Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU KNOWS IT CLART!!!
The Goldie Lookin Chain album is finally here for your listening pleasure - and every track will have you cracking up as they go through lyrics such as 'your mothers got a short dress on that sometimes exposes the tip of her dong.' GLC have been causing a bit of a stir on the underground scene for quitew a while now, playing shows in smaller venues but they are now...
Published on 10 Sep 2004 by richardleigh12

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
This cd carp and it not good cd
Published 1 month ago by mitch


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lighten up clarts, 13 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Check out the hidden track - tip - rewind from start of track 1 if you bothered to buy the CD, then go on holiday and get the DSS to pay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 17 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. Sc Dann (Kernow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Cornish are cousins to the Welsh and these guys make me proud to be family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
very reasonable price speedy delivery many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music that tells how it is.., 29 Jun 2013
By 
C. Mildner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
When I first heard of GLC , I immediately thought " no-mark dossers , wasters just being tossers"... BUT listening to this album is wonderful... The humour behind the tales is side-splittingly superb... Every track tells how these lads look at life... its a reflection of how this political system we live in , really casts aside everyone except those with privelege and connections... "who gives a toss about the ordinary man/youth in the street ? were allright", is the attitude of todays career politicians...
Good to see that these lads have made something out of being in a really crap place. Well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracker, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Andy (Lerwick, Shetland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
In your fifties you shouldn't really like a CD like this, but as I haven't grown up much since my teens this is right up my street. If it doesn't have you laughing then there is something amiss with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lighten up!, 5 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Some people really need to lighten up. GLC are doing exactly what Grahams246 advocates - 'absorbing all of this and spitting it out into something new'. They are pure pastiche, but witty with it, both paying homage and ridiculing the whole hip-hop culture (though more in a Beastie Boys style than the uber-slick likes of Usher). No grand political agenda, they're just out to have fun! I've no idea what he's on about, saying this represents the middle class fear of hip-hop music - ello?! Someone needs to get a sense of humour...if you've got one you'll probably appreciate this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You knows it's great!, 13 Dec 2004
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Not long after the release of 'Guns Don't Kill People, Rappers Do', a catchy rap about the joys of gun crime, Welsh rappers Goldie Lookin' Chain returned with their debut album, 'Greatest Hits'.
The tracksuit-clad rap band, originally known for their amusing lyrics about Newport and all its glory, are about to embark on their European tour after having realised the success they have gained over the past year since the release of 'Half Man, Half Machine' - their debut single which shot straight into the top twenty back in April.

The album includes some of the band's most hilarious songs, including the most recent success, 'Your Mother's Got a Penis', as well as the equally amusing 'Soap Bar'. Also on the album is the B-side track 'Self Suicide', a humorous track about how suicide can, apparently, get you famous. The GLC's rhymes mainly focus on killings, drugs and, more randomly, robots - but all to make us laugh, of course.
This is a band that blatantly takes the mickey out of specific aspects of real life - just listening to one of these songs will make you laugh and have you singing it for the rest for the week. You have been warned, they're catchy. If this seems to suit your taste, then you won't be disappointed. However, if you don't find a group of men dressed like cider-swigging kids on a street corner yelling about your mother's genitals at all appealing, then give this a miss. But I can assure you, after hearing the lyrics you will laugh so hard you may just miss your Sunday lunch at McDonald's - GLC style. You knows it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Laugh!!!, 2 Feb 2005
By 
John Kimble (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I'll keep this short.
You'll be laughing all the way, there are some classics in here, and you'll find yourself singing the lines as your walking or whatever, you'll get a laugh from all the songs, but some are just pure gold!
This is a great comedy album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tounge in cheek!, 14 Dec 2004
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I never normally write reviews but I was reading the reviews on this album and was curious to what others think about it. Me, myself - I think it's fun, catchy, hilarious and overall just a tounge in cheek album! I don't understand why grahams246 thinks what he thinks, I think you're reading into this album too much. It's just a bit of light hearted fun, if anything the guys are making an arse of themselves and not any other artist. People should listen to this album and have a good giggle, as I said, it's catchy, the tunes stick in your head and it's all a bit of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Safe as, 25 Sep 2005
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The GLC inspire much opprobrium for supposedly sending up hip hop culture, yet one listen to this album shows that they are technically competent and can walk the walk, even if it is across a Newport council estate. The lyrics are hilarious and have often caused me to nearly crash my bicycle listening to the pathetic attempts at spelling S-U-I-C-I-D-E or another line about the late Michael Hutchence. Ultimately the GLC are an experiment in society holding a mirror to itself. We choose to laugh at their behaviour, but the laugh is tempered by the knowledge that so many people choose to behave in this way for real - thinking life is nothing but one long party funded by the state. It would not surprise me if the boys behind the GLC all went to RADA and spoke with an RP accent, given the quality of their writing. Let's hope the new album is as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Goldie Lookin Chain (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews