Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Keys - Rubbery it aint
Carrying on from 'Thickfreakness' and the much underated 'Big Come Up', the Black keys put out another platter of diesel-smelling dirty groundwater blues rock.
The harsh production lends an air of authenticity missing in so many of today's over-produced airbrushed bands. But leaving the album aside -which is great- you really should grab the chance to see them live...
Published on 7 Nov 2004 by A. S. Thomas

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Good Stuff
I love The Black Keys, Thickfreakness was amazing, however, in all fairness this album is not as good.
Its worthy of buying as certain tracks are fantastic but as a whole it doesn't blow you away.
The band have definitely developed since the last album. In fact, The Lengths is one of the best songs on the album. A really mellow, pedal steel backed tune. On the...
Published on 22 Oct 2004 by P. Sharpe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Keys - Rubbery it aint, 7 Nov 2004
By 
A. S. Thomas "observation point" (Port Talbot, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rubber Factory (Audio CD)
Carrying on from 'Thickfreakness' and the much underated 'Big Come Up', the Black keys put out another platter of diesel-smelling dirty groundwater blues rock.
The harsh production lends an air of authenticity missing in so many of today's over-produced airbrushed bands. But leaving the album aside -which is great- you really should grab the chance to see them live. A truly awesome experience. Catch them while they're still doing smaller venues. The Black Keys will rise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Good Stuff, 22 Oct 2004
By 
P. Sharpe - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubber Factory (Audio CD)
I love The Black Keys, Thickfreakness was amazing, however, in all fairness this album is not as good.
Its worthy of buying as certain tracks are fantastic but as a whole it doesn't blow you away.
The band have definitely developed since the last album. In fact, The Lengths is one of the best songs on the album. A really mellow, pedal steel backed tune. On the mellow theme Act Nice and Gentle is also memorable, a cover version, that doesn't sound unlike Mungo Jerry's - In the Summertime, but nevertheless puts a smile on your face.
10 AM Automatic & Til I Get my Way follow Thickfreaknesses blend of catchy blues rock, condensed to a palatable 3mins or so.
If your a fan buy it. If not try Thickfreakness, the first half of that album is Stunning and rest is pretty good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give it 3 listens, then a million more, 17 Oct 2004
This review is from: Rubber Factory (Audio CD)
This album takes about 2 or 3 listens to grow on you, but once you can understand The black keys you will not be able to stop listening.
This album seems to perfectly fuse their old contempory blues style with a some exciting new 'Hendrix'esque guitar decoration. My favourite tracks have to be 4, 6 and 13, but the whole album is brilliant listened to as a whole.
The only complaint i have about this album is that it hasn't got any tracks that are quite as brilliant as "have love will travel" from their previous album "Thickfreakness".
Buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn it., 3 April 2008
By 
Mr. Rh Megson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rubber Factory (Audio CD)
This is easily the best album they have done, i've owned it for a while and not written a review but upon seeing all the other reviews i felt it had to be said. THE ONLY SIMILARITY WITH THE THE WHITES STRIPES IS THAT THEY'RE A TWO PIECE BAND. They sound entirely different and for a start, Pat can drum and meg can't. However there is a feel of hendrix and definately cream/clapton about theyre songs; this the best album out of the 6(including te EP, which is worth buying aswell)and everyone should buy it. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Key to the Blues, 8 Mar 2007
This review is from: Rubber Factory (Audio CD)
I've always been into The Gun Club and Jon Spencer Blues Explosion rather than The White Stripes. So I wasn't sure I was going to like this album. Mainly because, at first sight, they seemed to be another `colour-tagged' blues duo. Just a bunch of copyists I thought. Oh, how wrong can one be? This album is jam packed full of great tunes and gritty low-down blues. 1AM Automatic sounds like the best track the Exile era Rolling Stones never released. Whereas The Desperate Man and Stack Shot Billy ooze real blues menace and wouldn't be out of place on a Howlin' Wolf album. But how do these guys do it when so many others get it so wrong? Partly it's down to unquantifiable judgements like `feel' and `intensity' and all those other words that critics throw around in an attempt to describe the indescribable. It's also down to great tunes and playability and all the reasons one needs to play it for the tenth time in one twenty four hour period strung out on the English equivalent of moonshine, work engendered dislocation and too much damp weather. If you really think the Blues are dead, I suggest you buy the Rubber Factory and bounce them back to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars modern blues, 9 April 2005
This review is from: Rubber Factory (Audio CD)
this must be one of the best modern blues cd ive heard for a long time .a good mix of indie rock with that outstanding blues slid guitar work.man can he play .good old down and dirty blues ,just one or poss two week tracks but thats my view,of to buy back catalouge releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another corking album, 29 April 2005
This review is from: Rubber Factory (Audio CD)
Being a huge fan of their previous offering, "thickfreakness", I'm delighted to report that The Black Keys keep up their stirling work with this follow up. Great guitar work dominates the album, reminding me of Jimi Hendrix once again - they really are that good. Strains of the promise the Lenny Kravitz keeps offering (but failing to deliver on in this reviewer's opinion) can also be found peppering the album. Vocals are appropriately gritty and seem to come out effortlessly.
This is rock at its best - and they're only 3 albums in. Great stuff. Don't hesitate to buy this album ASAP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 14 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Rubber Factory (Audio CD)
The song 'Keep me' is worth the money alone.. one of the best blues rock songs iv ever heard, listen to that and youl know if you like the black keys... enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rubber factory, rubber soul!, 11 Sep 2004
This review is from: Rubber Factory (Audio CD)
The first few songs are like a sucker punch. To the uninitiated it is like a slap asking, 'Why have you not listened to this band before?' Rubber Factory has all the signs of an album for mainstream acceptance...but i don't think they will get it. The music on this album is too raw, too primeval and too fantastic to be played on the radio. Buy this album and you won't ever regret it, the Black keys have this ability to get to the very essence of rock and the blues and twang at strings in you that you never had. Dan's hanuting guitar and Patrick's nous both behind the drums and as a producers has created another album that should, in years to come, be seen as a great rock album. If you liked the big come up, thick freakness...in fact any great guitar based music...you will love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubber Factory (Audio CD)
Another great album from the Black keys, the more I listen to the back catalogue the more I think they are one of the best bands around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rubber Factory
Rubber Factory by The Black Keys (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews