Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!
I bought this without really knowing the story because it was so cheap. It is a fantastic film and I would reccommend it anyone who likes a rom-com. Ione Skye plays the lead character in a quirky way but brings so much to the part. There is a fair amount of comedy in this film which adds to its appeal. I won't go into too much detail of the storyline as it will spoil...
Published on 26 July 2007 by R. J. Macleod

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What is the point of this film?
The only possible audience for this film might be young teenaged girls who could find it romantic and cute. That said, they will need to be young teenagers with an understanding of who Frank Sinatra was, and that doesn't seem very likely nowadays.
Otherwise, this is a tedious, humdrum film that labours under delusions of being witty and delightfully "out there"...
Published on 30 Dec 2009 by Truman A Ripley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What is the point of this film?, 30 Dec 2009
This review is from: Dream For An Insomniac [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
The only possible audience for this film might be young teenaged girls who could find it romantic and cute. That said, they will need to be young teenagers with an understanding of who Frank Sinatra was, and that doesn't seem very likely nowadays.
Otherwise, this is a tedious, humdrum film that labours under delusions of being witty and delightfully "out there". Frankly I wish it had stayed "out there" and never entered my living room.
The acting is passable given the inane script, with the exception of the leading actress Ione Skye, who manages to be deeply dull and extremely annoying at the same time. Personally I think she should consider changing her professional name to Ione "Sigh", as that is what she does throughout the movie. I must admit I joined her heartfelt exhalations on more than one occassion while watching it.
Dreadful film...adults avoid at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 26 July 2007
By 
R. J. Macleod "mental_rachel" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dream For An Insomniac [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this without really knowing the story because it was so cheap. It is a fantastic film and I would reccommend it anyone who likes a rom-com. Ione Skye plays the lead character in a quirky way but brings so much to the part. There is a fair amount of comedy in this film which adds to its appeal. I won't go into too much detail of the storyline as it will spoil it but it is a great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dream for an Insomniac, 15 July 2004
As the Amazon reviews says, this is not the best film in the worldI in fact some of it is downright atrocious, but its atrocity makes it brilliant. One of those films where it can be cringingly bad one moment and then really good the next. And also one of those films where its atrocity takes it into 'so bad it's good' territory.
This film is one of the few I can stand Jennifer Aniston in, I don't even like her in Friends. So watch it with a big hot drink, a duvet and some of your best friends. It might be trying too hard to be both arty [but after you've seen it you will understand why no one can resist the fade into colour] and hip [I am sick of coffee shop movies] but you'll get some entertainment out of it at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Just a dream?, 21 Sep 2003
I must admit that I enjoyed this movie, it has an artistic sort of feel to it, however, it is quite feasable to be totally lost in the point of it all. It pretty much takes place around an italian orientated coffee house (not unusual for Jennifer Aniston, as we all know) and charts a love story of not so epic proportions. It's a good film to watch if your interested in films, but other than for a night in for the girls, it's not really the most thrilling or interesting of romances in cinema - Leighton X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars .... ou Une insomniaque de rêve !, 27 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Le plaisir de retrouver Ione Skye qui avait - à juste titre ! - fait craquer Dexter Flechter (La Rédac / Press Gang) dans Le dossier Rachel (The Rachel Papers, 1989)... Avec Jennifer Aniston entre deux saisons de "Friends" en Guest Star...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Film but Showing Age..., 30 April 2011
This review is from: Dream For An Insomniac [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
The film its self is very good and so is the acting but is getting very old. The film may be only 15/16 years old but its filmed in a way like a 1960's film. For the opening 10-12 minutes the film is filmed in black and white which i fownd pointless but if its acting and the storyline you care about then the film is good!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an girly film that finds the true essance of romance, 30 Sep 2000
i love this film .it follows the story of a girl who is trying to find "mad passionate extraordinary love"the film is set mostly in a cafe with frankie(ione skye)trying to find the one .she will not settle for anything else.frankie suffers from insomnia something she is sure will go when she has found him.the plot thickens however when the man she does find has already found someone else.how can she win his heart well watch this film and find out.a different type of romance,this film will certainly question your own romantic feelings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars romantic comedy any chick will wanna see., 30 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This film is one of the few modern, romantic comedies that actually has something worth watching. It's romantically idealistic, but not corny. Anyone who has strong views on love will adore this film. With it's brilliant message "anything other than mad, passionate love is a waste of you time." and "there are too many mediocre things in life and love shouldn't be one of them." If you agree with those two statements, you gotta see this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I spent the whole film..., 8 Sep 2003
...waiting for something to happen. But nothing did. I didn't feel like there was any connection between Frankie and David and didn't care whether they got together or not. There was little characterisation and much more could have been used of the supporting cast.
Not a film I'd recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dream For An Insomniac [1997]  [DVD]
Dream For An Insomniac [1997] [DVD] by Tiffanie Debartolo (DVD - 2004)
£4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews