Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUURRRNNN BABY BURRNNN!
Disco inferno? - more like Hell's inferno, with Blackmore playin the part of Lucifer!! Purple are one of the most underrated bands of all time, anyone with half a brain knows theres a lot more to these guys than Smoke on the Water. This album shows it and its not even considered to be one of their best! I always thought the sound on the original CD release in 1989 was OK...
Published on 21 Oct 2004 by Stratpack

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missing Ian Gillan
Deep Purple without Ian Gillan is not deep purple but another group ...... This seems to me the struggling with puberty
Published 16 months ago by Ronny Buyens


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUURRRNNN BABY BURRNNN!, 21 Oct 2004
By 
This review is from: Burn [30th Anniversary Edition] (Audio CD)
Disco inferno? - more like Hell's inferno, with Blackmore playin the part of Lucifer!! Purple are one of the most underrated bands of all time, anyone with half a brain knows theres a lot more to these guys than Smoke on the Water. This album shows it and its not even considered to be one of their best! I always thought the sound on the original CD release in 1989 was OK at best, but this edition cleans up the whole sound and sticks the volume up another couple of notches - the remixes push it even further!! This album was meant to be played loud and it sounds fantastic on any stereo due to the quality of the mix. The drums are so powerful Ian Paice sounds as if he's on steroids - check out the remix of You Fool No One. The booklet (as per usual with the Purple remasters) is excellent giving a thorough history of the album. If only the Beatles/Stones/Zeppelin etc would take note at how to remaster their albums properly, with decent booklets, remixes, b-sides etc. Purple have always been uncool in the press cos they never had superstar syndrome, so dont listen to the NME/Q/Uncut reviews - they're all journalism students anyway. This album is HIGHLY recommended to anyone who is remotely interested in loud rock n roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Burn' is on fire!, 14 Oct 2004
This review is from: Burn [30th Anniversary Edition] (Audio CD)
WOW! This is truly the best album I have ever heard! I have listened to the original recording of 'Burn' all my life so I was delighted to hear my favourite songs polished up for this remastered CD. The title track has never sounded so good, it really shows off Ritchie's and Jon's solos to the max. 'Sail Away' is the highlight of the album, the sexy guitar riff never fails to draw all of your attention, it'll have you humming the song for days. David Coverdale's vocals are particularly excellent on this track, really heart-felt. And of course the legendary 'Mistreated'. What more can I say than Complete Blues Heaven.
The only reservations I had about this album were the remixes as quite often they disappiont , but I was blown away by the sheer power of them, especially the 'Sail Away' and 'Mistreated' remixes. I recommend this to any rock loving person. Truly the best rock album by Purple!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable Purple remix, 20 Oct 2004
By 
Wilfried Van der Jeught "Wiffe" (Edegem, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burn [30th Anniversary Edition] (Audio CD)
Remarkable, this is one of the strongest remixes of the last decade or even since the origin of the CD.
Every vocal or instrument is in perfect balance with each other and is audible in all its clearness.
One can realy overhear it in all its dimensions.
For instance: snare drum and tambourine are matching very well into each other and are at the same time, quite recognizable.
'Burn' deserves to be a hit again. It has a very powerful mix, especially the vocal part and the instrumental solo's, .
'Coronarias Reding' is a jewel wich has a timeless dignity of a melancholic instrumental Purple evergreen and justify its presence on this anniversary edition.
If promoted the proper way, this album could hit the charts again.
A low budget quality CD together with a comprehensive booklet !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burn, 7 July 2011
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Burn [30th Anniversary Edition] (Audio CD)
Deep Purple really are both survivors and masters of reinvention; in 1969 they were a prog and psychedelic influenced band, with three albums under their belt and when they lost their bassist and singer, they went on to hire Roger Glover and Ian Gillan and subsequently create some of the most acclaimed rock music in history.

By 1974 however, Roger Glover and Ian Gillan were gone, and with them the direction that their music had taken for the past four albums.

Rather than be slayed by this, Deep Purple hired David Coverdale and Glenn Hughes, and went on to record Burn, one of the best albums in their whole career. Burn saw the band insert huge slices of both funk and soul into their sound, now with a dual singer mechanic and write some of their most enduring material to date.

Not only are the new members hungry and determined, but the core of the band is revitalised... Ian Paice's already brilliant drumming reached new levels of creativity and power, while Jon Lord's keyboard style began to incorporate radically different sounds and styles. Add to that Ritchie Blackmore playing guitar like he is trying to prove a point and you have a seriously powerful and creative group, firing on all cylinders and delivering the performance of a lifetime.

Tracks like the explosive opener 'Burn,' the grooving and soulful 'Sail Away,' and the timeless 'Mistreated,' are must hear material for anyone with the slightest interest in Deep Purple or even rock music in general.

Burn may not sound like 'Hush,' and it may not sound like 'Smoke On The Water,' but don't let that allow you to miss out on one of the best albums the band ever released. Highly recommended !

Should you get the 35th anniversary edition, you'll also find some bonus remixes, a studio outake and a very detailed and thorough set of linear notes detailing the album's creation and both the band and the presses reactions at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Deep Purple album!, 28 April 2006
By 
Francis R. Brennan "brennans37" (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burn [30th Anniversary Edition] (Audio CD)
I have recently bought all of the Deep Purple albums from 'In Rock' to 'Come Taste the Band'. I have read reviews of all of these albums from many different sources. Almost universally, 'In Rock', 'Fireball' and 'Machine Head' are considered DP's best albums. Yes, these are great albums, however, if like me you place a high emphasis on melody and catchiness of the songs then 'Burn' is DP's greatest album. David Coverdale is one of rocks greatest and most under-rated singers whose only crime is to have been born slightly after Robert Plant and Ian Gillan (also great!). Needless to say I also cannot understand why critics do not rate Stormbringer. Both 'Burn' and 'Stormbringer' add a new dimension to DP's sound with amazing dual vocals from both Coverdale and Glenn Hughes and some very memorable guitar solos from Blackmore. Buy it and play it loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable Purple remix, 22 Oct 2004
By 
Wilfried Van der Jeught "Wiffe" (Edegem, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burn [30th Anniversary Edition] (Audio CD)
My review is as follows:
Remarkable, this is one of the strongest remixes of the last decade or even since the origin of the CD.
Every vocal or instrument is in perfect balance with each other and is audible in all its clearness.
One can realy overhear it in all its dimensions.
For instance: snare drum and tambourine are matching very well into each other and are at the same time, quite recognizable.
'Burn' deserves to be a hit again. It has a very powerful mix, especially the vocal part and the instrumental solo's, .
'Coronarias Reding' is a jewel wich has a timeless dignity of a melancholic instrumental 'Purple' evergreen and justify its presence on this anniversary edition.
If promoted the proper way, this album could hit the charts again.
A low budget quality CD together with a comprehensive booklet !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burn: Deep Purple - A reinvigorated band make a scorchingly hot record, 16 April 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burn [30th Anniversary Edition] (Audio CD)
Following the departure of vocalist Ian Gillan and Bassist Roger Glover after the lacklustre `Who Do We Think We Are', David Coverdale and Glenn Hughes were recruited as replacements and so Deep Purple Mk 3 was born.

The first album from the new line up was a departure from the pure heavy rock sound they had pioneered with the Mk 2 releases, and sounded fresh and energetic. The inclusion of new blood worked wonders for the band's creativity. The basis of the sound is still the heavy rock, and any rock fans will love this. It's also got a flavour (not much, just a flavour) of funky soul to show the influence of the new band members. It also has a slightly more blues feel to it.

Personally I think this is one of their most consistent releases, with track after track of great music and no filler. It's one of the few of their albums that I play end to end without skipping any. And I love the sound that they were developing, especially on the title track and Lay Down, Stay Down, two classics in the Purple canon.

The 30th anniversary edition contains the original album remastered, a contemporary B side (Coronaries Redig, which has a silly name but is a classic blues/funk/rock workout) and a series of remixes. The remasters are pretty good, with a crisp clear sound. I have to say that the remixes do little for me and I often listen to the original album plus B side and skip the remixes.

5 stars for this classic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple on fire, 18 Oct 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Burn [30th Anniversary Edition] (Audio CD)
I'll make no bones about it,Purple mark 3 have always been my favourite,love the Gillan stuff but Mark 3 always grabs you by the throat,either with the ferocity of this release or the more laid back stuff that followed.

Opening with possibly the most ferocious riff Blackmore ever wrote ,the music thunders from the speakers,stunning riff,great drumming,keyboards superb,the new boys performing at the top of their game,Coverdale's vocal debut immense,thats just for openers.The original albums 8 tracks are all excellent,maybe A200 straying to far into ELP territory.

Stll what classics are here? the lung bustin 'Mistreated',swaggering 'Might Just Take Your Life',the strutting Bad Co influenced 'Sail Away',the class of 'You Fool Know One' which would take on a life of its own in the live arena.

This remaster is superb,giving the music a new(visceral) sheen,the remixes are excellent,in truth they dont bring too much different.The only 'real' bonus here is the sublime instrumental 'Coranarias Redig',a track i've loved since discovering it on some obscure best of years ago,Blackmore's guitar playing out of this world.

As always the packaging is superb,slipcase and booklet top notch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories Re-Mastered, 16 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Burn [30th Anniversary Edition] (Audio CD)
It's been a good few years since I last played this album (I had it on vinyl years ago but never got the CD). The remastered version is fantastic. Coverdale's young voice is superb and considering he was only 23 when he recorded this album is pretty mind-blowing. Glenn Hughes'Funk styled vocals seem to gel superbly with DC's. A superbly eclectic mix of sounds and Richie Blackmore's guitar work is god-sent even though he supposedly detested the 'shoe-shine music' of the new Purple line up. The fairies and pixies must have started screwing up his mind by this stage! John Lord's Hammond organ is always a pleasure to listen to. All in all 'Burn' is probably my favourite Purple album. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Priceless, 9 Aug 2009
By 
M Gough "MG" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burn [30th Anniversary Edition] (Audio CD)
I was always a cynic when it came to re-releases and remixes until I bought and heard this one. I first bought the vinyl back in the 70's and then again on CD in the 90's but this has given, what is a brilliant album, a new lease of life for me. I must be one of DP's most resilient fans and I was naturally sceptical when the Mark 3 version launched on the scenes but there was no need for concern because Mark 3 were good - and I mean really good! So much better than the regurgitations we see in recent times from Mark 3,216. I still bought Bananas, more out of vain hope than anything but you have to ask yourself how brave was Burn coming after the lamented demise of Mark 2, to me, one of the best bands of all time. Buy this 30th anniversary re-release if you remotely like DP and you will be pleased - if you love them like me then you will be knocked out. Take my advice turn up the volume and play track 10, the remix of Mistreated first - it will send tingles down your spine and leave you "lusting" for the rest of the album

Mikey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Burn [30th Anniversary Edition]
Burn [30th Anniversary Edition] by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews