Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush at the top of their game!!!!!!
This received a tepid response from critics upon release but I can't think why, this is a brilliant return to form for this Canadian power trio. The guitars are right back upfront and the drumming throughout is of the highest quality. Geddy's bass pulses and throbs and his high-pitched vocals seem to set everything off perfectly. This is classic Rush.
The...
Published on 17 Mar 2004 by Proudmomofagayson

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Between Sun and Moon
Creeping ever further into the 90s, Rush's follow-up to the radio-friendly Roll the Bones was even more of a departure from the 80s-tinged synth sounds of their previous releases. However it is hardly the alternative nirvana that some make it out to be. As always with any Rush album there are some absolutely awe-inspiring songs and it is still essentially the Rush of...
Published on 18 April 2012 by ratmonkey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush at the top of their game!!!!!!, 17 Mar 2004
This review is from: Counterparts (Audio CD)
This received a tepid response from critics upon release but I can't think why, this is a brilliant return to form for this Canadian power trio. The guitars are right back upfront and the drumming throughout is of the highest quality. Geddy's bass pulses and throbs and his high-pitched vocals seem to set everything off perfectly. This is classic Rush.
The musicianship is quite simply stunning, Alex Lifeson's guitar seems to weave around and through Neil's percussion without ever saturating the proceedings. These guys are at the top of their game and they know it. There is not one duff track, "Animate" is as strident an opening track as anything they have done until now. "Stick It Out" is more of the same, a dark yet energised song that takes us to I feel the album's strongest track "Cut To The Chase" which has a gem of a solo from Alex, he has rarely sounded this assured.
"Nobody's Hero" features the orchestral sweeps of the late great Michael Kamen and touches on topics as diverse as homosexuality and rape. An extraordinary song that leaves an emotional impact and will surely be on your mind for the rest of the day. The next 4 tracks "Between The Sun & The Moon", "Alien Shore", "The Speed of Love" and "Double Agent" are dark statements of intent, infused with infectious driving rhythms and ingenious wordy lyrics.
Then we have the one instrumental piece of the album "Leave That Thing Alone" that sounds almost like the theme from Doctor Who in places. It gives the band the chance to open up and show us what they are all about. Geddy's bass is right up in the mix and shows us all what a stupendous player he is. Neil's drumming is breath-taking, never once does he play for the sake of playing, instead he lays down a nice groove and occasionally he introduces some trademark flourishes just so that we know it's The Professor behind the kit. Alex's playing is eloquent, emotive and tasteful as always. Why oh why doesn't Alex get the kudos reserved for players such as Satriani and Vai, this man is as good as they get.
Then we have the album's closers, "Cold Fire" and "Everyday Glory" which end the album on not so much a high but a more positive note than what has gone before. All in all, this is a remarkable album from some of the world's finest musicians and is indicative of what the Rush phenomenon is all about. It's just a shame that they followed it up with a rather tepid release in the form of "Test For Echo". Never mind, we always have this (from 1993) to whet our appetites and what a feast for the senses it is. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars where to start?, 20 Aug 2005
By 
mind over matter (a wilderness of mirrors) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Counterparts (Audio CD)
my top 3 from counterparts: animate, leave that thing alone and stick it out. three of my favourite tracks of all time and with good reason. they're the kind of thing that anyone with a brain can get into but without being tame. animate, which deals with the relationships between men and women, may sound dodgy at first but we have to realise this song is in praise of women, a description of everything a woman is to a man. musically it is impossible to resist. leave that thing alone blows me away every time i hear it. it's emotionally stimulating and i for one get goosebumps when i hear it. on stick it out we hear the heavy side of rush. any young person will learn from these lyrics and i am no exception.
all in all a thumping good album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 27 Aug 2002
This review is from: Counterparts (Audio CD)
Rush are always pacey and compelling, but in 'Counterparts' they encompass an impressive range of moods and feelings, with relatively little variation in style.
'Nobody's Hero' plays like a blues track, despite its triumphal style, 'Alien Shore' is typical of Rush's non-cenceptual work, but 'Everyday Glory' sends shivers down my spine every time I hear it.
It's upbeat, it's good, and it's Rush. What more do you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I just like it, 5 Oct 2012
By 
C. Oldham "chris" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Counterparts (Audio CD)
I'm not sufficiently musically literate to be able to tell anyone cogently why this is a good / brilliant album. I admit that. I just like it. It seems a very energetic, complex and thoughtful work. I think it's very creative, imaginative and mature - the songs stay with me. I hope others agree. I do love Rush and always have since the 1970's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cut to the chase,this is the best album since Moving Pictures., 27 Sep 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Counterparts (Audio CD)
From the moment the drum led intro to opening track 'Animate' rattles your speakers,its obvious that Rush are back on form,following on from the prev disc(Roll The Bones).

Riff-tastic tracks such as 'Alien Shore','Between The Sun And Moon','Cold Fire','Cut To The Chase' and 'Stick It Out' harken back to earlier days and are a joy to behold.

While tracks such as 'Speed Of Love' and 'Everyday Glory' could easily have sat on any of the late 80's discs(and would have been the highlight)

Special mentions to the albums two best tracks 'Nobody's Hero' and 'Leave That Thing Alone',the former a superb taut ,emotional acoustic piece ,the latter another stunning(do they do them any other way?)instrumental.

Leaving only the dark 'Double Agent' as one that doesnt quite live up to the rest of the disc.

Easily the best Rush disc in years,indeed one of the best in their entire career
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Count ON Rush To Deliver Again, 16 Nov 2010
By 
B. Swales "BRINDLE11" (DURHAM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Counterparts (Audio CD)
I think Counterparts is the best ,most underated album Rush ever made with its crystal clear production and a powerful guitar performance from Alex Lifeson which heralded a return to days of old before keyboards dominated the sound. Geddys voice like the rest of the band get better with age !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rocking it good.,, 20 July 2014
This review is from: Counterparts (Audio CD)
Counterparts is one of my favourite Rush albums. A fledging return of hard rock with a light sprinkling of synthesizer, in-combination with an always focused sophistication in the standard of songwriting; it is a winnng recipe and evidently so. With the band all fully on top form, and the re-installation of the stellar axemanship of Alex lifeson back to the forefront, it sets the scene for a rock album of quality not seen since Moving Pictures.

Kicking off with the six minute opener of "Animate", (a compelling and highly competant opener), is a memorable tune and the song gives way to the h, rock quality of "Stick it out"; the beauty of "Cut to the chase"/"Nobody's Hero", a return to rock with "Between sun and moon", a synth throwback with "Alien shore"/"The speed of love, an uplifting and superb instrumental in the form of "Leave that thing alone" and another rocker to go, (Cold fire), before the conclusion with the very memorable and excellent... "Everyday Glory".

The weakest song is "Double Agent" which does sound a-little disjointed, but is one that is ultimately far outshined by the other:- simply trumendous entities. 'Counterparts', is a modern classic and one of the best rock albums from the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super quality SACD recording, 9 May 2013
By 
JohnW "JohnW" (Nr Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire. UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Counterparts (Audio CD)
Any fan who really wants to hear the music performance needs to hear this release.
Simply superb - and you can play it on your Blu-ray player!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leave that Thing alone, 29 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Counterparts (Audio CD)
this album has the most awesome instrumental in it with the most wickedest bassline ever. It is also the epitome of the straight out rock type stuff they had been leaning towards since Presto, Making it a somewhat basic album However its got some real killer songs on it like nobodies Hero, even though in this day and age the lyrics are a bit cliched and cheesey at the time they wasn't. Animate is one of their best songs from this era its just fantastic. this album is really the most awesome album of this period before the next album and what i feel is another changing period
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush to the head!, 16 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: Counterparts (Audio CD)
An album that reprsents a phenomenal comeback the powerhouse canadian rockers doing what they do best and excite with sensational sounds which are easy to associate with personal experiences - what music is essentially about? Anyway I love this album so bollox to anyone who critisices negatively LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Counterparts
Counterparts by Rush (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews