Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dio - Master Of Them All
Ronnie James Dio, by all rights, shouldnt still be making albums this good at his age. But he does.
Master of the Moon is a spectacular return to form from the little chap, as a listen to opener `One More For The Road` will proove.
The rest of the album is made up on a further 8 storming tracks and 1 slightly monotonous one.. but we'll ignore that one.
The...
Published on 6 Sep 2004 by Mr. M. L. Godfrey

versus
3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh Ronnie, what happened?
Don't get me wrong, RJD is possibly the best rock vocalist for a very long time but this album is definitely not the best. After the magnificent resurgeance of MAGICA (You've got to have that one!) "Master of the Moon" sank like the proverbial lead Zeppelin (sic). I can't remember a single riff...
Published on 14 Dec 2004 by rainbowrichardg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dio - Master Of Them All, 6 Sep 2004
By 
Mr. M. L. Godfrey "gnr_forever" (Derbys, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Master Of The Moon (Audio CD)
Ronnie James Dio, by all rights, shouldnt still be making albums this good at his age. But he does.
Master of the Moon is a spectacular return to form from the little chap, as a listen to opener `One More For The Road` will proove.
The rest of the album is made up on a further 8 storming tracks and 1 slightly monotonous one.. but we'll ignore that one.
The Musicianship is superb and some of the guitar solos will leave you mesmerized. Truly spectacular stuff!!
All in all, 9 great tunes and 1 okay one.
Not bad for an old timer, not bad at all..
\m/ DIO \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Metal gets a history lesson!, 8 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Master Of The Moon (Audio CD)
With Magica and Killing the Dragon under his belt, Ronnie James Dio has had something of a resurgance recently amongst the metal community.
Master of the Moon clings to the Dungeons and Dragons theme that suits him so well. There are a couple of upbeat songs with killer riffs, that equal some of Dio's earlier material. The return of Craig Goldy recreates a classic sound. However, I found a majority of the album to be a lot slower than Ronnie's previous efforts, which has an amazing hyponotic effect in places! ("The Eyes" being an outstanding track)
I would definitely recommend this to the Dio fanbase, and others alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars intelligent rock, 11 Jun 2005
This review is from: Master Of The Moon (Audio CD)
Dio has produced an amazing album here, and like all great albums it takes a few listens to appreciate it. When i first played it only a few tarcks stood out, but now i find the melodies from various tracks going round and round my head. Lets face it this man can write great songs and once again he has added his thought provoking lyrics. Weighty issues on the nature of evil are best tackled with the hard rock sound of this album, but listen out for some very diverse musical structures.
Buy this album, but don't just listen to it once. Give it the repeated playing it deserves and i promise you that you'll grow to love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dio's last album and it's a nice finish., 25 April 2014
This review is from: DIO-MASTER OF THE MOON (Audio CD)
A decade past and this little number has grown on me significantly since it first came out. I have very fond memories of picking this one up on CD in one of the old virgin megastores in my local city:- sadly not there anymore. Today Ive had another whole listen to this great record once again and confirms why Dio has such a legend. For a Dio CD the whole album has quite a real subtle metal sound, flare and a stripped-back feel. So not much in the way of musical wizardary but still an excellent emphasis on songs.

"Master of the moon" can probably be best described as the quintessential four star album:- 10 track opus with a solid discipline and array of character. Despite a lack of obvious standouts, the best song on the album: "In dreams" is a strong candidate with an abundant esque of metallic riffs. Elsewhere, the decency of "Death by love or Living the lie" are also notable entities. There's also a typical Dio ballad present in the form of "The man who would be king" -very enjoyable that one is too. Opener, "One more from the road" does not quite project the intent we would expect but it is a suitable sounding one none-the-less.

Overall it's a great album only detracted by a few mundane moments of songwriting quality control. The album smokes of a class Dio we love and the spirit and driving force behind it is evidently intact and all there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In Dreams, 21 Dec 2011
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Master Of The Moon (Audio CD)
Sadly the final Dio album before the man's untimely death. While it is not the best album Dio have cut, it is by no means bad, and it feels more of a traditional Dio effort as opposed to the concept of Magica (which they had really never done before - and it worked pretty well). It is a very decent hard rock album with a handful of catchy tunes and one out and out trademark Dio mystical classic in the title track.

The title track, probably the best on here, evokes memories of the Dio of old, a cross between the Dream Evil and Sacred Heart era, without actually bettering them. A great song. The rest are all good, but have nothing to raise them to the heights of past glories. Opener 'One More for the Road' is a great rock and roll number and a good way to start. 'End of the World' sounds like AC/DC which is no bad thing at all. And 'Shivers' is a suitably chunky, mid-paced horror-styled track. All are fine and no complaints, other than it would have been nice to hear some more immediate 'new' classics. But the first half of the album does grow on you with every listen. 'The Man Who Would Be Kind' being the least absorbing.

Other stand-outs include 'The Eyes'. It is rather long and seems rather underwhelming at first but it is a grower and the chorus gets better with every listen. 'I Am' is infectious rather than catchy. It's a song I don't like all that much but the chorus is such that it cannot not be stuck in my head - it's like an advert jingle, albeit a heavy rock one! 'Death By Love' is better. It's rocky and catchy and sounds vital, and more importantly reminds of Last in Line era Dio, but ultimately it is a good song. 'In Dreams' is possibly the other best track next to the title track. It finishes it all off very well.

Not a triumph but still far better than Strange Highways and Angry Machines. It's just a shame Dio will not be able to better it now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Master Of Them All!!!!!, 4 July 2009
By 
K. O'hagan "Society's Death" (Ireland, Cork) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Master Of The Moon (Audio CD)
Classic rock for the 21st century, Dio at his is still rocking like there's no tommorow. This album is a monster of an album, Starting out with one of his best "One More For The Road" which is an absolute rocker of a song and possibly my favourite Dio song, something that always makes you bang your head till it bleed.

Usually i'd pick a favourite tune but there all top quality stuff which you'd expect from Dio, Craig Goldy is a personal favourite guitarist of mine from Dio's career mainly because the work he did on Magica and the song Push from Killing the Dragon. He also created the riff for Challis(another fave Dio song). Basically Dio is still delivering awesome music just as awesome from the 80s which not many artists can do that at his age.

I think though something I picked up while listening to this album is that structure of his songs are mostly in the same patterns, but that to me doesn't really matter as the songs rock and that's what it's all about, so the only track i'm crazy about is "In Dreams" it's an average not the best closer he ever did.

All in all, a wicked album which shouldn't escape a Dio's fan collection he can still deliver so check this out. Newcomers as always start with Holy Diver then collect in order. For fans check out.

Well worth it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Master of the Moon: another great album from Dio, which was sadly to be the last, 16 April 2014
By 
Mr. A. J. Tennant "Metalhead" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Master Of The Moon (Audio CD)
Master of the Moon is the tenth and final studio album by the American heavy metal band Dio. The album was released on 7th September 2004 in America through Sanctuary Records and 30th August 2004 in Europe through SPV Records. It was produced by Ronnie James Dio. The album marks the return of guitarist Craig Goldy, who also performed on Dio's Dream Evil (1987) and Magica (2000). It also features Jeff Pilson on bass, Simon Wright on drums, and Scott Warren on keyboards. One song, "Death by Love", was partly written by former Magica touring bassist Chuck Garric, but there are no writing credits provided in the album's liner notes. A bonus track, titled "The Prisoner of Paradise", is on the Japanese pressing of the album, and the song would later be featured on the 2012 compilation "The Very Beast of Dio Vol. 2".

Master of the Moon is another great album by Dio, which would sadly be the last due to the death of the band's founding member and frontman Ronnie James Dio to stomach cancer in May 2010. Like most of Dio's albums, Master of the Moon has many strong tracks. For me, the ones that really stand out for me are the title track along with "One More for the Road", "The End of the World", "The Man Who Would Be King", "The Eyes", and "The Prisoner of Paradise" (I don't have the Japanese release of Master of the Moon which contains that song as a bonus track, but I do have it on the 2012 compilation mentioned earlier in this review). Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stonkingly satisfying heaviness., 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Master Of The Moon (Audio CD)
All critiques that mark this one down are WRONG ; ill tell u why because this rocks and rolls with consummate ease and there isn't a duff track on it ; the heaviness and the instrumental are blended wisely and serenely with that mega mega mega vocal ( the epitomy of rock) and as on most occasions we need be eternally grateful for the effort and enduring commitment to the metal cause that is stamped majestically on this Master of the Moon album. So i say to those ; listen again my friend for there is much more to Dio than first meets the ear!!!!!!! Metalicus Maximus ~ with force!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80's heavy metal with a modern twist, 3 Aug 2010
By 
ian mansfield (Belper, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Master Of The Moon (Audio CD)
I bought this on a whim whilst looking for some old Dio stuff on amazon and was pleasantly surprised by how catchy it is. It's like all the best bits of 80's Dio put together on one album with some modern production giving it a very polished feel. Hard to pick a stand-out track but 'Shivers' is classic Dio with his trademark cleverly worded lyrics. If you like any of Dio's heavy stuff buy this, you'll love it! RIP RJD you are missed by many...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, if not exceptional Dio album, 17 Nov 2006
This review is from: Master Of The Moon (Audio CD)
Compared to other recent Dio works, this CD comes across as heavier, slower, and more eerie, with a decent number of memorable songs. As on most Dio albums, there are always songs that are prefered to other songs,

and my favourites are 'The End of the World', 'The Eyes' and 'Living the Lie.' If there are songs from this album that stay in the head, it tends to be these ones, whereas some of the slower numbers plod and don't tend to be so memorable. Dio's voice sounds as good as ever (if a little lower in pitch), and here and there there are standout moments from guitarist Craig Goldy. I'd say buy it, there are not many other performers as consistent as Ronnie Dio around these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Master Of The Moon
Master Of The Moon by Dio (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews