Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning game, totally addictive
We bought this about three weeks ago and have been playing it almost every night and through most of our weekends.

The graphics, controls and gameplay are excellent, although the soundtrack is OK rather than blow-you-away; there is a lot of bias to the rather samey skate-punk tunes, but there are a few stand-out tracks from the likes of the Ramones & Franz...
Published on 18 Nov 2004 by Groovycathers

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Could cause a problem!
Ok so this game is good BUT the reason why i rated this game with only 2 stars is the fact that when playing on xbox live with this title you are restricted to playin with certain players if your tv is 50hz as you can still see and contact players with a 60hz tvs but you cant join there games or play with them in anyway! Therefore i would not recomend this title to anyway...
Published on 27 July 2005 by M J. griffiths


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning game, totally addictive, 18 Nov 2004
By 
This review is from: Burnout 3: Takedown (Xbox) (Video Game)
We bought this about three weeks ago and have been playing it almost every night and through most of our weekends.

The graphics, controls and gameplay are excellent, although the soundtrack is OK rather than blow-you-away; there is a lot of bias to the rather samey skate-punk tunes, but there are a few stand-out tracks from the likes of the Ramones & Franz Ferdinand buried in there as well. The soundtrack can be customised to play selected songs from the full list. There is also the option to turn off the annoying DJ, which is nice.

Another use made a comment about the scenarios becoming repetitive. Personally, I've found it to be far from repetitive; the number of different scenarios is huge, and there are a number of variations in the race and crash types, and even rival driver AI varies to avoid it becoming boring. The depth of the game really stands out, not only is there probably at least 50-60 hours of the main World Tour game to complete, but all the single race and crash options, all of which can be played using cars unlocked from the game (try crashing buses and A-team vans!)

It's *very* addictive - "just one more go" to complete each crash scenario, and then "just one more go" to attempt another one...and another - suddenly the time has gone from 8pm to 11.30pm!

Buy it, enjoy it, but remember that you'll probably be giving up the next 6 weeks of your life to have "just one more go!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to let this take over your life....., 15 Oct 2004
This review is from: Burnout 3: Takedown (Xbox) (Video Game)
This game is insanely fast and dangerously addictive. Great graphics, excellent soundtrack, masses of events and the best arcade racing action of any game, EVER. If you like arcade racers then you cannot ignore this title. It will take you at least 30 hours to get gold medals for all events (based on the fact that I have half of them after 15 hours - and it is now getting very challenging!) plus you can go back and do many events again just for fun or to beat the records. Add to that the unlimited potential of on-line play via xBox live and you have one massive title that cannot fail to dissapoint or be superb value for money.
The ONLY criticism I have is that it would have been nice to have a wider choice of colours for the cars (mostly red, blue, white or black) and for the cars to vary a bit more than they do within each class. Having said that there are loads more cars then in the previous Burnout games, plus some outragous machines that can be unlocked when you've completed certain objectives.
Not quite gaming perfection, but 99% there and that's as close as any racing game has ever come in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FAST FAST FAST!, 6 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Burnout 3: Takedown (Xbox) (Video Game)
Ok, let me just state, Burnout 3 is faster than any game before it. It's faster than you could ever imagine, jesus, its to fast to see. Ok now that that's sunk into your mind, The CRASHES. Sweet Mary Jesus the crashes. It's better than anything you've ever seen in a Hollywood movie. Guarented. You cant help smile every time, even though you've just crashed and probablty lost, you can't help sitting and smirking .

The emphisis is no longer just on racing. As you've probably heard, it's now about destroying your rivals too. There are a few different race modes as well: Race (just a normal race) Crash (Create as much damage as possible) Hot Lap (Basicaly, Time trial) eliminator (last in every lap gets knocked out) Grand prix (a few races for points) and another mode where you just have to take down your enimies.

The "story" (I wouldn't really call it that, but...) mode is "Burnout World Tour." There is no story, just lot's of races. You have to race to unlock medals and awards, cars, and NEW RACES! Lots more new races! It really is a shame EA couldn't put a decent story in, because that would definitly bumb it up to five stars. So this game does start to get boring. So come on EA story for Burnout 4 please! The music is rubbish, just that crappy Punk rock we are all bored with, but thankfully you can turn them off or put your own songs on.

There is quite a good selection of cars (and trucks and buses) from Sports to Muscle to Compact to Specials, all very fast. Jesus, when you get in the F1 type car it's so fast you cant really see where you are going.

There is also online racing, but not being connected to Xbox live myself, I have never played it online. Although I can assure you it will be great.

If you are a Gran Turismo loving person, who lives for detail and realism (where the hell is you're damage, anyway) this probably isn't your thing. I got GT3 free, and payed full price for Burnout 3, but Burnout if by far the best, and has entertained me for far longer (had GT alsomst 1 1/2 years, got Burnout for Christmas 2004.) So, if you love racing so fast it'll make your eyes explode and crashes so good you'll want to crash and LOOSE on purpouse this is where it's at. If you liked the previous Burnouts, you'll love this. Just look at a B1 crash compaired to a B3. See how far it's come?
Being released at the same time as NFSU2 this had some contending to do to sell, because the kids love NFSU. But this is so far ahead it's amazing. Nothing is close. So nothing is goint to bother Burnout 3. Just dont blink!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Racing Game Ever, 13 Sep 2004
This review is from: Burnout 3: Takedown (Xbox) (Video Game)
Remember the hours of fun playing Burnout 2? Remeber how you used to laugh at the fact you could plough into vehicles at breakneck speeds and cause total carnage? Well this concept has been stretched even further in Burnout 3. Many more game modes to play. Many more Crash for Cash Junctions to cuase Havoc in, and more interesting vehicles to choose from. Working on a similar concept to Burnout 2, the more you progress in Single Player, the more cars you get overall. The Single players takes you to different continents where you compete in a variety of events ranging from Fastest Laps, to the awesome new event called Road Rage - the object of this is to take out your opponenets a set number of times before the timer runs out or your car gets too damaged. Crash for cash has also changed slightly. You gain powerups which can alter your score or just cause more mayhem. Imagine flying down a highway then suddenly explode sendings cars flying in all directions doing more damage than you thought possible. Other enhancements to the game itself include "Impact Time" where you slow down the time you are in the air. Coupled with this, you have "Aftertouch". What this basically is, is allowing you to have control of your vehicle as it sails through the air after a crash. The graphics on the game are great and if you can draw your eyes away from concentrating on the racing to look at the scenery and the superb lighting on the skies you'd be pleasantly surprised.
I'd say if you haven't got it already, you ought to get it because this is a game that won't disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Woo hoo!! genius!, 1 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Burnout 3: Takedown (Xbox) (Video Game)
A lot of my friends say driving games aren't that great, and are boring. THEY ARE WRONG!!!!! Some of my relatives think NFSU 2 or GT 4 are the best but burnout beats them both hands down. There isn't a storyline, but you kind of forget by the end of event number 1!! Amazing, smooth colourful graphics, fast paced action that will leave you on the edge of your sofa (thanks to the very long xbox joypad cord ) Loads of different events including crash mode, road rage, etc. but... sometimes you WILL feel like biting your controller in half. It is INFURIATING when you crash in the middle of a race and go from 1st place to 6th!
Also, there are 100 crash juctions. A crash junction is where you crash into oncoming traffic, and try to cause as much carnage as possible. 100 is overdoing it, because you finish one, and then another pops up. you finish that and ANOTHER one pops up, and its gets a bit annoying... to wrap it up, this will keep you going for quite some time, a wide range of unlockable cars , all with different speed and weight, this is NOT a chore to play. There are various american rock music tracks, some of which are terrible, but there are a few which actually made ME drive better. Burnout 4:revenge is coming soon, and it will have a storyline, bigger crashes ,more stuff to do, but B3 will still have a large band of worshippers for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burnout - What A Great Game, 15 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Burnout 3: Takedown (Xbox) (Video Game)
Burnout Takedown is a superb game.I hadn't played on Burnout 2 loads. But the new features on the game add a real new aspect to the game. The aftertouch takedowns ( steering your wreckage ) provides a chance to get back on opponents. The graphics are top quality and the controls are easy to pick-up. The only thing that could be improved on I think is the number of cars that can be unlocked in events like Road Rage, where there are about three cars you can unlock and that's it. Personally I'd also like to be able to have a race in the fire Truck or the bus that you can unlock but to my disappointment you can only use them in crash mode. Although we can't use the beasts in Races they're very useful when trying to clock up some meaty scores on 100 crash sites, not one the same ride as any other. Overall a very good game though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crash And Burn!, 11 Aug 2005
This review is from: Burnout 3: Takedown (Xbox) (Video Game)
Ok, look. Having never played any of the previous Burnout games, I got the game from the mad crash on the cover, thinking it would be another average destruction derby.
Boy was I wrong!
Not only are the graphics amazing, but the game physics are just unrealistic enough to have fun with, unlike some other games. The cars are awesome, the music is sufficiently rebelious, and every time you crash you enjoy it more. However, if you're looking for an exact replica of street racing, look elsewhere.
The bottom line: I know where you live. Get it or be laughed at by me. FOREVER!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly good fun, 18 Oct 2004
By 
Rob Collins "Bobby C" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burnout 3: Takedown (Xbox) (Video Game)
This game is simply fun in a box. This is the only racing game that encourages you to not only win races, but to smash up your opponents too - highly satisfying. There are even rewards for performing "signature takedowns" like smashing opponents into pillars. Whereas games like Gran Turismo 3 and Project Gotham Racing focus on perfecting the technicalities of driving, Burnout 3 is far more forgiving and it's about blasting around as quick as you can and having fun, clipping barriers or other cars usually just slows you down a bit and isn't disasterous unless you collide head-on.
Crash mode could be a game in itself - you drive your car into busy traffic, smashing up everything, blowing up your car and trying to cause as much damage as possible. This is made slightly strategic by tryint to collect craftily-placed pick-ups that can quadruple your score or get you extra cash. The sight and sound of seeing cars reduced into twisted piles of metal and glass is highly satisfying.
This game really has to be seen to be believed. It's just incredible how good the graphics are. The sensation of speed is unbelievable (I have the XBox version).
This game will certainly keep you occupied for a long time. There is enormous variety, plenty of awards to achieve and plenty of tracks and cars to unlock.
I must give the soundtrack a special mention - it's really good if you like American-style Punk Rock. This type of music suits this game down to the ground. Also, rather than just play tunes, there's radio station called Crash FM and a DJ who is actually quite entertaining.
This is one of the best games of the XBox and cannot be recommended highly enough, even if you already own Burnout 1 or 2.
Good points:
* Just so much fun!
* Lots and lots of variety. Never gets boring.
* Incredible sensation of speed for all you adrenaline junkies.
* Great graphics and sound.
* Almost the perfect arcade driving game.
Bad points:
* In the toughest class of car (Super) it can be really hard to win the races because one small mistake can cost you the race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best racing game ever? Arguably so if you ask me!!!, 14 April 2005
By 
The Fault - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Burnout 3: Takedown (Xbox) (Video Game)
Graphics - very colourful and smooth. The lighting is more than adequate and draw distance is good. Cars receive damage with parts flying everywhere so there's good attention to detail.
Sound - lots of rock acts to listen to so if you like that sort of thing then you'll like the music to this game. Burnout 3 also features a rather pointless radio DJ who has absolutely nothing interesting to say but there is an option to shut him up should you so wish.
Gameplay - a lot of fun. Very fast facing action that certainly kept me entertained for a very long while. There are also various gameplay modes to play such as a standard race (against 5 opponents), crash junctions (create as much damage as you can by crashing your car at a busy road junction), knockout races (finish a lap in last place and its race over - you start with 5 oppenents and the car coming in last is knocked out at the end of every lap until there is one remaining) and takedown races (take down as many opponents as is humanly possible within a set time limit but make sure you don't receive too much damage in return). Also, the more dangerous you drive without crashing the more boost you are given to use at will during the race (but if you crash some of the boost will be taken away from you).
Longevity - there is so much to see and do in this game. There are well over hundred of races/crash junctions to work through in total (with 100 crash junctions alone). You compete to earn medals in the world tour (the main body of the game) - there are over 160 medals up for grabs. There is a good selection of cars - must be in the region of about 40 vehicles - ranging all the way from sports compacts through to fire engines and buses (ideal for crashing!). This game had me hooked for about 35 hours in total. Not bad for an arcade racer!
Multiplayer - the multiplayer mode is adequate. You can play all the crash junctions and race tracks from the main game. But for some reason there is no music in multiplayer which I feel detracts from the atmosphere slightly.
Controls - easy to get to grips with. Controls are pretty standard for an Xbox racing game with the right shoulder trigger for accelerating and the left for braking.
Overall - a top class racing game from start to finish. I'd give this more than five stars if I could. I never thought I would have quite so much fun as I did. I would recommend this to anyone. Thouroughly enjoyable, completely addictive and very rarely frustrating. This is an almost perfect arcade racer. I say almost as nothing's ever perfect. But this comes very close! Buy it without delay!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Burnout, 4 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Burnout 3: Takedown (Xbox) (Video Game)
Burnout 3 is a game of speed, risk taking and trashing your opponants car in to dust.
If you have played the 2nd game and enjoyed it, this one beats it hands down. The enviroments are lush and the car models are even better to look at. The damage modeling has been made more realistic and the inclusion of more playable cars including lorrys, vans and a fire engine means more mayhem can be had by all.
The new mode "road rage" is excelent fun. It is a race with no finish line. The idea is to knock your opponants car off the road in spectacular fashion which is then shown in slow motion replay. The more more cars you knock off the road the higher the score.
Crash mode has also gone through a change of sorts. There are now 100 different crash sites to compeat in. As well as bonus icons which can double or quadruple your score or halve it. However the inclusion of a self destruct button which can be operated after a certain amount of collisions gives a little extra oomph to the proceedings and your score.
The Inclusion of "aftertouch" which gives you the chance to hit an opponants car after you have crashed adds to the fun.
The races are the same although there are more tracks. and 3 different countrys. America, Europe and Japan.
The only failing I thought the game has is the fact that race replays have now gone. You can no longer whatch your opponant cause a 20 car pile up as you dodged the oncoming wrecks Bad Boys 2 style. although they are still viewable in crash mode. All in All an excelent game very playable and forgiving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Burnout 3: Takedown (Xbox)
Burnout 3: Takedown (Xbox) by Electronic Arts (Xbox)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews