Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality
This film is superb. It has a decent plot and the acting is first rate. It has some well-known stars like Liv Tyler, but the real stars are the ones who are still relatively unknown. Anthony LaPaglia (who has a new seris on Channel 4) is a star as the manager of an independent music store in the US called Empire Records. Rory Cochrane, Johnny Whitworth, and Ethan Embry...
Published on 19 Jan 2004 by Ash

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute garbage.
After watching One Night at McCools I could only bear watching about ten minutes of this trash. On a scale of 1 to 5 I rate this 1, afterall it came in a good box.
Published 10 months ago by Gerry Daly


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 19 Jan 2004
By 
Ash - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This film is superb. It has a decent plot and the acting is first rate. It has some well-known stars like Liv Tyler, but the real stars are the ones who are still relatively unknown. Anthony LaPaglia (who has a new seris on Channel 4) is a star as the manager of an independent music store in the US called Empire Records. Rory Cochrane, Johnny Whitworth, and Ethan Embry easily steal the show as the quirky employees and are supported by the larger names like Liv Tyler, Renee Zellweger and Robin Tunney.
The film revolves around the lives of the employees of Empire records as they fight and argue throughout the film. It is difficult to give any indepth plot descriptions because it mainly invovles one action and the consequences to it. I will therefore just say that it is a somewhat esoteric comedy which can be viewed lighthearedly or with intense scrutiny.
This is the type of film ou can watch repeatedly without getting bored, I should know I watch it every few months.
I can't understand why it isn't in a decent format and only in region 1 but if you can play region 1 dvds then buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want to work there!!!, 22 May 2010
This review is from: Empire Records [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Only in a movie could there be such a cool place to work, where the boss plays drums in the back room and actually cares about his employees. The cast including Liv Tyler Rene Zellweger and Robin Tunney play an interesting and eclectic group who work at empire records. The movie follows a more than average day at the store when an aging popstar( think shakin' stevens) is booked for a record signing. Add to this the store is set to be sold off to a music conglomerate, and one of the employees borrowed the money in the managers safe and goes to a casino to gain enough cash to buy the store, thus saving it. All plot lines are tied together by the end when Joe the manager stands up for his employees and his store against the owner. Liv Tyler, rene Zellweger, and Robin Tunney stand out among the young cast.
Alright it's no breakfast club, it doesn't explore the tension and emotions of teenage life but it's all good fun!
One of the best 90's teen movies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if u love the film do not watch the dvd!!!!!, 17 Aug 2004
By 
steph (Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
i absolutely love this film, it is without a doubt my favourite film in the whole world. the soundtrack is fantastic, the casting is perfect (mark, lucas, eddie, aj... need i say more), and the script is absolutely brilliant and so quotable... it will never leave u short of messenger names. however this dvd has packed extra scenes, not only in the extras, but within the film itself and has re-ordered some of the scenes in the film. so if u havent seen the film get the video, if u have and u love it... DO NOT WATCH THE DVD..... it will ruin the film for u forever!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostaglia, 13 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire Records [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Great film, just as good as when it was released. The music is great but if anyone can work out the moral to the story 10 points to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I do not regret the things I've done, but those I did not do., 30 April 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire Records [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Empire Records is directed by Allan Moyle and written by Carol Heikkinen. It stars, Anthony LaPaglia, Maxwell Caulfield, Debi Mazar, Johnny Whitworth, Liv Tyler, Renée Zellweger, Rory Cochrane, Robin Tunney & Ethan Embry. Plot centre's on one day at independent record store Empire Records. With the store under imminent threat of a take over by a corporate chain, this is no ordinary day. For on the day that the store will be visited by a fading pop star, they are forced to confront their personal issues, and maybe, just maybe, learn something about the people they work with.

The film was a box office failure and was met with mostly negative reviews from the professional critics. Coming as it does from the director of critical/cult darling Pump Up the Volume, many were expecting a better and more hard edged picture than what they got. It also had to compete with certain 80's favourites brought to the cinematic world by John Hughes. While coming fast on the heels of the immensely popular Clerks (94) didn't help its cause either. Was it a case of bad timing? Is the film really just poor? And or, as mooted at the time: a career killer for those involved? Personally I think it's a film that needs revisiting now some 15 odd years after its release. In fact time has actually been kind to it and it now appears to have a good solid cult following. So unless you are judging it against the superior, record shop set, High Fidelity, you may find it's a film that's hard to dislike.

Some of the complaints against it are fair, with the main one about it not having fully developed characters being as true as day is a day. While calling it one long stitched together music video has some substance when taking it at face value. Yet what is there is worthy of a second glance, they are interesting characters, and their respective hang-ups and pressures are evident enough for us to hang our hats on; even if it's set up to be accompanied by still more hipster indie rock music. There's also been much guff written about the film as regards calling it a teen angst film. Yes it is, but have these reviewers forgotten about the adults in the movie? LaPaglia's store owner, the father figure, trying to remain cool as his charges come under threat. Or Mazar, needing a wake up call from her job/career ignorance; and the big one, the delightful Caulfield (splendid bit of casting) as fading pop singer Rex Manning, imposter? Indeed. It's all relative as to why Empire Records deserves more than a once only viewing. As for the music, it does indeed rock, with each track carefully selected to be at one with the scene it accompanies. My favourite? AC/DC-If You Want Blood, a ball busting track for a vibrant and kicking scene.

As for it being a career killing movie? The ladies of the piece have done rather well for themselves, Zellweger, Tunney and Tyler have made their marks in the industry, while Mazar has never been without work prior or post Empire Records. The guys haven't hit the heights of Zellweger and Tyler, which in the case of the excellent Rory Cochrane is not only a surprise, but also sad. Cochrane's Lucas is the key character and the glue in the middle of it all, always on hand with a dry quip or some philosophy, he's also supremely cool. Cochrane can be seen in serious mode leading 2006 thriller Right at Your Door. LaPaglia has always worked since 95, playing a number of different supporting characters, and Embry has appeared in big release's such as Vacancy and Eagle Eye. Caulfield has turned into the go to guy for TV shows and Whitworth, who quit acting for a while, pops up from time to time in minor roles such as in 3:10 To Yuma and The Rainmaker. So, not a career killer then.

Stick it to the Man, Baby, Empire Records is a vibrant and funny movie. 7.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great feel-good film for watching with friends, 11 July 2004
This film shows a day in the life of an independant record store and the people who work there. The characters show a whole range of teenage stereotypes - the sensitive arty one, the metal head, the preppy student, the beatnik wannabe, the depressive, the tart with a heart... and so on. The fab thing about this film is that character traits that we all recognise have been exaggerated and analysed. This means that you instantly feel among friends.
It's the sort of film that its great to sit with friends and watch. It'll really get you reminiscing about the 1990's. Add to that the fantastic soundtrack which includes such gems as Throwing Muses snake (a scene stealer and one of the best moments in the film)and Evan Dando's the ballad of el goodo and you're guaranteed a film you'll watch over and over without being bored.
This is a must for anyone who has ever wanted to work in a music store or who spent their formative years on the indie scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire Records [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Fantastic film. Soundtrack is good too. It took me back to my teenage years. Order it. You'll not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I want to work at Empire too...!!, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire Records [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Really good film exploring the lives of what on the surface appears to be a groups of stereotypical teenagers working in a record shop however as the film progresses you get to see underneath the layers and the way in which the cast interact is great and very believable . Nostalgic and cool, love this feel good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent entertainment, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire Records [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Great movie, feel good factor to the max. But with a hidden underbelly of teen drama. One of my fave movies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cult classic!, 28 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire Records [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
One of my favourite movies as I was growing up! So many brilliant quotes & an amazing soundtrack to boot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Empire Records [DVD] [1995]
Empire Records [DVD] [1995] by Anthony LaPaglia (DVD - 2003)
£11.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews