Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars26
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2006
Alright, let me start of by saying this is a really fantastic movie. I never realized how much of a buried treasure it was until I saw it a second and third time. It has a great, twisting plot that mocks the slasher era of films, yet it retains its originality. The humor in this movie is characterized by crudeness, subtlety, and satirical elements.
People say it's a spoof, they're wrong. It's a satirical look at two different genres of movie, horror and those spring break romp movies. And it works. A lot of the humour is subtle, but then a lot of it is really obvious, blatant humour, which makes it work so well. And I've read people compare it with Scary movie. Trust me, Scary Movie isn't even in the same league as this movie.
I guess it all depends on your expectations, though. Like I said, I've seen it a few times, but if you have low to medium expectations, it will surpass them.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2007
Best appreciated with a group of friends and a couple of lurid cocktails inside you, the acting and script are terrible, but it really doesn't matter because everyone's wearing skimpy swimwear (and fruit costumes) and the whole thing is such good fun. Ignore the naysayers, unplug your brain and enjoy!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2010
This movie is one of the most funny movies and yet thriller movies i have seen. It will either have you busting for the toilet from laughing soo much, or busting for the toilet from jumping out your seat! Its a great mix between comedy, those teenage romp movies, gore and thriller. Its got a great plot that keeps you guessing right from the start. With funky funny music, absurd characters, a laugh a minute and a fright every 5 min. This really does deserve top reviews. So some of it is absurd and completely unrealistic but thats the point! Some truly classic moments. This is great for watching with friends, in the background at parties, or just alone for a laugh. Although whether you like it is down to personal preference i strongly recommend this movie.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2008
I think this movie is fantastic at what it sets out to be which in my eyes is a modern parody on the slasher genre. The spoof genre died out with Hot Shots Part deux, that was the last of the good spoofs and even that was weak now all we have coming out is what movie execs like to call "spell out the jokes that 10 year olds find funny to the dumb audience" spoofs - and yes I'm looking at Scary Movie 1 and 2 for spawning such rubbish. This, much like Shaun of the Dead, is a parody which I feel there should be more of and that the film industry should do away with making spoofs altogether. The acting is typical but fun, the script is typical but fun and the jokes apart from the odd moment are clever and quick off the mark. The charachters are based on the generic formula in teen horror films but with an added hint of creativity to make them stand out for this film. The stroy line will have you guessing and unlike most "serious" teen slashers, I doubt you will get who the killer is. Overall, if you take this film seriously then you are going to fall flat, but if you take this film as good fun and very clever humour in most parts you will have a real good laugh at this film.
There will never be another Airplane or Naked Gun so end the spoofs and start with the clever parodies. The audience can think for themselves you know!! Oh and the 5 star is because I think this film has had some unfair reviews on here...mainly from the Scary Movie fanboys! :D
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2008
Club dread was not that funny or that scary.Nor was it
very original.But if you like seeing tropical locations beside the sea and swimsuits you might get some enjoyment from this film.It's main problem is that it's too long - 1 hour 50 minutes - and doesn't have a substantial enough script to justify its length.Although I said it's not scary - it is gruesome and bloody ,so don't watch it while eating your supper.The bonus features are pretty mundane so don't buy this dvd for them!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The first thing you need to know about Club Dread is that it is not to be taken seriously. It's basically a comedy, but with horror thrown in. It doesn't so much as lampoon the genre, as adhere to it. Storywise, it's actually your average slasher film. An unknown killer stalks an island full of annoyingly-fit teenagers and knifes them to death. Nothing new there. Nothing new in the whole film really, but that doesn't mean it's not worth watching.

It's basically fun. It never tries to be serious and shouldn't be taken as such. If you like slasher films in general, you should like this. The only downside I found (or rather something I felt was a missed opportunity) were the death scenes. The whole film is surprisingly UNgory for a supposed (half) horror film. As the film-makers are also playing to a comedy audience, you'd think they'd be more creative with the (many) death scenes. There's certainly scope for it. However, every death is a simple stabbing or slice - hardly imaginative.

But, it's more comedy than horror, so perhaps I'm expecting too much. Basically, as many other reviewers have said, it's basically Froday 13th meets Porkies and I can't really add anything to that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
Abusive language non stop from the beginning the film continues using non actors and bikini clad girls to try to make a story. It makes a common mistake after five minutes retreating back to the " one hour earler" idea so we know what happens later immediately. Its a story of idiot students dancing drinking lots of bad language with a killer mixed in and lots of silly scenes. One o be binned after 5 minutes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2005
Right first off i wanted to see this film at the cinema as i was bored, but it obviously was a film that was shown in a few cinemas and passed on to the next, so i decided to wait till the video release and im glad i watched it.
This is a comedy right? good, it made me laugh so that was good, it was meant to be slight horror right? good, it bought a little bit of suspense to it, so it worked there aswell.
Someone said above the acting was poor? Were you expecting Al Pachino style acting in a spoof film. No the acting was meant to be poor, and the gags cheesy, thats the hole point of a spoof film.
This film was funny, there were some halarious line in there, funny charecters and the storyline had well a storyline to it, unlike most spoofs.
This film deleverd to me so i was happy, i wasnt expecting much from it, so i got a little bit more, which i was happy about.
***/5
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2010
if you are up for a laugh and liek the slasher/horror/comedy type genre then this might be for you.

Bill Paxton isnt pushed too hard with the role and Brittany Daniels is as gorgeous as ever

the plot is thin, the acting ok, the other cast members questionable (I am not a fan of the director acting in their own movies anyway) but on the whole enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2011
Well for starters i don't know what the people were thinking who gave this less than 4 stars.
The acting isn't great but it's story was pretty good in my opinion and it keeps you guessing
it's funny and worth watching time and time again but i won't lie broken lizard films i find are alot better with a bag of weed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.69

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)