Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ben finally silences the critics??, 30 Sep 2004
By 
Martin Slater "staggage.co.uk" (Driffield, East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: There Will Be A Light (Audio CD)
Ben Harper DOES gospel/blues. The result: all killers, no fillers!. Surely the critics must agree. Bens albums have been subject to some rather patchy reviews, some of which are probably worthy, however the relaxed nature of this album shines through. Ben's voice and playing suit the Blind Boys style perfectly, the result is a sheer pleasure. Bens recent albums ( aside from the MARS acoustic set ) have been a little hit and miss of late, this certainly makes up for it. At 8.99 on Amazon, it's a steel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blinding light, 12 Oct 2004
By 
T. ORR "torr1168" (Barnet, Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There Will Be A Light (Audio CD)
This album is truly inspirational on as many levels as you choose to open up to. This material springs from Gospel roots and remains grounded in Christian relgious musical heritage. Put off? Don't be: this is where R&B and Rock came from and these guys know it and feel it. This is quintessential Harper and Blind Boys. Tight music, lyrical expression, free spirit and immeasurable style. You'd have to be tone-deaf, too zealously atheistic or just plain dead not to like this album.
Can't comment on ENHANCED. I assume that's video footage, but I don't see evidence of it. Anyway, you watch music at gigs; everywhere else, music is for your ears, heart and soul, so listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic , Will be getting the live version aswell, 30 Jan 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There Will Be A Light (Audio CD)
This man is so talanted and versatile. and Blind Boys brilliant as usual.
What an uplifting collection of beautiful moving songs.
Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like lightning out of a clear sky, 13 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: There Will Be A Light (Audio CD)
This album is truly magnificent. The Gospel nature of this album will undoubtedly put off some cynics, but then they only have themselves to blame for missing out.
The Blind Boys of Alabama are an absolute institution, who have yet to be recognised by the British public. I saw them live last year at the Cambridge Folk Festival, and they were the stars of the whole weekend. Their voices, although some of them are shot, add incredible depth to the playing of BHIC.
The enhanced section I believe alludes to the extra live tracks, which is the version that I own. The price is worth it for the live tracks themselves. There are live versions of take my hand, there will be a light, and the awe insipiring i shall not walk alone. It really is worth the extra few pence for these gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There Will Be A Light (Audio CD)
I love this CD and it arrived promptly. Looking forward to playing it many times.
Good service was given as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 18 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There Will Be A Light (Audio CD)
Wow Ben Harper, Absolutely amazing why on earth is he not a megger star is beyond me, i was watching a film called daylight robbery when the sound track came on and i heard a song called diamonds on the inside and thought this is a pretty good track,so i bought the cd
diamonds on the inside (check it out )the whole album is amazing i then went on to buy a further eight cds of ben harper,one cd which i thought might not be as good as the others was the cd entitled (there will be
light by ben harper and the blind boys of alabama the cover look a bit gospel and the tracks titles all sounded a bit bible bashing but Hey give the cd a chance after all you can't tell a cd by its cover what it would sound like so i put it on in the car, absolutly amazing the harmonies and the man himself (ACE), My favorite artist at the moment, im so glad i watched that film please check this man out you won't be dissappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hidden crossover gem, 12 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. Martin Hardy "martinhardy2" (Darlington, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There Will Be a Light (Audio CD)
This is simply a beautiful album. The gospel songs and sounds of the amazing Blind Boys blended seamlessly with the blues guitar of Ben Harper.

I'm not sure what to add to that opening statement. If you think that Gospel music is for bible bashers then you couldn't be more wrong. First off there is a huge variety of sounds in here. The album opens with "Take My Hand", and this sets the tone for the rest of the disc a low drum beat and tinkling piano takes us into a blues/soul/gospel song with Ben Harper singing lead and the Blind Boys supplying sublime backing vocals. The second track "Wicked Man" is much more funky, think of early Jacksons perhaps? Further in, "11th Commandment" is a blues guitar instrumental. "Mother Pray" had tears in my eyes (and will similarly affect anyone who has lost their mother). Often albums can tail off towards the latter tracks, but not here, "There will be a light" is Van Morrison like and nothing wrong with that (I know Van was influenced by Gospel so we have a circular reference but it's the best I can think of). We finish with some slapped tambourines leading us into the upbeat "Church On Time" which will have you clapping and crying "Alleluia" with the best of them!

Perhaps not an album for the Blues nor the Gospel purist, I find this album uplifting and life affirming. Proof, if it were needed that the Devil has no monopoly on fine tunes and music.

Halleluia and click the "Buy Now!" button!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There Will Be A Light (Audio CD)
Was looking for this album for a while now, until I found it on amazon.
Perfect conditions. Would buy again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There Will Be A Light (Audio CD)
There is nothing suprising about this album - it really does what it says on the tin. Very gospelly with Ben Harper's bluesy magic. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb51df678)

This product

There Will Be A Light
There Will Be A Light by Ben Harper (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews