans rate this as the second weakest series after series 9. Which is true but a weaker x files series is a lot better than many shows best! there's a solid season here of good shows and that's good enough for this fan. The dvd sets look better too because they were shot in widescreen and on higher grade film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointing..., 11 Sep 2009
This review is from: X Files: Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the series where they officially ran out of ideas and went into comedy overdrive.

I can't understand why, if this was originally supposed to be the final series, there were so many dodgy episodes.

The Sixth Extinction gives the impression that the season is going to be awesome. It's well-scripted, well-acted, and I felt a whole lot of empathy for the portrayals of Mulder and Scully. However, the second part didn't seem to run-on properly from it, and was confusing in that it took a completely different direction. The death of one of the 'main' characters also seemed a bit pointless.

Thankfully though, after seven seasons, the Samantha story-line was finally put to rest in Sein und Zeit and Closure, the former of which was one of the best episodes of the series. It was a bit bizarre with no real indication throughout the other series that it would end that way, but I felt a great feeling of empathy for Mulder that the whole thing was over.

The best episodes of the series were: The Sixth Extinction, Hungry (this was extremely well-written), The Goldberg Variation, The Amazing Maleeni, Signs and Wonders (this was well-written too), Sein und Zeit, All Things, Brand X and Hollywood A.D (a surprisingly good episode).

The worst episodes were: Millennium, Orison (a huge let down considering it was a sequel to season 2's Irresistible - it was badly scripted and extremely badly directed), X-Cops, First Person Shooter, Chimera (extremely predictable) and Fight Club (the worst episode I've ever seen).

I think what made this series so disappointing was that all the comedy episodes seemed to lessen the impact of the previous seasons. The X-files started out as serious sci-fi/horror which was legitimately creepy with episodes you could really sink your teeth into like Tooms in series 1, Excelsis Dei in series 2, and Hell Money in series 3. I have no problem with the occasional funny episode - Quagmire in series 3, for example - but whereas in the past amusing moments were incorporated into the serious, in series seven there are barely any serious moments in comedy episodes.

So if you want to watch a series of the X-files which really makes you think, this isn't it - stick to the earlier seasons. If you just want a bit of a laugh, then this is the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars one of the best of the series, 4 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. John Preston (south london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X Files: Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
Ive been trying to keep some kind of record of each episode of the x-files (of which there were nine seasons) for some time now but with little success. This is a geeky thing for me to do firstly because of the series itself (sci fi, alien abductions anyone?) and also just trying to provide a summary for a show that had some 180 plus episodes is a little bit obsessive. The problem seems to be that I put on an episode (I have alot of time because I am now unemployed yes?) and then I potter around, fix a coffee, my hair, my lunch and have no idea as to what's gone on with the aliens. I can just about remember whether what Ive seen is either a 'mythological' or 'stand alone' episode. Mythological tales begun with Fox Mulder's sister being abducted by non- humans when he was a child and then general alien related stories which always effect Mulder and Dana Scully is some emotional and physical way. Stand alone episodes are about everything elses and can be silly, funny, ironic, frightening, complicated, dull; you get the point. They are always resloved in the same episode.

I'm currently watching Season 7 and have worked my way here starting with season 1 in season order. I watched the first 5 seasons when they originally aired. Looking at them now they seem dated and crude; the chemistry between Mulder and Scully which is really the defining point of the show, undeveloped. By season 6 I'd begun to actually stop experimenting with my hair and was sitting down watching the show. When I took out season 7 from the box I realised that I already knew many of the episodes from title and was very familiar to the plots and had enjoyed many of the episodes already. See our heros had really begun to fully inhabite their charaters and the emotional dynamic between the two had well truly taken off. I think this season is also the one in which Mulder leaves, to come back only for those 'Myth' episodes and the series final. So a beautifully acted season, funny and engaging and fully realised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe or not, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X Files: Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
What every good believer of a collector would want and at a reasonable price too. Great addition to any DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best , period !!, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X Files: Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great season with a combination of mythology , parody and show closures and transitions !! Mulder recovers from being sick and the agents go after the truth from Canibals , Hot chicks in first person shooter sims to a containment of fear on cops . The birth of William is also sort of covered in `All things` where Sculley examines where her life has gone and her feelings for Mulder .In this season Mulder finally gets the truth and closure on his sister Samantha in `closure `. The potential last ever season was addressed at the end when the producer left it open for the entire end or a potential 8th season .In season 8 , they did the same at the end of the season .A must buy !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series and great value for money, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X Files: Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
I chose to buy these dvd's from another online retailer. After a few failed attempts at trying to locate these dvd's i came to Amazon.

I ordered the dvd's and they were sent and arrived within a few days. They were well packaged and exactly as described. I bought these as a gift for a friend who is an avid X Files fan.

I have personally been watching the series myself and the dvd's are fantastic value for money.

I will not make the mistake of choosing another retailer again and i will be sticking to Amazon for it's value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X Files: Season 7 [DVD]
X Files: Season 7 [DVD] by Vince Gilligan (DVD - 2005)
£11.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews