Customer Reviews


292 Reviews
5 star:
 (201)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate SOTD experience!
Lazy brit Shaun is witnessing his life crumbling on itself; His long time girlfriend, Liz, has just broke with him, his best friend Ed is a slacker who sells weed to make ends meet and constantly pisses off their roommate Pete, he's stuck in a dead-end job and his stepdad keeps reminding him what a terrible son he is for his mother Barbara.
Determined to improve his...
Published on 30 Jan 2012 by Lemony82

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not your normal Zombie film
I normally run a mile when someone suggests a Zombie film. This is a lighter, comedy Zombie film and is watchable, however we have only watched it once. Borrow it rather than buy it.
Published 6 months ago by N. D. Jervis


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate SOTD experience!, 30 Jan 2012
Lazy brit Shaun is witnessing his life crumbling on itself; His long time girlfriend, Liz, has just broke with him, his best friend Ed is a slacker who sells weed to make ends meet and constantly pisses off their roommate Pete, he's stuck in a dead-end job and his stepdad keeps reminding him what a terrible son he is for his mother Barbara.
Determined to improve his life, Shaun finds his perfect chance when a zombie outbreak starts to threaten London.

Edgar Wright's first feature film, Shaun Of The Dead is a rom-zom-com (Romantic Zombie Comedy) ingeniously funny, fast paced and with an ensemble cast featuring the top cream of british comedy, who pays homage to the horror movies of past decades with over-the-top gore scenes and laugh out loud gags of all kind.
This blu-ray is actually a real gift; The Reel Heroes Sleeve makes the all package look even cooler and the disc itself makes the purchase well worth the price. As every Wright's release, this edition comes with more than 2 hours of extras, including a commentary with the director and Pegg, a great quantity of behind the scene footage, easter eggs and the always pleasing UControl mode which allows the viewer to know everything about every scene.
Picture quality is standard HD, with bright colours and defined contours; However I was really pleased about the audio tracks which allowed me to get even the slightest audio in-jokes (like Barbara's very low UUUUWW, in the Zombie Walk scene).
If you're a Pegg-Frost-Wright fan and you still haven't gotten your hands on a blu ray of this movie, this is definetly a must check out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cafe au Lait - pour vous..., 5 Aug 2011
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (As seen on iPlayer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Shaun of the Dead [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
It would be easy to get carried away in a review of this film, throwing around such phrases as "comic genius", "a slice of fried gold" and so on. In my opinion, however, no praise would be too high for Shaun and I find it almost incomprehensible that the film actually has some negative reviews. Some of those reviewers have clearly missed the point of the film so perhaps it's worth reiterating what that point actually is.

Shaun of the Dead is, primarily, first and foremost, and entirely unashamedly a zombie movie with a comic element. It's important to define that a little more carefully so; SotD is NOT a pi$$-take of the zombie movie genre and it isn't poking fun at its predecessors. It is simply a serious zombie movie, but done in a humourous style. You, the viewer, are supposed to laugh at the gags, not at the genre. True enough, many of the gags are based on pop-culture references but few of these actually refer to zombie pop-culture, rather Pop pop-culture. Thus, WHEN Shaun and Ed fight off a zombie attack by skimming vinyl records at their assailants, the humour comes from their agonising decision over which records to save and which to sacrifice.

Shaun: No! That's the second album I ever bought! Some of these are limited... Ah! What was that?
Ed: Blue Monday.
Shaun: That was an original pressing!
Ed: ...Purple Rain?
Shaun: No.
Ed: Sign O' the Times?
Shaun: Definitely not!
Ed: The Batman soundtrack?
Shaun: Throw it!

When they (much later) dispatch a group of zombies to the tune of "Don't Stop Me Now", the gag is complete.

As another reviewer has pointed out, this is classic Spaced humour and perhaps one problem is that this sort of humour doesn't always age well. In another ten years' time will anyone have any idea what those strange round discs actually are? Still, SotD doesn't rely entirely on the cultural age of its viewers and the bulk of the humour, I believe, comes from the way that such an outlandish situation is transposed into an environment that will be familiar to almost anyone. Thus the scenes are played out in suburban England on a Sunday morning, a time and place when we should rather be lying in bed, drinking coffee and reading the colour supplemement while trying to recover from a mild hangover. Of course this is pretty much the premise of many good "straight-faced" horror flicks - the superimposition of the familiar and the terrifying - but the comic twist comes from the way in which the familiar carries on regardless and when Shaun (driving his flatmate's car) accidentally runs down a zombie, he can't stop himself from backing up and apologising.

The real spark in this film comes from the relationship between its two lead actors (Pegg and Frost) and it's production team (Wright and Park) who cut their teeth on Spaced. It's telling (and quite sad) that later ventures that didn't involve all four never really made it, or (in my opinion) bombed horribly (I submit as evidence, M'Lud, Paul, Hyperdrive and Run Fatboy Run). This spark was rekindled in the equally fantastic Hot Fuzz and we can only hope that the third film (we've been promised a trilogy) comes soon and meets the standards set by it's two predecessors.

Shaun: Are they still out there?
[Ed peeks through the curtains, revealing two zombies scratching at the window]
Ed: Yeah. What you think we should do?
Shaun: Have a sit down?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD review, 9 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Shaun of the Dead [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Did not see the film at the cinema, but was impressed by the soundtrack I was given as a present, could sense it was going to be a funny film. I have always been a horror fan, so I liked the idea of a send-up, especially a British one.
Was certainly worth it, no point in giving you the full rundown, there are already other reviews that do justice.
As for the actual DVD, the extras are as long as the film and worth checking out. I think if you enjoy a film that much you will always check out the extras for extended or deleted scenes, outtakes etc.
This has all those and they are amusing in the same vein, including Plot Holes, which does a "If you wondered what happened when Shaun led the zombies away from the pub" comic strip bit, plus a couple of others. There are commentaries and still-shots (think you need to be totally obsessed to get into these that much). Anyway, I think the film itself is worth the money regardless. I certainly preferred it to 28 Days Later, for the laughs and the imagery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romero's Heir, 21 Oct 2004
By 
Neb (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shaun of the Dead [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The funniest British comedy film since Four Weddings and a Funeral plays on its Englishness admirably, but in the hands of zombie movie and Resident Evil buff Simon Pegg also carries Romero's torch much more convincingly than 28 Days Later or the Dawn of the Dead remake. Of all the recent zombie movies this is the only one that imparts the apocalyptic isolation, tongue in cheek survivalism and plodding, shuffling terror of Romero's trilogy; and the Spaced twentysomething anomic humour sits well with a world gone to seed. Like when you watched Romero's films as a teenager, you'll laugh at the gore and silly zombies, but when you leave the pictures and step out into the cold night you'll see them everywhere you turn. As far as I'm concerned, it goes: Night of the Living Dead, The Dawn of the Dead, Day of the Dead, Shaun of the Dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good zombie movies are hard to find - this is one of them, 5 Jan 2007
By 
S. Haddow - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I went to see this at the cinema and because I had my Spaced head on, I was expecting a lot of laughs and some cheesy zombies (like the ones in Spaced in fact). However, I wasn't prepared for a well constructed plot that patiently mounts the tension all the way through the film.

Having said that, if you are a fan of the TV sitcom Spaced then this inhabits much the same universe, and Shaun is similar to Tim Bisley. The script is hysterical in places, and the direction and clever editing are the same.

I watched it again on dvd last night, and I noticed how much Shaun of the Dead is a 'real' zombie movie, and although you could call it a homage to Romero's movies, it's certainly not a spoof. The soundtrack is a classic John Carpenter style sountrack, a mix of The Thing and Assault on Precinct 13, and sits so far in the background you are not aware how effectively it's setting up dread and tension, as well as the ever rising sounds of zombies moaning. All of this makes the laughs better, and there are lots of them, none of which I want to spoil.

If you like straight horror movies, then maybe the humour might get in the way for you, but in my opinion the mix of horror and laughs is perfect and this is one of my favourite films. Simon Pegg uses a broader range of emotions than he does in Spaced - especially towards the end of the film, which helps to convey a feeling of reality that elevates this beyond the realms of an extended episode of Spaced. Nick Frost is great too, playing a very different character to Mike.

In my opinion this is a classic film which will have every bit as long a shelf life as the films which inspired it. At the very least it's destined to be a cult classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely stuffed with extras!, 8 Sep 2004
By 
A. Skudder (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shaun of the Dead [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of the George A.Romero zombie trilogy, and also of the Spaced TV series, so a comedy parody of Romero by the creators of Spaced pretty much gets a couple of stars head start before I have even seen it.
I didn't see the film in the cinema, so it was all new to me. Given British TV's habit of spawning naff films I was a bit wary, but needn't have worried. The first part of the film is really just like a big screen version of Spaced with only a few little hints in the background of the trouble brewing and lots of big laughs. The film then moves into the slightly strange territory which Spaced sometimes inhabited when the main characters start to realise that there are really Zombies on the move. When the action really starts the overt comedy is reined in a bit to let the pace pick up, which is about right: by then you are more interested in what happens next than in where the next joke is coming from.
Simon Pegg makes the transition from small to large screen well, and more surprisingly Dylan Moran does too. Much as Black Books is brilliant, Moran is still basically acting out his stand-up persona. here he is much more rounded character.
Fans of recent British TV comedy will have fun spotting all the actors from The Office, League of Gentlemen and Black Books turning up in roles ranging from major to blink-and-you-miss-it.
I can't really comment on the picture quality as my TV is on the way out, but the use of surround sound is very effective on this disc. During the seige scenes there is a permanent presence of zombie moans and scratching coming from all around to add to the atmosphere.
So, the film is a hit, but what about the disc? Its as good as you would expect from writers and directors who are big fans of the DVD medium, and one of the most loaded single discs you are likely to come across. The extras include 4 full-length commentaries, video diaries from several actors, outtakes and extended scenes as well as the now traditional photo galleries, making-of, TV spots and trailers.
Some of the less conventional extras are a run through of the original story idea on a flip chart, plot holes explained in comic strips with actor voiceovers, and one scene acted in the styles of Sean Connery and Michael Caine in The Man Who Would Be King. The flip chart extra is especially interesting as it pre-dates the filming, and even the full script-writing. Some of the original plot ideas or back story details didn't make it to the film, but its impressive how many details from the original conceptual stage made it all the way through, which says something about the completeness of Simon Pegg and Edgar Wright's original vision.
The thoroughness of the extras is exemplified in what the menu calls the "TV Bits". At various points in the film the characters watch a bit of television, and even though only a few seconds might appear in the film they actually made TV segments of several minutes which are included in full on the disc. And there are some 2000AD comic strips, poster designs, and loads more. There are even some extra extras, not listed on the box, which are tucked away in the sub-title options - a storyboard comparison and the Zomb-o-meter. The zomb-o-meter is a trivia track which lists everything from what the music is on the soundtrack and where a scene was filmed, to what films are being referenced and what game is being played on the Playstation. (Just like the feature on the DVD of the 2nd series of Spaced but even more informative.)
I am already more than satisfied with this film and disc, and I haven't had time to listen to the commentaries yet. Pegg already proved on the Spaced DVDs that he can do an essential talk track - essential to point out all the film references if nothing else - and he features on two of the commentary tracks: one with co-writer and director Edgar Wright, and the other with the main actors. The third commentary is my Shaun's parents (Bill Nighy and Penelope Wilton) and the last track is by actors who played Zombies.
In a recent interview Simon Pegg mentioned that George A. Romero himself liked the film, and if its good enough for him its certainly good enough for me. Roll on the sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! An unpretentious British Film!, 17 Sep 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaun of the Dead [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I waited a long time to see this film. I missed it when it was in the cinemas, and have been eagerly awaiting its release on DVD. Thankfully I haven't been disappointed.
Those who remember 'Spaced' on channel 4 will have a good idea of what to expect in this film humourwise, but for the Zombie content, it's George A.Romero that's been the inspiration here. The funny bits are genuinely amusing, and the zombies are at times genuinely unsettling. The first half-hour sets the scene, the final hour really gets moving, and rarely slows until the end.
There are in-jokes for the Zombiephiles out there, including a dig at '28 days later' and a nod to 'Night of the living dead' amongst others, there's a host of famous faces in there (famous to us in the UK anyway...), absurdity, slapstick, pathos, full-on drama, in your face blood and goo, nob gags, fart gags, angst, and just about everything else you can think of at one point or another. Plus a shedload of interesting and amusing extras on the Disc!
In short:
If you like 'Spaced', you'll like this.
If you like George A. Romero's zombie films, you'll like this.
If you like both of the above, you'll love it.
In fact, if you enjoy comedy and/or horror in any way, you'll enjoy this.
Buy it, and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious British Romantic Zombie Comedy Flick !, 1 Jun 2006
By 
Low-Quality (London England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaun of the Dead [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
One of my top favourite movies !

A fresh genre frakenstein of comedy , zombie horror and light romance !

How can you not like such an idea , if done really well ?

and this is done very well indeed !
It's almost genius , it's so finely crafted !

Wonderfully timed satirical humor which is combined with many well known faces of British comedy in recent years and enough gore that's not over the top ( except for one scene perhaps )

With a realistic enough and great set of characters , because you can relate to them because they're so ordinary , makes you ponder ... how would you handle such a crisis ... and would it be as amusing as this ?

Definitely recommended for lovers of British comedy , who want a bit of a change and add a splash of horror with their laughs

The action ain't bad either ... infact there's a wonderfully choreographed fight scene that's also a bit ridiculous , but you'll love to dance to it , if you know what i mean ... but not as cheesy as you'd think .....

Choreography and scene/style switches in general are handled extremely well thanks to the movies' great director too !

Oh yeah .... i hear zombie movie fans tend to like this a lot too .... even if it isn't exactly 100% serious at times .... but it is as mercilessly slapstick as say ... the scary movie series ... which i think SOTD outclasses easily ..... this is the best combination of comedy and horror you'll find !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars May you live in interesting times, 20 Mar 2006
By 
Louise Stanley (Reading, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shaun of the Dead [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is one of the best and funniest British films of the last few years. It doesn't take itself too seriously, yet the final scenes are some of the most tender and heartfelt in modern cinema. Having seen this at the cinema with my head cricked back (the only seats were too close to the front for comfort), it's great to be able to see it again in a comfortable position at home.
The characters are believeable, and react to the crisis just as one might hope they would in Noughties Britain - by trying to get to the pub to hole up and wait it all out. Except the plan - which does work - proves to be the demise of many of those trying to reach the safety of the local, and leads to the difficult decision - could you kill a loved one? Particularly one that just yesterday was yelling at you to shut the front door properly, clean up and get a life? And, oh yeah, you've got red on you...
Like a good comic film, the devil is in the detail, with in-jokes and nudges to some of the ironies of modern life, from Shaun's mother and stepfather to the initial actions of the corner shop owner and Shaun's desperate attempt to salvage rare records from being used as makeshift weapons. It's not particularly scary to someone who has to live in the 2000s - though that says more about the 2000s than it does about the film!
Absolutely hilarious and a great spoof of "Dawn of the Dead".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Comedy of 2004!, 30 Oct 2004
This review is from: Shaun of the Dead [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This film is pure genius! And I think the key to it's genius(ness) is exactly what it tells you on the DVD, it's NOT just a comedy, it's NOT just a horror and it's NOT just a romance, it's a ROM-ZOM-COM!
Any other comedy using a name very similar to a classic Romero film, would have been a spoof, it would have made fun of the zombies, the characters would all end up being fine and there would be lots of stupidity everywhere. This is absolutely NOT a spoof. It uses full on gore effects, to the full, and there are parts where you're on the edge of your seat! This is basically a film about normal people being stuck in a crazy situation, and about them being totally unprepared for it.
If you have seen Spaced, you will absolutely love this film! I've not met one person that doesn't really love this film so far, it's one film that absolutely must be in your DVD collection!
If you haven't seen Spaced and enjoy Shaun of the Dead, I recommend buying both series of Spaced on DVD!
The extra's on this film are ENDLESS (and good!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shaun of the Dead [DVD] [2004]
Shaun of the Dead [DVD] [2004] by Edgar Wright (DVD - 2004)
£2.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews