Customer Reviews


231 Reviews
5 star:
 (178)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Film/Very Good Blu Ray
This will be a review of John Carpenter's classic 1978 film, 'Halloween', on Blu Ray.

In terms of the overall quality, here's what I think:

Picture: 8/10. The picture quality gets a solid 8 from me. Basically, there is very much so an improvement over a DVD counterpart here. Colours, Character clothing, Textures and Backgrounds are what to watch out...
Published 14 months ago by Fox in the Box

versus
29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The complete Halloween - nearly
This box is a magnificent box set, it contains completely remastered versions of the Halloween films (which put the dodgy budget versions of 2, 4 and 5 to shame).
First up with have the magnificent original, which although the best of the series is nowhere near as scary as the legends.
Next is the Halloween 2 which continues straight onwards, not as good as the...
Published on 6 Oct 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is a German Blu Ray not the product advertised., 18 Oct 2011
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Be warned. I have been sent a German Blu Ray copy - not the one I assumed I had purchased. Admittedly it has an English Language version on there too - but none of the extras actually work.
I have not sent it back as it's too much of a hassle and the print seems okay. But I assumed this was the highly praised Anchor Bay version NOT this thing from "Starlight Films"

As there was no way of contacting the supplier to explain the problem I have just put up with it.... Life is too short... but as I said at the start BE WARNED....

Also - to add my complaints to so many others - WHY DOES AMAZON NOT CHECK THAT THE REVIEWS ARE FOR THE ACTUAL PRODUCT???
There is a total mix of DVDs rather than BLU RAY in the BLU RAY section - and some apply to the remake not the original version.
I'm a fan of Amazon but this sort of thing does nothing for your brand mates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Horrormovie ever!, 20 April 2000
By A Customer
Part one is the best movie within the horror genre! Part two is forbidden here in Germany! Why? It's great,too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply one of the best, 12 Nov 2003
Halloween is the ultimate horror movie. there is suspense. there is action. Basic plot: Michael myers kills his sister as a child. He is sent to a psychiatric asylum, under the care of Dr Lumis (Donald Pleasance) Only to escape 15 years later. This film, in my opinion the best in the series to date, although shot on a very small budget ($300,000 i beleive) is a very effective horror film. My only critisism is that it takes a little while before the suspense starts building up, but never the less its an excellent film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Box Set But Wait For Halloween 9 & Save 'S!!!!!!, 17 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. B. Read - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Halloween: The Complete Collection (Eight Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Superb box set with all movies. To be honest tho i'd wait until the release of Halloween 9 by Rob Zombie on 19th October 2007, then im sure the ultimate collection will be released at a cheaper price that 100.00
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All the 'Halloweens' that followed this were rubbish!, 1 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
I think this is one of the classic films that is able to be watched - at reasonable intervals - again and again, however that said I also believe that EVERY NEW Halloween film made after the original was a repetetive rip-off,totally boring and even Hollywood stretched their artistic licence beyond the bounds of reasonability and simply took the p**s out of the cinema goer? After-all how can Michael Myles take 6 bullets from the gun of Sam Loomis' yet apparently walk away to chop people up another day? All that needs to be said about this film has already been said by other reviewers and long ago save to say from my own personal point of view Jamie Lee Curtis gets 11 out of 10 for her sexuality in this film which just goes to show that you DON'T have to strip-off to ooze sensuality but simply be present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of its time..., 13 Dec 2005
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
However, this 25th anniversary re-issue only serves to remind us of how dated the film looks.
The scare techniques used in the film may have been terrifying at the time, but nowadays, they just come across as cliche and daft. Of course, you need to keep reminding yourself that John Carpenter virtually invented these cliches!
Compared to more modern fare, Halloween is not very scary, or particularly gory, but at times it is a very tense little film. The ominous feeling of Mike creeping up behind you is always a little thrill - and half the fun of films like these is guessing who is going to die next and how. But, again, nowadays it all feels a little tame.
It's a nice, simple set up - a man comes back to his hometown to literally get revenge - and it doesn't exactly suffer from us not really knowing Mike's motive, although it would have been nice to dive into his psyche more.
The film's biggest plus point is the introduction of jamie lee curtis, who does an excellent scream in this film, and shows a little of her talent that would become more developed later on in her career.
It's a neat little shocker, perfect for a Halloween party, and a virtual masterpiece in it's time, and therefore worth seeing for its classic status.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keith And Dave, 2 Nov 2003
Unmistakebly the best horror set on the market to buy. Haloween features 6 movies of slasher cult extrodunary motion picture awsomeness.
Bloody scary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 35th Anniversary Blu-ray a disappointment, 28 Nov 2013
By 
B. Kossmehl (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Halloween and must have seen it around twenty times since it's release. One of the reasons for the film's artistic success was DOP's Dean Cundey's elegant widescreen cinematography. Therefore I'm a little puzzled by some of the choices made for this Blu-ray re-release. The colours look far more muted, especially in the daylight scene which transform the warm colours of US suburbia into an almost monochrome, dull grey which doesn't resemble the film I love and remember. At some points it doesn't even look like a film shot in the late 70's because its monochromatic colour scheme looks like it could only be archived by a digital grade. While nowhere near as bad, this reminds me a little of the first French Connection Blu-ray which also had its looked digitally tampered with to look more monochrome. The night scenes fare better, but here too the colours have been dialled down. This Blu-ray release looks a little more sharp than the previous one, but the previous release looked perfectly fine for a low budget film of its era. I am aware that Cundey was involved and the idea was to make a film shot in spring look more like autumn, but to me an American autumn is yellow and red leaves, not a steely grey. The documentary with Jamie Lee Curtis is Fine, but a little long and otherwise there is a brief extra about cast and locations and the scenes from the TV version which should be familiar to any true Halloween fan. I'll stick with the previous release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Halloween blu ray 2013, 4 Nov 2013
When originally released on blu ray in 2007, the Mono soundtrack was available in the set-up menu. It is also available on this 35 year anniversary edition, but it does not work. For me the mono option is the original and best soundtrack. What a pity such a well packaged steelbook edition has this fault. For me, the initial 2007 release is the definitive one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subs 35th Anniversary, 18 Oct 2013
Beautiful steelbook! Anyone can confirm if the 35th Anniversary contains spanish subtitles? Anchor bay edition USA its blocked A zone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halloween: The Complete Collection (Eight Disc Box Set) [DVD]
Used & New from: 49.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews