Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars218
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 July 2014
Bought for partner, he's happy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
that's very good , thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
GREAT DVD HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
Works fine , arrived on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2010
"A Ronin is a wandering Samurai who has No Master and sells his skills to the highest bidder", so Michael Lonsdale(The Day of the Jackal) explains to Robert De Niro when he has stated he doesn't know what the word stood for.This is when De Niro is recovering from being "operated" on by Lonsdale and having had a bullet removed when Jean Reno has brought him to the retired-spymaster.
De Niro,Reno,Stellan Skarsgaard and others form a team hired by Natasha McElhone to recover a small case and bring it to her for a lot of cash. She is the go-between for a ruthless Irish Terrorist played by Jonathon Pryce in this story of spies, double-crossing, traitors and selling-out to everyone and anyone, where NO-ONE can seemingly be trusted especially those on your own side?!
This film, directed by the great John Frankenheimmer (French Connection 2)features some of the best car chases EVER LIKELY TO BE SEEN ON FILM and were undoubtedly a pre-cursor for The Bourne Trilogy some years after.
55 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2005
Although this movie was a little slow to get going, and slightly confusing, it really began to come into its own once the shooting started!
Centering on a group of mercenaries' atempts to capture a mysterious box (with contents unknown) the story took us acros France with more twists and turns than a donkey's hind leg.
The action cleverly built on our own curiosity surrounding the box's contents, willing us as an audience to know the contents and keping us in suspense.
Plot and dialogue were both excellent although one had to suspend disbelief with some of the gung-ho shooting scenes, and the somewhat tardy response of the local police forces....
An excellent, intriguing film, the central characters all excellently portrayed, although I found the actress playing the central female role very wooden at times.
Well worth a viewing, though probably not a film you could watch more than once.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2011
I am a great fan of Ronin, I have seen t a fee times but never owned the DVD and the version with the 5.1 soundtrack appealed to me. The Director used genuine vehicle noises in the production, i.e. the Audi sound is from the right Audi It is a tale of love, hate, Violence and most of all honour. But by now I sure most of you knew that.

This seller has the disc much cheaper than anyone else, it was new and sealed and the communications with the seller were first class. Prompt and polite replies along with the reassurance that they will go out of their way to resolve problems take the gamble out of buying from a non Amazon seller. I have lad less favourable experiences in the past but this seller has restored my faith.

I am finishing wringing this then sitting down with a to cups and going to enjoy the movie in glorious sound.

Thanks Windmill DVD's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
Great film. Well worth it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2000
One of the best films I have seen for some time. Full of suspense and with the best car chase scenes I have ever seen in any film. BUT - the editing of these scenes leave a lot to be desired. If you are very sad and watch the BMW/Peugeot chase through Paris very closely, especially when they are going opposite the traffic, you will see that they pass the same cars twice or sometimes three times (note the white Ford Mondeo). The Citroen/Audi chase - they use two Citroens (the badge on the front of the car moves from the centre to the side) and on both chases, the cars sustain damage which is then mysteriously repaired (the door mirror on the Peugeot). Other than these sad observations, an amazing film with excellent acting. Highly recommemded!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Whenever I have seen this film broadcast on the TV it has always been shown in the 4.3 aspect ratio and I wanted to see this great action film in 16.9 widescreen. The DVD offers 16.9 and creates a much better experience on a modern TV. The DVD has special features including an alternative ending, the original theatre trailer, a documentary all about the making of the feature film showing excellent shots of some of the car chases and how they were done plus a commentary by the director John Frankenheimer running on the soundtrack which can be switched on and off of course. A great film with terrific acting all wrapped in fabulous locations in France. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.87

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)