Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enduring classic
I was nearly put off buying this film as it seems that some of the reviewers don't think it quite as good as the series. However, I have now bought it and think it is brilliantly made, very funny and a wonderful film to put by for a quiet moment during the Christmas holidays when the TV listings are disappointing or for a rainy Sunday afternoon. My children love it, my...
Published on 11 Nov 2008 by Elizabeth Goldsack

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For completists only
NB. As i their wont, Amazon have unhelpfully bundled the reviews for various Dad's Army releases - TV and film - together. This reviews refers to the DVD of the feature film.

Dad's Army is probably the most disappointing of the endless run of TV spinoffs that clogged up British cinemas in the early 70s, not so much for the flat direction and dreary script...
Published on 6 Feb 2007 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enduring classic, 11 Nov 2008
By 
Elizabeth Goldsack (Midhurst, Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dad's Army: The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I was nearly put off buying this film as it seems that some of the reviewers don't think it quite as good as the series. However, I have now bought it and think it is brilliantly made, very funny and a wonderful film to put by for a quiet moment during the Christmas holidays when the TV listings are disappointing or for a rainy Sunday afternoon. My children love it, my parents love it, we love it - so nice to be able to sit down to a film together as a family.

Unlike the series which is set solely in Britain parts of this film are of the Germans plotting their invasion from the other side of the Channel. The juxtapositioning of the German preparedness and the British unpreparedness is priceless. You will recognise some plots from the earliest TV episodes but I enjoyed them far more in this film.

Some lovely outdoor shots, including the town of Chalfont St Giles which doubled as Walmington on Sea for the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You STUPID BOY!!!!, 19 May 2008
This review is from: Dad's Army: The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I brought this film on one of my first trips back home to the UK for the pawltry sum of 2 pounds 99 from WHSmiths.
The one thing im going to tell you about film spin offs in the 70s of famous sitcoms is that basicaly they were really juggled around old scripts from the tv episodes.
Steptoe and son did it On the buses did it and so did alf garnet in (in sickness and in health).
The one of films are great old fatihfulls for which i really watch for the nostalga of growing up in the UK in the late 70s & 80s.
Year after year i drag my old claasics out and create my own ye olde British Christmas and create the nostalga of my growing up in Britain at that time for which really no longer even exsits in the UK anylonger.

Anyway the dads army film seems to be a mix of the first ever episode of dads army and another episode called the deadly attachment which was all about the platoon having to guard a german U boat crew.
I am very fond of dads army and another of the creations of the people that wrote dads army was It aint half hot mum but i really didnt like that series as much.

It was well worth the 2 pounds 99 .
At the moment having all these old classics on DVD seems to be the only way now you can watch decent comedy and TV now adays is riddled with stupid reality shows that basicaly get on me nerves so bad the only thing i watch on TV in the States is the history channel and discovery channel.

All i have to say is long live the good ole days of decent family viewing and thank god for DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For completists only, 6 Feb 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dad's Army: The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
NB. As i their wont, Amazon have unhelpfully bundled the reviews for various Dad's Army releases - TV and film - together. This reviews refers to the DVD of the feature film.

Dad's Army is probably the most disappointing of the endless run of TV spinoffs that clogged up British cinemas in the early 70s, not so much for the flat direction and dreary script (mostly expanded from the episodes The Man and the Hour and Battle School) but because the original show still holds up as one of the best Britcoms ever made thanks to its warm writing and character based humour, neither of which are in evidence here. The film is competent but almost completely devoid of jokes, and the few there are are killed at birth by director Norman Cohen's inability to use the cast to the best effect or to display even the most elementary grasp of comic timing.

Columbia's extras-free DVD at least boasts a good transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars on reflection, 16 Mar 2012
This review is from: Dad's Army: The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
This dvd is funnier than I gave it credit for it isn't as funny as the TV series but is still mildly amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment, 18 Nov 2010
By 
R. Lewis (Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dad's Army: The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
When you allow the money men to interfere in the making of a film of a well loved TV classic, the result can only be what has happened here - a massive let down and the sense that a chance to make a worthy film record of a comic masterpiece has been allowed to slip away.

For whatever reason, many of the sets familiar from the TV shows (the vicar's office, the church hall) have been changed in the film and this immediately strikes a false note. Similarly, few of the faces from the back row of the platoon seen on TV have been retained and, worst of all, Janet Davies has been replaced as Pike's Mum by Liz Fraser who is completely wrong for the role and was presumably deemed to be a "bigger" name. What a slap in the face for Janet Davies and a poor reward for the many wonderful performances she gave over the years. As for the direction, David Croft who was responsible for directing most of the TV episodes so beautifully would surely have taken more care to get the period feeling right and done a far better job overall but, once again the producers thought they knew better and assigned the job to journeyman Norman Cohen whose style is practically anonymous. Although this is a real disappointment, it is worth watching just to see such a cast of wonderful comic character actors. Luckily the original TV episodes (or most of them) survive on DVD for us to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived on time, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dad's Army: The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very funny film and well worth a watch. I bought it with the DVD series box set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories, 18 Feb 2013
By 
Ian Roebuck - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dad's Army: The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Good old fashioned humour. Brought back the memories of
a ground breaking series. One to be played for the feel-good
factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick delivery - great gift, 22 Jan 2013
By 
Ilona Bell (York, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dad's Army: The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my Dad for christmas and he loves it and he's probably watched it about 6 times since christmas! The product came earlier than the expected time which was great as it came in time for christmas and just generally a great item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dad's Army, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dad's Army: The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
This CD is great fun. Much the same as the series with all the same characters. Great for Dad's Army enthusiasts everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great., 19 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great introduction to the classic comedy if your not familiar with the series. Some people say it's out dated but I'm 25 and I love it! Have done since my Grandad first put it on when I was a kid.
If you have seen the series though it is basically a feature length recap of series 1, right down to Cpl. Jones' 'Fuzzy Wuzzy Spear.'

Still recommended though. They don't make comedy like this any more!

Good to watch ahead of the upcoming remake starring Toby Jones and Bill Nighy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dad's Army: The Movie [DVD]
Dad's Army: The Movie [DVD] by Norman Cohen (DVD - 2004)
£24.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews