Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the reviews are right! But ... good value
Problems with this set: no cover, pieces don't fit tightly in in holes (so will jump out if you go over a bump), piece storage can't be used without all the pieces falling out (but you could use two clear freezer bags to hold taken pieces).

However: it's well made and the pieces are nicely differentiated (although the king and queen are pretty similar), and...
Published on 6 Mar. 2010 by Christopher Owens

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice board, shame about the queen & no cover
I think this travel chess set is somewhere in between the two reviewers opinions so far. It was a very nice looking board and most of the pieces are well enough made. The one i received had a white queen that looked chubby compared to the black queen looking anorexic (they were almost totally different looking pieces) and the white queen didn't fit into the board too well...
Published on 13 Jan. 2009 by Kev E

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice board, shame about the queen & no cover, 13 Jan. 2009
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Travel Chess Set (Toy)
I think this travel chess set is somewhere in between the two reviewers opinions so far. It was a very nice looking board and most of the pieces are well enough made. The one i received had a white queen that looked chubby compared to the black queen looking anorexic (they were almost totally different looking pieces) and the white queen didn't fit into the board too well and was left raised up somewhat.
But the main gripe is the same as what my previous reviewer said, that their is no cover over the board to protect the pieces while in a game.
Also, when you put captured pieces away, you have to be careful you dont lose all the pieces while putting each piece in the captured piece section. Altogether a not bad chess set let down by some bad finishing of pieces and no cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the reviews are right! But ... good value, 6 Mar. 2010
By 
Christopher Owens (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Travel Chess Set (Toy)
Problems with this set: no cover, pieces don't fit tightly in in holes (so will jump out if you go over a bump), piece storage can't be used without all the pieces falling out (but you could use two clear freezer bags to hold taken pieces).

However: it's well made and the pieces are nicely differentiated (although the king and queen are pretty similar), and all of the above problems apply equally to sets costing about three times as much.

Know what you're getting: if you're going to play in a car, don't bother; if (like me) you're going to use it when reading chess books in bed, it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this set, 31 Oct. 2008
By 
Mr. J. Arkley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Travel Chess Set (Toy)
I bought this set a few days ago based on the 5 stars given it by another reviewer. All I can say is that reviewer must have either a better quality one or lower expectations because I would definitely NOT recommend this set to anyone. The chess men are poorly carved; don't fit correctly in the holes because the pegs are too long and not wide enough; and once a game is set up you can't close the lid over the chess men to carry the set with the men still in position. This is a very poor product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good to study chess in bed, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travel Chess Set (Toy)
It is truth that holes are not perfect, but they do the job if you not jump with them. It is truth also that to store pieces inside is only for storing, but for taken pieces you will need to have some bag or other store place of yourself if you do not want to loose them because they are really small, however perfectly enough for playing and much better then those 2D boards on your tablets and telephones, nothing can match real 3D board, and to be more precise, I love the wooden small board for memorizing opening or endgame theory because it is that small you can easier see the board and think the moves "in your head", in other words, I believe it can help to learn to play "blindfold chess" which would be beneficial if you would like to become much stronger in chess in the future. By the way, one of the reasons I bought it was that I found in one Youtube video that even Robert Bobby Fischer had one of these with him in travel. Even if I am sure he could play without looking to the board, I still believe that nothing is as good as a real board for improving new ideas, strategies, tactics and memorizing the theory whichever you prefer.

However, this is a perfect little board and what I was looking for. Magnetic was not good. Similar products had pieces looking too similar. But this one is perfect for my purpose to learn while at bed (I would not risk to take it to travel, though).

Respect for your hard work making this product possible and thank you! Good luck at chess!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect little set!, 1 May 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Travel Chess Set (Toy)
With a lot of spare time on my hands, I was tossing up between several little travel chess sets for long plane journeys especially. I prefer the wood to the magnets and didn't really want one inside a box cos it would be marginally harder to play. But having received this one, it is EXACTLY what I was hoping for!! The board is small and cute but not SO tiny (one I looked at was only 7cm square) that you can't see what you're doing. I have even played around with trying to wobble it and the pegs haven't fallen out - so even in the case of mild turbulence on a plane, the little men should be safe! Perfect little companion, and I'm looking forward to taking it on it's first trip in the summer!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Travel chess set, 25 Feb. 2010
By 
C. Veitch (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Travel Chess Set (Toy)
Exactly what it say's on the tin really, travel chess set, it's small and compact, handy to throw in your bag and take anywhere very neat and wouldn't fall to bits if it got knocked about in your bag. I play internet chess and if i'm on lunch ect, i might set up a game i'm in the middle of to decide my next move when i get back on my computer. Saying that it's games from memory , you couldn't set a game up and then take it anywhere the pieces would fall out if it was in your bag ect. As well i wouldn't recomend it to play full games on it's a bit on the small side for that, i'd recomend a 12" x 12" board at least, or better still if you dont need to travel much, get a full size board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little travel chess sets..., 6 July 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travel Chess Set (Toy)
These two chess sets are great and great value for money. They arrived on time.

I do have a few minor niggles, but I will leave until last as I feel that they are a little bit trivial and should be taken in context of the positives.
The chess sets themselves have external dimensions of approximately 120x120x22mm.
The playing area measures approximately 100x100mm.
The board is hinged, and when lifted reveals a compartment in which the pieces can be stored.
The pieces themselves came in two small, resealable, transparent plastic bags.

There is a minor niggle with the King and the Queen which I will address towards the end of my review.
On the edge of the box where the lid/board opens there is a recess which allows one to lift the lid with a thumb or finger; unfortunately there is no clasp or means of sealing the box, so one would have to transport it in the outer box within which it came or wrap a couple of rubber bands around it to prevent the contents from falling out.

There are some feature which I would have liked to have been incorporated into the design, but the board is as it appears in the photograph.
There is nowhere to store the pieces whilst one is playing and there is no notation around the edge of board.

This being said, I love these chess sets and the strong points outweigh the weak points:
Firstly, when I am playing chess on the computer there is no room for a full size chess set in front of the keyboard; even some other travel sets are too big for the purpose.
Secondly, the pieces stay in the board with pegs so you don't have the problems associated with magnetism.

Onto the niggles: the photograph accurately represents what I received, however if you look closely at the cardboard box in the photograph, you will notice that the King displayed there (with what appears to be a cross on top) does not appear on the board in front of the cardboard box.
I have chosen to use the piece with the button on top to be the King and the other piece with the rim around the top to be the Queen.
I would reiterate that I love these chess sets, as my review may appear to swing between dispassionate and critical: I'm just trying to be objective and acknowledge things that could be better.

The observant amongst you may also notice that the initial setup is incorrect on the board, the Kings should be facing each other.
Inside the box there is a small sheet of paper (approx. 250x180mm)which gives the ules of chess, how the pieces move and the initial setup of the board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of money, 12 Aug. 2010
By 
S. A. BAKER (Whitley Bay) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Travel Chess Set (Toy)
My own fault really for not reading the reviews. I can't see how this is a 'travel' chess set at all: the lid is loose and has no catch to secure it while traveling, and the pieces sit very loosely in the holes. Apart from that, the king and queen look almost identical and there is not much difference between the pawns and bishops. Don't waste your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little set., 14 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travel Chess Set (Toy)
I read the reviews before buying, but as always take very little notice of the one star comments. Most come from grumps who would complain at every minor fault.

OK, so the pegged pieces are quite loose in the holes. Me, I'd rather have it that way than having to fight to force them in and pull them out. And, yes, one of the pegs was a little too long. A quick rub on a piece of sandpaper flat on my desk solved that in 10 seconds flat!

The board is a delight, the compartment for the stored pieces is hinged by hidden wooden dowels (no metal hinges), and it's of far better quality than I expected. It's a great little set. I bought it to use when reading chess books and following a game move by move. I couldn't ask for anything better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is a really cute set with pegs to hold the pieces and the wood is nicely finished on the box, 2 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travel Chess Set (Toy)
I bought this as a present for someone who wants to use it to help with chess problems - as found in The Times puzzle pages. It is a really cute set with pegs to hold the pieces and the wood is nicely finished on the box. As a previous reviewer had already said, the pieces themselves are a little rougher, but in such small items I wouldn't expect anything else, especially at the price. Anyway, you could always give them a rub with sandpaper or customise them with little dots of nail varnish if they need a bit more definition (King from Queen, say) My friend loved his gift and that is the best part. I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
     Travel Chess Set opens new browser window
  www.chessbazaar.com/   -   Great Savings on Travel Chess Set. Lowest Price. Free Shipping
     Travel Chess Sets on Sale opens new browser window
  www.thechessstore.com/   -   Wood, Plastic, Magnetic, Folding, Lowest Prices & Free Shipping.
     Travel Chess Sets opens new browser window
  www.chesshouse.com/   -   Find Everything You Need To Become A Chess Master Here-Visit Us Today!

This product

Travel Chess Set
Travel Chess Set by Gibsons Games
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Halsall Magnetic Traditional Travel Chess Game
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13)   
Buy new£2.32
In stock

LARGE MAGNETIC TRAVEL CHESS 32 CM X 32 CM
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (21)   
Buy new£10.48
In stock

Sheesham & Boxwood 7 inch Magnetic Mini Inlaid Chess Set
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14)   
Buy new£33.34
In stock