Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most approachable Rush album
I think I'd be what's termed an occassional Rush fan. I've made an attempt with quite a few of their albums and have to say this is easily the most catchy and approachable - would I upset true Rush fans by terming it pop rock ? , I hope not. Most of their offerings in my opinion take quite a few listens to get into - they're all 'growers' though. RTB however had me hooked...
Published on 2 Jun 2007 by Andre

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars so so rush
not a brilliant rush album but some alright tracks. heresy and neurotica are the standouts for me. roll the bones aint bad either.
Published 15 months ago by matt davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most approachable Rush album, 2 Jun 2007
By 
Andre (TURRIFF, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roll The Bones (Audio CD)
I think I'd be what's termed an occassional Rush fan. I've made an attempt with quite a few of their albums and have to say this is easily the most catchy and approachable - would I upset true Rush fans by terming it pop rock ? , I hope not. Most of their offerings in my opinion take quite a few listens to get into - they're all 'growers' though. RTB however had me hooked from the very first time I listened to it. The title track and 'Where's My Thing' (an instrumental) to me are the stand out tracks - the remaining tracks are however far far away from being filler - I'm being honest when I say there isn't a duffer on the album. If you're new to Rush, I'd start here. Their latest offering of 'Snakes And Arrows' prove Rush are still an amazing band but to me this has to be their finest hour - I'd put this in my top twenty albums of all time without a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best 90`s Rush album, 7 Jan 2005
By 
U Dick "heavy-duty" (Stevenston, Ayrshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Roll The Bones (Audio CD)
"Roll the bones" is one of the albums from Rush`s wilderness years in the early 90`s. Having done art rock in the 70`s, and experimented with heavily synthed techno rock in the 80`s, Rush were at a crossroads, searching for a solid new direction. This album doesn`t really provide it, being very similar in sound and style to 1989`s "Presto". However, the excellent songs make it all worthwhile. There is also a loose gambling concept running through the lyrics, although the band deny any deliberate theme.
The album starts with three bona fide Rush classics: the driving "Dreamline", the atmospheric "Bravado" and the controversial "Roll the bones", complete with a cod rap section which you`ll either love or hate. Also of note is "Where`s my thing?", one of their best instrumentals ever, and the upbeat closer "You bet your life" with it`s multi tracked vocal chorus. There`s nothing bad on this CD, even though "Face up" and "Neurotica" aren`t as memorable as some of the other tracks.
This a great improvement on the disappointing "Presto" and has stronger songs than 93`s "Counterparts" and 96`s "Test for echo". The sound is a bit dated compared to today`s standards, as it was the era of big echoey drums and keyboards. This is Rush`s strongest album until 2002`s "Vapor trails".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rolling bones, 18 April 2012
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ROLL THE BONES (Audio CD)
This sees Rush heading further away from the synths that has all but taken over the sound of their music through the entire decade previous. It is both a good and a bad thing as it was in a large part due to the synths that Power Windows and Grace Under Pressure attained their epic qualities and some of the tracks here do revert back to their 70s hard rock material which in my opinion was lacking in places. What hasn't been lost is their ability to pen a tune that'll stick to your ear drums forever and despite how many synths or how many guitars are in the mix it is fundamentally this that makes Rush such a great band and makes Roll the Bones a great record - although it is by far not their best.

'Dreamline' has a running riff, like a fanfare of trumpets and a driving core that makes it impossible not to like. A greatb start. 'Bravado' is more stripped down and is Rush at their tenderest which is always a good thing. Painfully melodic and pure. Then the title track comes in all brash and angular and funky, with a mid-section rap (gadzooks!) but also with one of the most stripped down, beautiful and insightful choruses ever penned. In all aspects it is excellent. 'Face Up' is where we see the rock n rollin' Rush appear once again. It is a good tune but in my opinion lacks a spark. 'Where's My Thing' is an instrumental and I usually have issues with most instrumentals from bands that are usually lyrical. It is ok and it did win an award (for some reason) and I'm sure it's all very technical and amazingly played but it just didn't excite me I'm afraid.

Strangely for the synth-less route they were embarking upon, 'The Big Wheel' with its addictively catchy and extremely synth-laden chorus, not so much came as a surprise but was a pleasant change from the rest of the album. Along with the title track it is by far the best thing on here. 'Heresy' left me a little cold as it seemed to go on too long for the tune. It is good but not particularly interesting or moving (obviously my personal opinion - I'm sure others may disagree). 'Ghost of a Chance' has a great riff that the song revolves around but that is it. Good but not great. 'Neurotica' is a fun little track that sounds like an 80s pop tune done by a stadium rock band. And 'You Bet Your Life' finishes the album on another fun, catchy high note. Essentially a song cut in half with a sublime refrain for the second half.

Another great album but not a classic. On every Rush album there are always a few songs that are pure genius. And a lot more that are very catchy that many bands would kill to be able to write. This is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, for the most part, 9 Mar 2005
By 
gingerguru "gingerguru" (Billericay, Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Roll The Bones (Audio CD)
I bought the remastered version of this album recently, having previously owned it on tape. Obviously, it sounds alot better on CD but I'm not sure the remastering has really added anything - Rush albums are very well produced to begin with, except perhaps,Permanent Waves which doesn't sound great even on CD.
Anyway, this album gets 5 Stars simply because it is music written and played by Rush who are one of the most talented and original bands in rock and who are yet to put out a single bad album in 30 years. Some of you might be shouting " What about Test For Echo?" but even that album which is admittedly weak compared to Rush's best, contains a handful of very strong songs.
One of my favourites on Roll The Bones is the title track which has a great verse riff in between Geddy's vocal lines with excellent interplay between all the instruments. The chorus is also very strong and Lifeson gives us another of his fairly short but very tasteful guitar solos, perfectly in keeping with the song.
Other highlights are Bravado with Lifeson to the fore again with a soaring solo, Heresy, relatively simple for Rush but very sincere and Ghost Of a Chance which has a very nifty guitar riff in the verse with a fantastic transition from a pacey verse to a slower dreamy chorus.
As usual, a special mention for Neil Peart whose drumming on this cements his position as the greatest, most inventive and enjoyable drummer to listen to in rock - never over the top in my book, despite what some might say. In each song, his general beats and fills gradually build in speed and complexity resulting in some great moments where he gracefully pans across the entire soundstage.
In all in, a worthy addition to any serious music fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phase 4 - the return of the guitar, 27 Sep 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Roll the Bones (Audio CD)
After several perfect if cold,emotionless and lacking the human touch discs,this was a dramatic and truth be told unexpected return to form.From the outset on opening track 'Dreamline' Alex's guitar is back in the fold and upfront in the mix again,a fantastic opener.Combine that with the dramatics of 'Bravado' & 'Big Wheel',the humour of the rap section in the title track,the simply wonderful instrumental 'Where's My Thing?',the cool,casual,laidback class of 'Ghost Of A Chance',then this is a superb disc,indeed every track was a winner.

For the first time in a decade,Rush had made a disc that i truly loved,a direct connection to the class of MOVING PICTURES/SIGNALS,bitter dispointments of the late 80's and especially the two previous discs forgotten,a new era had started Alex's was back!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of their later albums, 6 April 2010
This review is from: Roll The Bones (Audio CD)
This is one of their better later albums with most of the tracks being good with a few excerptions Dreamline and Face up which are very good. I have noticed that a lot of their earlier albums are now being remastered which I find it hard to think how they could make any of their albums better as they were always very well produced in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...Fate is just the way of circumstances...", 31 Aug 2003
This review is from: ROLL THE BONES (Audio CD)
"Roll the bones" is a good Rush album.This is not very good,it is not a masterpiece or a classic album, but still it contains good music...I really was a bit afraid of it, as i heard some bad reviews and i saw the video of "Roll the bones" which was too popy and simply too funny to be a rush video....
But as i bought this album i wan't dissapointed with the songs...While, let's say, "MOVING PICTURES" were a spaceship, launching into rock pantheon galaxy,filled with wonderfull classic songs then "ROLL THE BONES" is a concorde plane, smooth, smaller, ultra fast and nice looking...But too small for flying into space...The bad think is that the production is poor - There is almost no Bass, guitars are light and drums are sounding too polished...
1) "DREAMLINE" - a great opening tune,fast rocker with great chorus.A classic Rush song about Young people who want to escape from the biter reality - "...she's a list of cheap motels,all along the highway...He's got a sister in vegas,promise of a decent job...".Nice guitar riff.Just a solid rock song...5/5
2) "BRAVADO" - A beautifull ballad, propably the best song from album...very moving lyrics and charming guitar solo...
"...We will pay the price, but we will not count the costs..."
5/5
3) "ROLL THE BONES" - Funky rock song about Fate and World's way,extremly cool bass line and Ultra-catchy chorus are making it another great song...Kind of a joke is a Rap Section after guitar solo which is funny...really amusing idea.all song is great and it is one of the tracks that you can't stop singing......5/5
4) "FACE UP" - short very fast rock song about fears and people's psychic.very good guitar works, good song but nothing really special 4/5
5) "WHERE'S MY THING (PART IV OF GANGSTER OF BOATS TRILOGY)" - the title is a joke...It is instrumental song with nice bass/guitar/drums playing,it has got a bit jazzy groove in some moments...very nice suprise on this album... 4/5
6) "THE BIG WHEELS" - this one is about childhood and slowly becoming more older...very good song with unforgettable lyrics and Cool guitar riff in verses.it's aongst my favourites from here 5/5
7) "HERESY" - a slower song starting with military drums sequence.It is about changes in europe after eighties,the collapse of Berlin wall,end of communism...it is not some really catchy or brilliant song, but it is still good and worth of listening 3,5/4
8) "GHOST OF A CHANCE" - Much more delicate song with great riff...chorus contrasts with slow and delicate verses...almost a love song...interesting track... 4/5
9) "NEUROTICA" - Fantastic Typical Rush song with groovy bass line and Marvelous Chorus that will not leave your head for long long time.Gives back the power to this album after a bit boring "Heresy" and gentler "Ghost of a chance"..this is another song aobut mind troubles and a man lost in his imagination... "it's just psychotica, neurotica..." what can i say more,awesome solo...Phenomenal song, turn it up loud!!! 5/5
10) "YOU BET YOUR LIFE" - Nice song,not so impressive as "Bravado" or "Neurotica" but a positive one for an ending...without complicated riffs or special effects,simple pop-rock song with interesting lyrics about new trends and styles...(The band would loose over 50% of it's power without Neill Peart's fantasy...). Repeated phrases are nice bonus here... 4/5
In the end - this is definitly not Rush classic album (has definitly too bright sound which ruins it in some moments - if the production would be as on earlier Rush albums, i would give 5 stars to it...) but contains great songs...if you are even not fammiliar to rush i am sure you will like this,and i think this could be even in my private Rush top ten....Well, a good solid Rush album!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every track is simply a stunner, 16 Oct 2010
By 
Lucioperca (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Roll The Bones (Audio CD)
If you had ever told me that Rush would release a track where Neil Peart does a mini rap in the middle of a track .... I would have laughed you out of town. But, as bizarre as it sounds, he does .... and somehow it works for the title track Roll The Bones. This is a storming album ... every single track is incredibley well written, played and produced. Of the modern era Rush, its up there with Power WIndows and Signals as benchmark albums. Its that good.

This album makes Rush so accessible to the newcomer because it has a great range of songs and tempo, Geddy seems to be getting more and more rounded in his vocals and the band seems to be more of a tightly knitted blend than ever before. Superb stuff from the Canadian trio ... its hard to pick the best from 10 great songs but of pushed I would choose (in no particular order) Dreamline, Ghost Of A Chance, Heresy, Roll The Bones, Neurotica and Bravado. The latter two being my personal favourites from the album.

Currently on Amazon for under £5 with free p&p ....... there is no excuse .... buy it and never regret getting into one of the most prolific bands of the past 30 years.

update: as you will read from the message stream below I stand corrected, the rap was infact done by Geddy and not Neil ...... Until now I had always presumed it was Neil Peart due to the near identical sound of his voice-over at the start of The Necromancer (from Caress of Steel) .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something special on here - take note!, 2 Oct 2010
This review is from: Roll The Bones (Audio CD)
Even though the rap inspired interlude in the title song will have most Rush fans recoiling in horror and disbelief, the track itself is both melodic and catchy and it is almost certain that it will reverberate around your head for sometime after. That is not bad or annoying because everything that Rush has produced is of immense quality.
Despite it being unfashionable to be modest, unassuming, talented and Canadian, this trio (yes, that is only 3 musicians producing that output) has a substantial, fanatical and loyal group of fans across the globe. Most, if not all of this club will have already eagerly grabbed "Roll The Bones" when it first hit the shelves in 1991 but if you are a fellow Rush fan, and this album has somehow managed to escape you, then here is a statement of huge significance which will make you want to get hold of a copy as soon as humanly possible. In my very humble opinion, the instrumental track "Where's My Thing?" surpasses "YYZ" and is easily on a par with "La Villa Strangiato" and the 2112 Overture.
The remainder of the album is good solid Rush fair which will not disappoint and contains the usual top notch production and arrangements, insightful lyrics and the highest standard of musicianship. Geddy Lee is an unbelievable bass player although his vocal style can be an acquired taste, Alex Lifeson on lead guitars is a monumental talent but so under-rated and Neil Peart just has to be the best drummer on the planet.
If Rush has escaped you so far, but you are ready to take the step which will change your musical appreciation forever, I would suggest that you start your journey with the albums "Moving Pictures", followed by "Permanent Waves", "A Farewell to Kings", "2112" and "Hemispheres" before venturing onto "Roll The Bones". Try a live album such as "Exit .. Stage Left" or the most recent "Snakes & Arrows Live" en route, to hear why a Rush concert is an almost spiritual experience as well as being a great musical occasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rolling along just fine...,, 22 May 2014
This review is from: Roll The Bones (Audio CD)
Roll the bones came out in 1991 and probably represents they're most accessible and glossy effort. That's not to say that what's here isn't any good. There is a strong undercurrent of commerialisation, but the Rush sound is in tact and the production absolutely flawless. Geddy lee is on fine form and the sound of Alex Lifesons guitar is pushed right to the forefront. In hindsight, this was probably the album that closed the door on the 1980's keyboard saturated sound; and, like the predessessor "Presto" the guitar prominence is increased:- leaving a nice balance of guitar and synths in equal measure.

The songs are nearly all top draw as you would expect. But it's probably the ballad's that steal the show for me on this one. "Bravado and Ghost of a chance" are heartfelt and moving pieces; while "Dreamline" is indeed the quintessential Rush opener, along with the rock pomp of "Face up & the big wheel". An incredible instrumental in the form of "Where's my thing?" is a nice appearance. Roll the bones T/T is a great song, but a slightly tarmished one becouse of a chanting line towards the end of the song which disrupts the quality and flow:- a slight mistake and error. Heresy is a surprisingly lackluster effort from Rush, and "You bet you're life" is a nice piece of pleasant AOR cake.

A couple of some unwise manouvers detract from an otherwise healthy and refreshing rock album. Clearly, it's probably not in the same league as the follow up album:- Counterparts, but it is likely on a par with Hold your fire and Presto.,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roll The Bones
Roll The Bones by Rush (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews