Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Storming debut, but how much more to come?
All too often these days bands are laelled with the title "the new Stone Roses" or "the new Oasis". The same has been said of Kasabian, as one glance at the sticker of the CD case will soon show.
The big difference with this band is that they are not trying to be the new anything.
Rarely have I heard a debut album of such quality. One of the truly difficult...
Published on 24 Jan 2005 by Nick Edwards

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars They get better... eventually
This album seemed like a bad buy to me from the second it was being burned onto my computer.

There are a lot of forgettable tracks, and others that just seem wacky. As on even the good Kasabian albums, there is the ever-present 50 second piece of rubbish noise that they call a track, and apart from a few highlights, it appears a dull mess.

I...
Published on 18 Dec 2011 by J.Nuttall


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Storming debut, but how much more to come?, 24 Jan 2005
By 
This review is from: Kasabian (Audio CD)
All too often these days bands are laelled with the title "the new Stone Roses" or "the new Oasis". The same has been said of Kasabian, as one glance at the sticker of the CD case will soon show.
The big difference with this band is that they are not trying to be the new anything.
Rarely have I heard a debut album of such quality. One of the truly difficult things for a band to do is meld the standard Guitar/Bass/Drum/Vocal sound with that of heavy Electronica, but Kasabian have pulled it off with a stroke of genius.
Other comments have focused on the lack of real songwriting ability. It is true that the vocals, whilst very well delivered, do lack some substance; but then this band do not seem to be trying to give us Ocean Colour Scene quality lyrics, and have focused more on their undoubted talent at writing songs to pull you in an hook you. And they have done that very nicely, thank you.
The stand out tracks on the album include the storming "L.S.F. (Lost Souls Forever)", sure to become a festival anthem in the summer, "Ovary Stripe", perhaps the best instrumental I have heard since the Melody AM album by Royksopp, and "Reason is Treason".
The real question, and one that so often leads to disappontment these days, is how good the follow-up will be. Whilst this album sets them apart from so many bands, can their second album do the same? On the basis of this album, I truly hope that there is much more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!, 10 Dec 2006
This review is from: Kasabian (Audio CD)
I think Kasabian are one of the best acts around at the moment. I normally get bored very easily, however I bought this album a good while ago and I still listen to it all the time.

As with most albums the first few tracks are definitely the strongest songs, but the entire album is very strong.

I would not skip through any o fthe tracks on the album......and on the last track if you let it play on theres a banging version of Reason Is Treason which will blow you away!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must-buy!, 8 Sep 2004
This review is from: Kasabian (Audio CD)
I'd not heard much about Kasabian before buying the new album. I'd heard 'L.S.F' and 'Processed beats' and this was enough to convince me to buy! U know how it is though. You hear a track or two off an album, go and buy it and feel let down when the rest is below average.
NOT, however, with this! From the opening 'Club Foot' with its tribal chants, guitar heavy licks and phat beats, all the way through to the epic-sounding (if short) 'Ovary Stripe', this album needs a minimum of 3 spins a day! Their use of conventional music production mixed with the synth based side, and the way it mixes and drops in and out of these different genres makes this a real 'thinkers' record (see 'Reason is Treason). One minute the track is pounding alond, beats-heavy and sounding very rock-like, the next it breaks down into an ethereal swirl of pads and synth stabs before dropping back into the beats once again.
My personal fave from the record has to be 'I.D', it has everything that a song should have. Emotion, drive, decent lyrics and a completely awe-inspiring feel. Press that repeat button!
Tom Meighans vocals slice into you with (dare I say it) an almost Gallagher-esque resonance mixed with the attitude of Shaun Ryder. The rest of the band follow suit, with Sergio Pizzorno's guitar twisting and churning out the riffs. For an album mixed by Jim Abiss (the guy behind DJ Shadow), you can certainly hear the input he's brought to this disc.
So, all in all I highly recommend this disc. Buy it, play it, enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars About time someone did something new, 15 Feb 2005
This review is from: Kasabian (Audio CD)
The swing of modern music towards the banal and predictable has become an increasingly frustrating issue today, so it is certainly rewarding to uncover a unique and progressive sounding band like Kasabian. In this debut album they incorporate electronic backing with ethereal second coming-era stone roses guitar to produce a mix which although indie in style, is also as meaty and thought provoking as say, Radiohead or Muse. "John he was a scientist/he was hooked on Lsd," the psychadelic humour that opens the inspiring Cutt Off, and "all lying across the ground/try not to make no sound," the bleak, apocalyptic call of Running Battle show a range in subject matter, whilst still reinforcing the ever present social conscious and drug-addled craziness that run throughout.
LSF and Processed beats blare like the most established of anthems and in reason is Treason the album finds its fulcrum and focal point, sounding like love spreads for a new generation. Overall, if you Like Primal Scream, The Stone Roses, Muse and you're bored with Keane, Feeder, Embrace and the like the chances are you will certainly get good mileage from this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new wave sound, 14 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Kasabian (Audio CD)
This album came to me from a friend and i was relatively unaware of the band, but since hearing singles such as LSF and Processed Beats Kasabian have since become a favourite in my music selection. With a fantastic live show this band are set for stage glory. The album itself is very unique with a small hint of Primal Scream here and there but overall a very special and groundbreaking album. This album is not for everyone but for fans of Franz Ferdinand, The Stills and possibly Million Dead. It is fantastic to see bands like Kasabian being part of the new wave of fantastic music coming from Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool., 27 Sep 2004
By 
K. Mair - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kasabian (Audio CD)
To me, I see Kasabian as a cross between The Music, Kula Shaker (without the Indian influences), The Cooper Temple Clause, and the Stone Roses. And believe me, what a glorious combination that is. Tracks like Processed Beats and the slow-building I.D. simply ooze cool, and demand you to strut along, nodding at everyone you pass, just as The Music do at the best of times. L.S.F. is a wonderfully danceable tune, while I defy anyone not to 'Aaaah' along to the chorus of Cutt Off.
This is a prime slab of quality British music, something the UK needs at the moment to regain our place as the best musical destination in the world. While this album can't and doesn't do that on its own, it sure is a stepping stone towards that ultimate end goal. Recommended for all fans of great music.
Oh yeah, by the way, if you can, get the limited edition of this album cos it comes in a cool all black cd case and is double sided- one side is the CD side, the other is a DVD with loads of nice extras!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My album of 2004, 1 Jan 2005
This review is from: Kasabian (Audio CD)
The most interesting band to emerge in the UK for a while I think. Its actually quite tricky to pick the standout tracks. The most immediate are (mostly) singles - Club Foot, Processed Beats, Reason is Treason, LSF and Cut Off. But most of the rest of the album has grown on me to the point where the only things on it I don't like are a couple of rather pointless synth noodles - Pinch Roller and Overy Stripe (the latter being a nice idea but hardly a full length track). Other problems? Well the recording quality isn't as good as it might have been (the self-produced nature of it comes through a bit strongly for my taste) and they over use the sudden stop as a way of ending a piece but, all in all, I reckon its worth buying a copy and keeping an eye on this lot. I shall be very interested to see what they do next. Buy it, turn it up and play it load.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves 5 stars by modern standards..., 8 July 2007
By 
DSR (out beyond the sticks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Kasabian (Audio CD)
I've come to Kasabian backwards, my wife buying the followup "Empire" first.

I've now watched the band several times on TV performing "live" and can vouch for their growing status as a great live act. They really get the audience involved and all credit to them for that...

Having cringed at the awful sound quality of the "Empire" album preventing any involvement in the music on offer, this comes as a breath of fresh air - well almost... production is acceptable, but still drenched in '60's style distortion, which is totally mad, bearing in mind how incredible modern recording and production techniques can be..

The music on this debut is of a very good standard to me - extremely "retro" in style, but not at all bad for that. I suspect most fans won't have been born when this style was commonplace......

I can certainly recommend this debut as an entertaining piece of "modern retro," just don't expect top sound quality...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neo-baggy-groove-rock, 29 Sep 2004
This review is from: Kasabian (Audio CD)
I have been a staunch fan of all things Madchester and Primal Scream for some time, so Kasabian come to me as a godsend, the anithesis to modern music. Proclaiming themselves almost as a revolution in their own right, they strut onto the music scene with the coolness one comes to associate only with the grooviest baggiest legends.
Try your best not to sing along to these songs, after but one listen I was hooked, something that hasn't happened to me since "Morning Glory" or "Peasants, Pigs and Astronauts".
From what I can gather, they seem to be about making weird but accessible tunes with more than a slight nod to the musicianship of Primal Scream and thanking possibly The Stone Roses for the way that their songs seem to bounce on effortles grooves.
This is music of the future, buy it now, you will not be disappoited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Midlands Mood Moozic, 29 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Kasabian (Audio CD)
Fantastic!
Atmospheric!
Foward-loking!
Having been bemused by some rather narrow-minded reviews I was exhilrated listening to this stunning debut by Leicester quartet Kasabian.
Filmic synths,buzzing guitars and languid basslines make this one of the most modern sounding albums of the year. Streets away from some of the authentic slush that has stained the indie-scene,Kasabian is more evidence that UK music is re-emerging from the shadows.
Chris Karloff and Serge Pizzorno dominate this album as songwriters but have created a rich and varied tapestry of dance-orientated alternative music.
Most of the tracks resemble downbeat collages of sinister keys and vibrant vocals, mixed in with fresh vigour and confidence.
Buy this and weep with joy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kasabian
Kasabian by Kasabian (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews