Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gulliver's Travels: 60th Anniversary Edition (WinStar)
Fleischer Studios' 1939 feature "Gulliver's Travels" are nowadays in public domain which means there are many different DVD versions out there. I have of course not watched every one of them but if you want to be sure that you get a good print of the movie, buy this one. It might not be the cheapest version, but considering how bad a bad print really are, I'd recommend to...
Published on 16 Feb. 2009 by mapl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Still a bit grainy but after so long I suppose you can't expect much else
Published 5 months ago by lynda wood


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gulliver's Travels: 60th Anniversary Edition (WinStar), 16 Feb. 2009
Fleischer Studios' 1939 feature "Gulliver's Travels" are nowadays in public domain which means there are many different DVD versions out there. I have of course not watched every one of them but if you want to be sure that you get a good print of the movie, buy this one. It might not be the cheapest version, but considering how bad a bad print really are, I'd recommend to pay a little extra to get this one.

The picture quality is great and it is as far as I know a complete version of the film, including both the Paramount titles and Gabby's first scene (which I think's missing in some prints). And don't be worry about the text on the front cover about the "5.1 soundtrack with new sounds and effects" - you CAN choose the original mono track instead without any of those new sound effects.

Extras:

- 5 minutes documentary about the Fleischer Studios in Miami (part of the Popular Science series from the 30's)

- Two short films by Fleischer Studios featuring Gabby: "King for a Day" (1940) and "Swing Cleaning" (1941)

- Restoration demonstration of a Superman short
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gulliver,s travels dvd, 3 April 2009
By 
Kathleen Houston (Northern Ireland.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i don't know why anybody hasn't reviewed this wonderful old classic Gulliver's travels, it may of been made in 1939 but, it,s brilliant humour and a brilliant story is for all ages. believe me get this cartoon classic you won't regret it, it,s wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gullivers Travels, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My grandaughter wanted to know more about Gulliver after going on a ride in an Adventure Park. She is 4 years old and loves this DVD, would thoroughly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great children's adaption, 21 Jun. 2004
Shipwrecked sailor, Lemuel Gulliver finishes up on the island of Lilliput, a little country inhabited by tiny people no bigger than his thumb. When Gulliver learns of a petty conflict between the Lilliputians and their equally tiny rivals, he attempts to settle things peacefully before war breaks out.
A great film for kids and sadly underrated, possibly because it first came out at the same time as Disney's Snow White.
The animation, which is chiefly 'rotoscoping' for the title character, may seem archaic in today's market, but considering that this film was made in 1939 this was a major achievement.
The sequence where the Lilliputians were trussing up, hoisting and carting a sleeping Gulliver to their king's palace was very well thought out and this film is well worth the watching if only for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic cartoon, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gulliver's Travels [DVD] (DVD)
When I was about seven years old (A very, very long time ago!) my local cinema srarted a Saturday morning Junior Club.
The programme consisted of cartoons a serial and ended with a feature film. This was the feature film shown at the very first Junior Club. This feature cartoon is equal to Disney's and it hasn't dated at all Good story and music very well restored. Highly recommended..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old favourite, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to get our old video replaced!
Delivered promptly in good condition. Pricey, but worth it to have a copy of this classic on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gulliver's Travels DVD, 30 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. William Caulfield (Melton Mowbray, Leics, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw this film in 1941, when I was aged eight. Its liveliness and its songs enchanted me -not as soppy as "Snow White".. It has never reappeared, to my knowledge, in the cinema or on television. It is vastly more entertaining than remakes and should make a fine Christmas for children of all ages (except, perhaps, teenagers).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GULLIVER STANDS THE TEST OF TIME, 30 Sept. 2010
By 
J. E. Rock (West Bromwich uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gulliver's Travels [DVD] (DVD)
This animated story created in the 1930's as a competitor to Snow White and the 7 Dwarfs is a masterpiece of drawing skills and humour designed to delight adults and children alike. My 3 year old grandson has watched it time and time again delighting in the characters and storyline. Well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Old movie, 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a classic old movie made in 1939, but I couldn't find any other movies as good as this in the selection. It was hard to download it,too. But I guess it was worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gullivers travels (1939), 6 Aug. 2009
By 
Derek Hutchinson (darlingington;united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Gulliver`s Travels is a delightful film it is suitable for all age groups
I would recomend it to anyone. I first got to know about Gulliver`s Travels when my mother gave me a story book of it when I was a small boy

It`s a film I have always liked and I am sure you will like it to It`s just right for everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gulliver's Travels [DVD]
Gulliver's Travels [DVD] by Dave Fleischer (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: £7.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews