Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars62
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2004
Disco inferno? - more like Hell's inferno, with Blackmore playin the part of Lucifer!! Purple are one of the most underrated bands of all time, anyone with half a brain knows theres a lot more to these guys than Smoke on the Water. This album shows it and its not even considered to be one of their best! I always thought the sound on the original CD release in 1989 was OK at best, but this edition cleans up the whole sound and sticks the volume up another couple of notches - the remixes push it even further!! This album was meant to be played loud and it sounds fantastic on any stereo due to the quality of the mix. The drums are so powerful Ian Paice sounds as if he's on steroids - check out the remix of You Fool No One. The booklet (as per usual with the Purple remasters) is excellent giving a thorough history of the album. If only the Beatles/Stones/Zeppelin etc would take note at how to remaster their albums properly, with decent booklets, remixes, b-sides etc. Purple have always been uncool in the press cos they never had superstar syndrome, so dont listen to the NME/Q/Uncut reviews - they're all journalism students anyway. This album is HIGHLY recommended to anyone who is remotely interested in loud rock n roll.
0Comment|64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Following the departure of vocalist Ian Gillan and Bassist Roger Glover after the lacklustre `Who Do We Think We Are', David Coverdale and Glenn Hughes were recruited as replacements and so Deep Purple Mk 3 was born.

The first album from the new line up was a departure from the pure heavy rock sound they had pioneered with the Mk 2 releases, and sounded fresh and energetic. The inclusion of new blood worked wonders for the band's creativity. The basis of the sound is still the heavy rock, and any rock fans will love this. It's also got a flavour (not much, just a flavour) of funky soul to show the influence of the new band members. It also has a slightly more blues feel to it.

Personally I think this is one of their most consistent releases, with track after track of great music and no filler. It's one of the few of their albums that I play end to end without skipping any. And I love the sound that they were developing, especially on the title track and Lay Down, Stay Down, two classics in the Purple canon.

The 30th anniversary edition contains the original album remastered, a contemporary B side (Coronaries Redig, which has a silly name but is a classic blues/funk/rock workout) and a series of remixes. The remasters are pretty good, with a crisp clear sound. I have to say that the remixes do little for me and I often listen to the original album plus B side and skip the remixes.

5 stars for this classic album.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2004
WOW! This is truly the best album I have ever heard! I have listened to the original recording of 'Burn' all my life so I was delighted to hear my favourite songs polished up for this remastered CD. The title track has never sounded so good, it really shows off Ritchie's and Jon's solos to the max. 'Sail Away' is the highlight of the album, the sexy guitar riff never fails to draw all of your attention, it'll have you humming the song for days. David Coverdale's vocals are particularly excellent on this track, really heart-felt. And of course the legendary 'Mistreated'. What more can I say than Complete Blues Heaven.
The only reservations I had about this album were the remixes as quite often they disappiont , but I was blown away by the sheer power of them, especially the 'Sail Away' and 'Mistreated' remixes. I recommend this to any rock loving person. Truly the best rock album by Purple!
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 October 2010
I'll make no bones about it,Purple mark 3 have always been my favourite,love the Gillan stuff but Mark 3 always grabs you by the throat,either with the ferocity of this release or the more laid back stuff that followed.

Opening with possibly the most ferocious riff Blackmore ever wrote ,the music thunders from the speakers,stunning riff,great drumming,keyboards superb,the new boys performing at the top of their game,Coverdale's vocal debut immense,thats just for openers.The original albums 8 tracks are all excellent,maybe A200 straying to far into ELP territory.

Stll what classics are here? the lung bustin 'Mistreated',swaggering 'Might Just Take Your Life',the strutting Bad Co influenced 'Sail Away',the class of 'You Fool Know One' which would take on a life of its own in the live arena.

This remaster is superb,giving the music a new(visceral) sheen,the remixes are excellent,in truth they dont bring too much different.The only 'real' bonus here is the sublime instrumental 'Coranarias Redig',a track i've loved since discovering it on some obscure best of years ago,Blackmore's guitar playing out of this world.

As always the packaging is superb,slipcase and booklet top notch.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2009
It's been a good few years since I last played this album (I had it on vinyl years ago but never got the CD). The remastered version is fantastic. Coverdale's young voice is superb and considering he was only 23 when he recorded this album is pretty mind-blowing. Glenn Hughes'Funk styled vocals seem to gel superbly with DC's. A superbly eclectic mix of sounds and Richie Blackmore's guitar work is god-sent even though he supposedly detested the 'shoe-shine music' of the new Purple line up. The fairies and pixies must have started screwing up his mind by this stage! John Lord's Hammond organ is always a pleasure to listen to. All in all 'Burn' is probably my favourite Purple album. 10/10
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2006
I have recently bought all of the Deep Purple albums from 'In Rock' to 'Come Taste the Band'. I have read reviews of all of these albums from many different sources. Almost universally, 'In Rock', 'Fireball' and 'Machine Head' are considered DP's best albums. Yes, these are great albums, however, if like me you place a high emphasis on melody and catchiness of the songs then 'Burn' is DP's greatest album. David Coverdale is one of rocks greatest and most under-rated singers whose only crime is to have been born slightly after Robert Plant and Ian Gillan (also great!). Needless to say I also cannot understand why critics do not rate Stormbringer. Both 'Burn' and 'Stormbringer' add a new dimension to DP's sound with amazing dual vocals from both Coverdale and Glenn Hughes and some very memorable guitar solos from Blackmore. Buy it and play it loud!
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2004
Remarkable, this is one of the strongest remixes of the last decade or even since the origin of the CD.
Every vocal or instrument is in perfect balance with each other and is audible in all its clearness.
One can realy overhear it in all its dimensions.
For instance: snare drum and tambourine are matching very well into each other and are at the same time, quite recognizable.
'Burn' deserves to be a hit again. It has a very powerful mix, especially the vocal part and the instrumental solo's, .
'Coronarias Reding' is a jewel wich has a timeless dignity of a melancholic instrumental Purple evergreen and justify its presence on this anniversary edition.
If promoted the proper way, this album could hit the charts again.
A low budget quality CD together with a comprehensive booklet !
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 June 2007
What an under-valued band Purple are. I'm guilty of it myself - before picking up this remastered copy of "Burn" I can't say I'd listened to Deep Purple since my college days, though I'd stayed loyal to their contemporaries, Zeppelin and Sabbath. So why are Purple lost in '70s Hell while their stablemates have legend status? Hard to see why. Ritchie Blackmore is every bit as accomplished a guitarist as Jimmy Page and, though less given to pounding bass, Ian Paice is no less worthy than "Bonzo" Bonham - check out the drum fills on the opening track if you want proof. Plus, Purple have a secret weapon in John Lord's swirling keyboards - on this album lock-stepped with Blackmore's guitar to tremendous effect.

Nevertheless, Purple seem to be anchored to Smoke On The Water and associated primarily wih Ian Gillan's caterwauling vocals. A shame really: 'Smoke' has a strong riff but it's not the most exciting of rock numbers, while Gillan is very much the genre-voice: high pitched, androgynous and oddly dispassionate. For my money, Purple really became a distinctive band in their own right with Gillan's departure and this album, which introduced the world to the duelling styles of Glenn Hughes' choirboy tenor and the bourbon-soaked rasp of David Coverdale's bluesy growl.

Yes, Coverdale is a revelation here. Recruited from the club circuit in the north of England, he was overweight and spotty, a far cry from the snake-hipped rock god he would mutate into. Yet his voice, his voice is straight out of the Delta, all wounded masculine snarls, bruised moans and lascivious purring. He was to take this style further on the follow-up album, Stormbringer, but here he straddles every song, especially lifting the woman-done-me-wrong ballad 'Mistreated' to glorious heights. The closing number, an instrumental, seems strangely uninhabited after that, a throwback to Purple's more pretentious and juvenile past and a reminder of just how far they'd come. Definitely what the "skip" button on your CD player was invented for - though the bonus track 'Coronarias Redig' is more tongue in cheek and leaves a much better taste in the mouth for that reason.

Certainly, there's a turning away here from the conventions of "heavy metal" (a label Purple have always distanced themselves from) and "prog rock" - either of which catergory could have come to define them. This music's closer to the Rolling Stones, or US bands like Aerosmith that were taking off at the same time: good natured bluesy-rock with a swagger that never really dates, made distinctive by Purple's trademark intelligence and classical stylings.

Thinking about it, the great virtue of his album, and this Purple line-up - the down-home earthiness, the feel-good energy and simple play-the-blues ethos - is also its albatross and probably the reason why they're now an unexpected treasure rather than a record collection staple. There's no satanism here, no messages recorded backwards, no songs about suicide, dragons or Norse mythology, nothing that later generations of Goths, fantasy roleplayers or neo-pagans could adopt as an anthem. It's just great music, played by consummate musicians, having a great time! Blackmore, of course, would later recant, defecting to Rainbow to produce Tolkienesque pomp-rock with Ronnie James Dio; stuff I find almost unlistenable now. But this album and Stormbringer endure and I'm very glad to have found them again.

So, this isn't an album that's going to change your life, or give musical expression to some altered state of mind that doesn't have a name yet. But it rocks! And you'll play it lots and fall in love with every song. Just like me!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2004
My review is as follows:
Remarkable, this is one of the strongest remixes of the last decade or even since the origin of the CD.
Every vocal or instrument is in perfect balance with each other and is audible in all its clearness.
One can realy overhear it in all its dimensions.
For instance: snare drum and tambourine are matching very well into each other and are at the same time, quite recognizable.
'Burn' deserves to be a hit again. It has a very powerful mix, especially the vocal part and the instrumental solo's, .
'Coronarias Reding' is a jewel wich has a timeless dignity of a melancholic instrumental 'Purple' evergreen and justify its presence on this anniversary edition.
If promoted the proper way, this album could hit the charts again.
A low budget quality CD together with a comprehensive booklet !
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2010
I agree with many of the reviews, especially that of Francis Brennan. Many Deep Purple fans probably got into the Gillan stuff first and although 'In Rock' and 'Machine Head' are without doubt classics, so is 'Burn' but it was such a big change in direction, many fans just didn't get it at the time or since. Now I can't defend some of the rubbish that Coverdale has put out with Whitesnake (There was some good stuff upto him going all blond and American) but he sang on three of the best Deep Purple albums pressed into vinyl without a doubt, this album being the best of the bunch. A classic from beginning to end in my book although the organ can sound dated to some. Brilliant playing by all concerned and the blend of Coverdale's and Glenn Hughes' vocals is magnificient!

Don't listen to the Gillan fans, buy this, turn it up loud!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)