Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2004
Absolutely right! A change is as good as a rest, the cliche goes - and this case it is dead right. This is Bruce's best album since his first, and might even be better than that. No weak tracks, and some absolute crackers. The best track is 'Mirror on the Wall' which will have you grabbing for the lyric sheet and singing along. But all the other tracks are Bruce Hornsby at his best. Whilst previous albums just had the odd gem, this has a hatful of them. It is a worthwhile addition to any collection. I love it!!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 August 2004
Well Amazon's reviewer says this is "mercilessly tasteful middle-of-the-road rock for mortgage-paying grown-ups", well what's wrong with that!
Bruce Hornsby's latest CD just shines through as the work of a very skilled musician, the kind of thing that only comes with years of experience, no boy band synth here.
Some tracks have a distinct 'Americana' style to them (that sound and atmosphere that brings to mind images of Wild West settlers crossing a prairie:-) ) and there is a certain 'sameness' to a couple of tracks, but Hornsby's magnificent, flowing piano playing lights up every single track.
Hornsby fans will love this new CD, its a great fusion of jazz, pop, and piano, while other music loving grown ups with or without a mortgage should love it too.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2004
I wouldnt call myself a big fan of Bruce, I brought "The Way it is" in 1986 and played it to death (along with several million other people). I also caught a live show in the USA several years back, which was good but not great.
However, this album is magificent, a great blend of styles and collaborations. Well written and arranged. You can clearly hear the influences in each track, and this adds to the listening pleasure.
Best played loud, and often. Its a shame I can only give it 5 stars.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2004
After Hornsby's brief sojourn to the funk and of trip-hoppy landscapes of Big Swing Face, I put Halcyon days into my cd player with an uneasy sense of trepidation. No denying that Big Swing was a bold step and that approaching the land of 50-ness with a wake of 8 albums which followed a well-trodden formula did indeed require something of a key change. This was not it. Whilst appealing to musos and academics studying kaleidoscopic splices, improvisatory loops and outlandish harmonic sequences, Big Swing was clearly a little too much for many Hornsby fans to stomach.
Halcyon Days is on the other hand a total winner. Combining a much desired return to Hornsby's magical and spine-tingling piano wizardry, this new album is a blazing example how the poetic and lucid harmonies that we all know and love can be combined with new, richer textures and instrumentation to produce an album which is absolutely magical.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2004
He has just changed record labels after becoming disenchanted. He has called in favours from friends to produce a stunning album . The opening track has a riff which is as infectious as the " Way it is " hook. Circus on the Moon also has immediate appeal. As always with Bruce's records, the less immediate tracks grow on you to become firm favourites.
You've got to buy this CD and play it loud!!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2004
After his last album I was a little unsure of what to expect, however within listening to this one a few times I'm completely hooked on most of the songs. I think this album is a mix of 'Spirit Trail' groove & 'Big Swing Face' style. One of the songs reminds me of 'Line in the Dust' (Spirit Trail).
You'll be putting this on in the house, car, at work, shower - everywhere. Plus with vocal appearances by Sting & Sir Elton John what's stopping you. Buy It!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2004
Lot's to worry about here - Elton John, Sting, Eric Clapton guest, and a new Randy Newman fixation. But Bruce has probably pulled it off. His albums always reveal themselves over time, the vocal lines tending to have an almost r'n'b fluidity and complexity that take a few listens to settle in. 'Spirit Trail' was instantly recognisable as a classic, 'Here Come the Noise Makers' is IMHO one of the finest live records ever made, so he sets a high bar.
Early listenings suggest 'Circus on the Moon' and 'Halcyon Days' are standouts, 'Gonna be some changes made' will hopefully hook in radio listeners that maybe only got as far as 'The Way it is'. Off to give it a few more spins, as always with Bruce it takes time for the real subtleties to reveal themselves, and to work out how he does stuff. Did I mention he's a bit handy on the Joanna?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2004
A sure fire Grammy winner, or it should be! As good as his first 2 albums. Eric Claptons' solos(2) and duet are as near perfect as you could ask for, some of his best work ever. Every track on this album is a winner.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2016
Different style to other albums - not my favourite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2015
Brilliant sound, brilliant album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.49
£14.63

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.