Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT Part 2
If you bought the first boxset(Year 2 Part 1)you might as well treat yourself and buy this second boxset so to complete the season.
This set is just as good as the first,and the box the videos come in is good because it follows on from the first.
There are 11 episodes in this boxset just like the last set and the best IMO are "The Way We...
Published on 10 Nov 2001

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a great Simpsons video
The Simpson's are the funniest TV show I've ever seen, and this is a great video, don't get me wrong, but by The Simpson's high standards, it's mediocre. The Springfield Files is good, guest starring X-File's Mulder and Scully and containing a hilarious introduction from Lenard Nimoy, but it isn't an episode that you'd want to watch over and over action. After about...
Published on 25 April 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT Part 2, 10 Nov 2001
By A Customer
If you bought the first boxset(Year 2 Part 1)you might as well treat yourself and buy this second boxset so to complete the season.
This set is just as good as the first,and the box the videos come in is good because it follows on from the first.
There are 11 episodes in this boxset just like the last set and the best IMO are "The Way We Was","Lisa's Substitute" and "3 Men and a comic Book".
The episode on the tapes are
1.The Way We Was/2.Homer Vs. Lisa and the 8th commandment/3.Bart's Dog Gets an F/4.Principal Charming/5.Oh bother where art thou?/6.Old Money/7.Brush with Greatness/8.Lisa's Substitute/9.The Way of the Simpsons/10.3 men and a comic book/11.Blood feud

Get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutly Superb!, 29 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Some of the best episodes and moments come of the whole series come from the second season of The Simpsons. Why who could forget: Blinky, the three eyed fish ('Two Cars in Every Garage...'), Homer getting hair ('Simpson and Delilah'), the very first Treehouse of Horror episode, Homer jumping Springfield Gorge ('Bart the Daredevil'), the non-violent Itchy & Scratchy ('Itchy & Scratchy & Marge'), or when Homer thinks he has only 24 hours to live ('1 Fish, 2 Fish, Blowfish, Bluefish')? All of them are classics, and they're all here on video, uncut, and in the order they were originally made! If you haven't got this yet, by it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The following tale of alien encounters is true., 14 Mar 2000
By 
Ben Elliss (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Secrets and Lies" could be an alternative title for this Simpsons collection, since the mysteries that aren't secret all turn out to be fakes! In 'The Springfield Files', Gillian Anderson and David Duchovny play the X-Files agents Scully and Mulder, investigating Homer's claim of seeing aliens in the woods (after 10 beers!). In 'Homer the Great', Homer is chosen to be the leader of a secret Mason-type cult. 'Lisa the Iconoclast' shows Lisa discovering that the town's founder (Jebediah Springfield) was really a cutthroat pirate, and in 'Homer Badman' the serious issue of sexual harassment is tackled (Homer didn't really do it).
My favourite quote is from 'The Springfield Files', where Leonard Nimoy bizarrely introduces the episode: "I'm Leonard Nimoy. The following tale of alien encounters is true. And by 'true', I mean 'false'. It's all lies. But they're entertaining lies. And in the end, isn't that the real truth? The answer is... 'No'"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eeeexcellent....., 10 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This is BRILLIANT. One of the reasons is that there are no 'early episodes'. I don't like these because they are fuzzy, badly animated and often lack humour. But these... ~Last Temptation of Homer~ Doubtless you've seen-but it's brilliant. Homer falls in love with a female version of him. Can he resist temptation when they are sent together to Capital City for a convention? ~New Kid On The Block~ Best episode ever; Bart falls in love with a new neighbour, and Homer sues the Frying Dutchman because their 'all you can eat' policy didn't actually let him have 'all you can eat'...brilliant stuff. ~Bart After Dark~ Rarely ever shown on TV, this one sees Bart damage a statue in a huge house while Marge and Lisa are away. Homer makes Bart work off the damage-and soon discovers Bart is working in a burlesque house [brothel]! ~Lisa's Rival~ Lisa has a rival, but the subplot outshadows it. Homer tries to make a fortune from a truckload of sugar. All in all, brilliant. *****/***** :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Simpsons disc collection set, 9 Mar 2007
By 
T. Reynolds - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Simpsons Classics: Too Hot For TV / Dark Secrets / Bart Wars [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
I bought these for my nephew who's now the same age as Bart, 10. They're set aside for christmas, but I had a watch of them myself. Love Most of the episodes, especially Marge Be Not Proud where Bart shop lifts Bone Storm, Lisa The Iconalist and the X Files one (Bart frightening Homer dressed as an alien "I'm the thing from Uranus."). Not to mention Mayored To The Mob with Homer training to be a bodyguard. Great value 12 episodes on 3 discs, and worth grabbing to give as a gift to some one keen on the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I bent my Wookie!, 13 Mar 2000
By A Customer
For a family show, The Simpsons manages to cover some risqué ground, as this collection proves! "The Last Temptation of Homer" sees Homer tempted by a sexy new female worker at the nuclear plant (who sounds rather like Michelle Pfeiffer). "Bart After Dark" tells the tale of Bart's accidental employment at a 'burlesque house' (should that read 'brothel'?) which the town's men are keeping under their hats. In "New Kid on the Block" Bart falls in love with his tomboyish new next-door neighbours (Darleen from 'Roseanne'), and "Lisa's Rival" is the odd-episode-out, really dealing with friendship rather than love - in this case, the ultra-competitive rivalry between Lisa and a new genius-girl in her class (Winona Ryder as Alison Taylor). 'Lisa's Rival' features Ralph (my favourite character) quite prominently, and he is as wonderful as ever - when Lisa's class are asked to produce dioramas, Lisa and Alison compete to produce incredibly realistic miniature scenes, while Ralph's entry consists of several Star Wars action figures, still in their boxes! On his way home with Lisa, he falls over and moans "I bent my Wookie!".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars woo-hoo a new simpsons boxset, 10 Sep 2000
this box set containes the second half of series 2 and icludes 11 episodes to name a few
The Way We Was - When the TV goes out Homer and Marge tell how they first met in 1974 Springfield
Bart's Dog Gets An F - After chewing up Homer's new $125 sneakers and the Bouvier family quilt, Santa's Little Helper is sent to a obedience school
Brush with Greatness - while homer is on a diet marge paints a portraight of mr burns
Blood Feud - bart donates some blood to an ill mr burns and homer expects a gift in return
Three Men and a Comic Book - bart,milhouse,and martain by a copy of radioactive man no1 between them
an exellent video which will make you laugth from begining to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a great Simpsons video, 25 April 2000
By A Customer
The Simpson's are the funniest TV show I've ever seen, and this is a great video, don't get me wrong, but by The Simpson's high standards, it's mediocre. The Springfield Files is good, guest starring X-File's Mulder and Scully and containing a hilarious introduction from Lenard Nimoy, but it isn't an episode that you'd want to watch over and over action. After about four of five times, it loses it's 'oomph'. This tape also contains two episodes that have been replayed on BBC Two far too often; Homer The Great (The one were Homer joins the Stone Cutters) and Homer Badman (Were Homer is excused of sexual harrasment). Homer The Great is an okay episode, but the fact that it is far too much about Homer than a usual Homer episode lets it down. Homer Badman is good, though, and it's the kind of episode you don't get tired of easily. But, it's been on BBC Two loadsa times. Lisa The Iconolaust is another mediocre episode. It's okay, but Lisa-based episodes do get a bit dull at times. There's no denying that The Simpson's is the greatest thing since the big bang, but this is a collection of dissapointing episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another Quartet Of Simpsons Classics, 1 Sep 2005
By 
Though the cover can be highly offputting, the episodes are nothing like seeing Homer on a chair in his underwear as a slimy slice of pizza drips from his hand.
The Last Temptation Of Homer I'm sure many have seen before. It still makes you laugh to watch it again and again. Seeing Homer drive backwards in to a large tub of water, meeting some rather amusing fish that like to chant "Homer lives Mindy" is just one example of the laughs that come from this episode.
The New Kid On The Block is another classic. Bart has his first crush. Notice how, no matter what number of crushes a Simpson has had in previous episodes, it's always their first in a new one? Watch as Bart takes his first bath, lets Lisa choose dinner for the first time, and says "I fell on my bottom" as a hopeful chat up line. This episode, to put it as the adverts do, will leave you howling with excitement. Waiting for the next to begin.
Bart After Dark is yet another hilarious installment, aren't they all? Watch Lisa and Marge scrub rocks with toothbrushes as Bart watches woman dance infront of men who gape at their revealing clothes in "the witches house". Even the song near the end is really catchy, despite some awful voices (they're okay really).
Lastly, Lisa's Rival. Meet Alison.
Lisa: She's smarter, younger and a better sax player than me. Oh, I feel so average.
Marge really does try her best to solve by telling Lisa she'll always be No.1 to her but Bart has to ruin that by walking by shouting "Hello, first born within earshot!"
Marge: I meant my No.1 girl
(Maggie tugs at Marge's dress)
Marge: Oh brother
This is a must buy video/DVD. There are just two problems. There are not enough episodes and most of them are on the seasons that are out. But for those that want some of the best of the seasons, this is the best for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The difference in comparisin to the first series is huge, 10 Jun 2000
By A Customer
The second series (first part) sets the ground for the future of the simpsons. Its more witty, better drawn, better stars, the voices are no longer weird-sounding, characters have the right faces colours, etc. There were a couple on here which i hadn't seen before, which was good, although my favorite must be Treehouse of horror. An excellent thing for any simpsons nut to collect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews