Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising
This is a supurb film with a clever twisting plot. It centres on a semi autobiographical story written by one of the characters which is being made into a movie. As the film progresses it plays out as two parallel stories, one being the fictionalised version of events, the other being the actual events. It's quite a touching story revolving around 2 boys who fall in love...
Published on 6 Jan 2005 by I Am Tyler Durden

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars FILM - "BAD EDUCATION"
The Film was strongly recommended when we went to The Filmhouse in Edinburgh so I bought the DVD. It is quite one of the worst films I have ever seen and I have given it to a charity shop. Only buy it if you have an interest in monks amusing young boys! A real horror.
Published 7 months ago by Mr Charles Ritchie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising, 6 Jan 2005
By 
I Am Tyler Durden (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bad Education [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is a supurb film with a clever twisting plot. It centres on a semi autobiographical story written by one of the characters which is being made into a movie. As the film progresses it plays out as two parallel stories, one being the fictionalised version of events, the other being the actual events. It's quite a touching story revolving around 2 boys who fall in love at school while trying to avoid the molestations of an abusive priest/teacher, and then what happens to them in later life. It involves love, betrayal, blackmail and murder. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 16 Jan 2005
This review is from: Bad Education [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
For me, this is the best Almodóvar film to date. The plot is complex but comes together by the end of the film and is gripping throughout (I won't go into the plot as the synopsis and other reviews can be viewed on this site). The performances from all the main characters (particularly Gael García Bernal) are stunning and the film takes the viewer through a gamut of emotions, from hilarity through poignancy and spine-chilling suspense. The film score needs to be acknowledged too: it is one of the best I've heard - somehow the composer, Alberto Iglesias, manages to fuse a Bernard Hermann (composer of much film music including 'Psycho' and 'Taxi Driver') style along with early nineteenth century ecclesiastic choral music (using a boys chorus). During the film - one of my favourite moments - there is an extract from the Kyrie from Rossini's 'Petite Messe Solennelle' - this moment is electrifying as is the music during the closing credits - don't reach for your coat, stay and listen! Not much more to say except that Almodóvar gets better and better as he matures, and this film is his best yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It wasn�t like this at my school!, 8 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Bad Education [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is a beautifully made film, with the dry, dusty landscape reflecting the coarse education and subsequent evolution of the two central characters. Fine performances are put in by Fele Martinez and the current darling of international cinema, the handsome Gael Garcia Bernal, who uses his elegant features to fine effect, spending much of the movie in drag. The film certainly offers up some thought provoking issues on the abuse of power, and some delicately shot scenes suggesting the young love between the two boys. However the middle section possibly concentrates too much on looking good and not enough on advancing what is a strong and engaging plot, which is unravelled rapidly at the end. Overall this is an intriguing, stylish movie which will both tug at the heart and invoke rage simultaneously, however it may be 15 minutes too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully shot thought provoking film, Well worth watching, 11 Jan 2006
By 
Y. Bissett "whybird" (Manchester, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Education [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I have to admit I am a huge fan of Almodovar. He is known in certain circles as the Woman's Director, but the central relationship here is between two men. I don't want to go into the plot, as it is complicated, contains twists and too many characters that any explanation would spoil it. Suffice it to say, two boys become very close intimate friends in their catholic school and their story unfolds years later within the Spanish film industry. The two leads are excellently cast, especially Gael Garcia Bernal, who looks fabulous in drag.
Purported to be loosely autobiographical, this film tackles some very controversial topics, particularly the abuse of young boys by catholic priests. The film manages to illustrate this subject without being too sexual or explicit. It maintains pace throughout, and never fails to twist itself into knots. To fully follow the flashback/film scenes plot, I recommend watching it twice.
All in all, in my opinion, not as good as "Talk to Her", and probably not as widely appealing as "All About My Mother", but highly watchable for anyone willing to spend a while in Almodovar's world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gem from Almodovar, 5 Jan 2005
This review is from: Bad Education [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Daring to say this might be one of his best works. As usual almodovar keeps you enthralled, intrigued, laughing and in suspense to the last moment, and the lead Gael Bernal Garcia delivers a fantastic performance, the perfect choice for the role...
This is a must have for any avid almodovar fan or a good introduction to his work, it will get you addicted to almodovar in no time and you'll never go back.... again a fantastic piece of cinema...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bad Education! A Good Movie!, 11 Jan 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Education [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I'll start by saying I'm a Catholic! So, I hated the movie! Right? Wrong! Loved it. As usual a perfect script. A bit even more serious this time. Perfect casting! Gael is great, but for me, Paquita (Javier Cámara), is Oscar stuff! HE'S PERFECT! And the Andalusian accent is a plus! Catholicism is not on trial! People are. Priests that are not perfect (to say the least) are! And a film noir like we hadn't seen in decades. A film, inside a film, inside a story! Just GREAT! Muy bien, Pedro, y hasta la próxima película!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film that stays with you., 16 April 2007
By 
This review is from: Bad Education [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Gael Garcia Bernal is amazing, the story is told in flashback, and present day. You never quite know what parts of the film are happening, and wich parts are being acted by the characters, who are making a film in the movie. - CONFUSED?- well i was, but my confusion just added to experence. All the performances are great, the characters engaging, and the story both lovely, and disterbing.

If your a fan of the director, or the star you wont be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spotless direction, 19 Mar 2009
By 
Almodovar collection;
this boxed set is a journey through the unsayable and unexpected; it takes a partisan view of some of the more difficult behaviours, not to justify them but to expose all their consequences. We see loyalty, family, age, gender and sexual behaviour thrown into a spotlight with surprizing outcomes. Everyone should see it once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enigmatic & Unique, 12 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Bad Education [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
It's not one of Almodovar's best movies, but somehow it becomes unforgettable. The opening part was great, then I was a bit disappointed with how things were going, but at the end, when all elements came together, it started to make sense.
There are a lot of things that have already been seen in previous Almodovar's films. It seemed at times like some of his favourite themes, or cliches, were being recycled. Still, it works.
This is one of his minor works, but I would still recommend it. And the performances are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stylish Thriller - Almodovar At His Best, 8 Jun 2010
The thought of watching a flick about a paedophile priest abusing young boys isn't my idea of entertainment, but watching another excellent performance from Gael Garcia Bernal was enough to overlook this abhorrent premise. Thankfully, Pedro Almodovar's immaculate and tasteful direction transforms the unpleasant subject matter into a gripping thriller that twists and turns in the most satisfying way imaginable. He draws out superb performances from all the cast but Bernal's multi-layered, cross dressing performance steals the show and, ultimately, highlights exactly why he's considered an immense talent and a heart-throb. Another impressive aspect to this outstanding flick is the way Almodovar morphs past events with the present and glides in and out of the movie within a movie but never leaves the viewer feeling confused, just utterly enthralled. This is all rounded off with a satisfying conclusion that leaves the viewer wondering just how much was based on the directors life? Bad Education has been stylishly shot with vibrant colours and is definitely the type of flick that can be watched more than once - highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad Education [DVD] [2004]
Bad Education [DVD] [2004] by Pedro Almodóvar (DVD - 2004)
£5.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews