Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fangs for the memories!! My favourite Dracula so far!
I was around 9 or ten when I first encountered this version of Dracula. We had recorded it on the video. And, after my first watch, the video tape itself acquired an aura of pure, unadulterated, unspeakable evil! I can safely say that it has been one of the most influential movies of my life and, together with the first three Omen films and, even earlier, the...
Published on 28 Jan. 2012 by chinhealer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It Doesnt Suck
This version of the lusty count isnt bad. Frank Langella makes for a sympathetic count and its perhaps this element that stops it from being really frightening. As dashing as Frank is he exudes little in the way of menace. However the British locations are sumptuous and the supporting cast of Laurence Olivier, Donald Pleasance,Trevor Eve and Tony Haygarth as an excellent...
Published on 10 Dec. 2008 by G. R. Donaldson


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Still fangtastic, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula (Amazon Instant Video)
Haven't watched this for years, about 30 years. It's still a fantastic film about the Count and doesn't look too dated, in fact it still looks great. The HD transfer is fantastic.

The issue over the de-colourisation, which put me off buying it, isn't has bad as I thought. The main issue with that is that the lack of colour makes some scenes look almost green, rather than colour or black and white. i thought it would really put me off watching it but it didn't. I can see, in a lot of scenes, where the lack of colour actually does make it look better. However, other scenes, such as scenic moments outside could definately do with the colour putting back, it made the area and country side look far to bleak.

The acting, still great, Frank Langella makes for one of the most engaging, and attractive, Dracula's ever and Trevor Eve was great has Harker.

All in all, still love this film, still holds up after all these years and doesn't look that date, considering it was released in 1979. I now believe it is definately OK to buy it now, and not just rent it on Amazon Instant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 6 Dec. 2005
I have seen this film a 100 times and I will see it 100 times more, Fantastic version of this tale of horror. Frank Langella is superb as the debonair but chilling Count Dracula. The Atmosphere is eerie, and the effects are spine chillingly brilliant. Well done to all involved..FABULOUS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked version of Dracula., 19 Aug. 2007
This review is from: Dracula [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This 1979 version of Dracula is much less well known than the 1931 Lugosi version or the Hammer version with Christopher Lee. I expected an average or even below-average Dracula movie, and was very pleasantly surprised by this very ambitious movie. The director has created a great, creepy atmosphere and Frank Langella does a very good Dracula. As much as I love Bela Lugosi, with his accent and intensity, Langella has an erotic quality that even Lugosi can't match. An he is helped by a good supporting cast. Surprisingly, the least convincing performance is that of Laurence Olivier as Professor Van Helsing.

Horror movie fans should definately not miss this very good Dracula movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Who is Mina Van Helsing???? The ..., 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula [DVD] (DVD)
Who is Mina Van Helsing???? The characters in this film have changed completely; she wasn't supposed to be the daughter of the vampire killer but Mina Harker, married to Jonathan. Instead they have her friend Lucy marrying Jonathan and therefor kill Mina off. All very confusing. The film is ok if you haven't read the original book. Also this film opens with the ship wreck so Mr Harker doesn't even initially visit the Count in Transylvania beforehand. Mr Jourdan plays his part as a romantic that the women are enchanted by instead of the monster in the book. Also he is seen in daylight, it wasn't dark when he was on his horse..... Enjoyable if not a bit inaccurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This UK DVD is a disaster!, 12 April 2008
By 
Robert (St. Neots, Cambs, ENGLAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dracula [DVD] (DVD)
Aside from the widescreen ratio being incorrect (1.78:1 instead of 2.35:1), the colour has been drained at the request of director John Badham! The colour in the film as it was made is fantastic, but Badham wanted the film to look like this after Universal refused to have it shot in black and white back in 1979. The Universal Region 1 DVD in U.S.A is in the correct 2.35:1 widescreen ratio, but still without the colour. I returned my UK Region 2 DVD fast as Universal in London made a total mess of it. The Region 1 DVD is barely acceptable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Washed Out Disappointment!, 9 Oct. 2014
By 
D. Preston - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very disappointing that Universal have chosen to release the colour de-saturated version of this fine movie. The director stated that this was his preferred version. At times you will think that you are watching a black & white film. This is a great pity as the Blu Ray transfer is very good. Clarity and sharpness are excellent making you pine for the full coloured version originally shown in cinemas when it was first released. Increasing the colour and red tint to full on your TV will help a little. Technical issues aside this is a wonderful version of the oft told tale. Langella is magnetic as the Count and the supporting cast do not disappoint, with perhaps the exception of Laurence Olivier's Van Helsing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars frank brilliant mina the vamp terrifying, 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
one of the best, i watched it in the 1970s and found it to be really
good, frank langella is a very good actor and the film has a very good cast
one thing that stands out and really scared the c****p out of me
was when mina is discovered in the coal mine i jumped several feet
really awfull appearance well worth a look
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Give me your hat and throat, 30 Jan. 2015
By 
JMD1 (Bute, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula [DVD] (DVD)
A pretty good effort at sticking to Stoker's original story. Langella is superb as is Donald Pleasance but why did Olivier attempt accents when he was useless at them. The film is memorable for being one of the first films is Dolby Surround. If you play this through a sound system you'll hear all the scary little noises in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I have always enjoyed Badham's overblown Gothic romantic version of the Deane and ..., 22 Sept. 2014
I have always enjoyed Badham's overblown Gothic romantic version of the Deane and Balderston stage play because it delivers mostly all it sets out to achieve, mood, music, romance, excitement, violence (but not the sex), and yet I have harboured a little negative ever since I saw it back in 1979... a small thing no less to my 54 year old sensibilities, but it illustrates quite vividly the ransacking of obscure classic works that are never given credit.

In 1977 I purchased a Corgi paperback entitled "The Rivals of Dracula" edited by Michel Parry and it includes a lost story from 1860 called "The Mysterious Stranger".

Badham's film-

Dracula (to Lucy) having invited her to his candlelit castle for dinner-
Dracula: "But I must warn you to take care."
Lucy: "Whatever for?"
Dracula: "If at any time my company does not please you, you will have only yourself to blame, for an acquaintance who seldom forces himself... but is difficult to be rid of." (Dracula can be forgiven his lazy English, in Stoker at least, for ending his sentence with a preposition, but screenwriter W. D. Richter cannot, and not only proves sloppy English but also plagiarism... or is that 'homage'?!)

Compare with the 1860 Anonymous story "The Mysterious Stranger"...

Franziska: "Well, since the moon is your sun, pray pay a frequent visit to our castle by the light of its rays. I think ... it will be very nice for us to be acquainted."
Knight Azzo: "If my company does not please you at any time, you will have only yourself to blame for an acquaintance with one who seldom forces himself, but is difficult to shake off."

There are so many similarities in "Dracula" to this almost forgotten Gothic gem that prove Stoker's inspiration, and for Sheridan Le Fanu's "Carmilla" for that matter... just like when Argento ripped off De Quincey, yet it is almost sad that so often it is the case that there is no respectful acknowledgement for the source prose.

So the prose lives, and as far as I am aware, Badham's film is the only adaptation of Dracula to lift this dialogue.

That said, I look forward to the Bluray. It would be nice to think that the print being used was the original Technicolor one and not Badham's dull-toned 'muted' version that robs his romance of its lush vibrancy. Dreaming of course...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula [DVD] (DVD)
Everything was well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews