Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An answer to Codemaster�s critics.
Firstly, I would like to commend Codemasters for listening to their customers after the disappointments of the previous TOCA incarnation. I had written a review on Amazon and also made my views known on Codemaster's own forum. My observations seemed to have echoed bt many other reviewers.
The improvements to TOCA Race Driver 2 are extensive and hark back to the days...
Published on 26 Oct 2004 by Silas Wegg

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shocking game
Even after owning this game for so long I still pick it up every now and then and try to complete it. The reason why I cant is because this game is a joke and I find I have to keep myself entertained with other things just to find the will to finish a race the reasons being.

Although the tracks are well planned and look good the cars don't.

All the...
Published on 15 Jan 2007 by D. Knight


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: TOCA Race Driver 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is ace,and it is so much better than the first one.
Graphics are superb,and improved story line.so this game is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bloody fantastic, 21 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: TOCA Race Driver 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is ace. Its got all the credentials of potentially one of the greatest racing games ever, with the wide variety of cars, circuits and competitions it could keep you occupied for weeks and even months. Overall this is a great game for race enthusiasts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars toca race driver 2, 22 Oct 2004
By 
This review is from: TOCA Race Driver 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
First of all i love racing games and because i have played the best i am allways quite critical of some, im still looking for the games that will live up to the standards of GT and Grand Prix 3 in terms of drivebiity and unfortunately this game has not.
The problem is that the cars are far to easy to drive using the joypad controller and yet the pressure sensetive X button does not really help you out on race starts, its just too easy to out break cars into the corners, and in mid corner you can put your foot down and find yourself with an infinate level of grip, the graphics are pretty good considering the amount of cars per race (which is one of the good points).
One great thing about the game is the variety of cars i love the little formula ford cars, in some areas it is very realistic, you spin if you floor it too hard, but the game is pretty poor with the steering wheel unless you can configure it perfectly.
The damage is good you cant go GT3 style and ram other cars off the track all the time.
However dont be fooled by the 33 championship statement unless 2/3 races a championship (each of 2-5 laps) is enough (it should hae been at least 5).
Otherwise a fun game with a good variety of tracks but you really need a steering wheel if you want to feel any kind of reponse from the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awsome, 18 Oct 2004
By 
unknown., (SCOTLAND BABY YEAH!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: TOCA Race Driver 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
this game is the best racing game that i have ever played with brilliant graphics and an adrenalin rush around each corner of every track. i strongly advise that anyone into racing games to buy this one as will be mony well spent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring storyline and poor gameplay, 28 Mar 2005
By 
Mr. M. J. Gunner "MG" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TOCA Race Driver 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
This game was one I expected to be so much. I absolutely loved the originals, but this TOCA 2 has completely missed all the points that amde the originals so good.
Pros
Excellant Graphics
Cons
Boring storyline
Poor, poor gameplay (only the most potent and persistent gamer can handle racing in the Koenig without getting stressed, it's awful)
Considering GT4 is now out, I can't see Toca getting much attention. Fine, beleive everyone else if you want, but unless your a hardcore racing enthusiast this game will just dissapoint.
GT4 all the way.
Conclusion
The grandaddy of racing simulators is now beginning to show its age. Don't bother, unless your hardcore and up for a boring and tiresome ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars great expectations sadly let down, 2 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: TOCA Race Driver 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
OK so TRD2 is more realistic, but the things we in our family loved of the first game was the sheer fun of it!. You didn't lose a wheel at the first impact, the L1 & R1 buttons gave you a glimpse of the sides of your car, and the engine sounds were more deep and fruity!. We were hoping to experience these features with the new game. Sadly our new game will probably be used in our next shop trade-in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

TOCA Race Driver 2 (PS2)
TOCA Race Driver 2 (PS2) by Codemasters (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews