Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, heart-warming anime
This absolutely outstanding piece of animation follows three homeless people in Tokyo who find an abandoned baby on Christmas Eve. The twists and turns of the story rely far too much on unlikely coincidences to be plausible, and although this is kind of part of the point of the story, you really have to just sit back and accept it for the film to work. Its great...
Published on 17 April 2006 by David Welsh

versus
9 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the extra money
Stick with the regular edition. This delux box comes with some average making-of footage disc; a 650-page book ENTIRELY IN JAPANESE TEXT; some flimsy postcards, again with untranslated text.
Published on 24 Feb 2005 by Keimar


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, heart-warming anime, 17 April 2006
By 
David Welsh (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tokyo Godfathers [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This absolutely outstanding piece of animation follows three homeless people in Tokyo who find an abandoned baby on Christmas Eve. The twists and turns of the story rely far too much on unlikely coincidences to be plausible, and although this is kind of part of the point of the story, you really have to just sit back and accept it for the film to work. Its great strengths are in the sheer visual beauty of the film, the quality of the animation and the wonderful characterisation. The three main characters are so full of personality and vitality, demonstrating the advantages that really first -rate animated characters combined with good voice acting can have over live-action actors in terms of the breadth and range of emotions and moods that can be conveyed. This is a wonderful, heart-warming piece of anime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "This is a once-in-a-lifetime chance", 21 Oct 2007
By 
Sebastian Fernandez (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tokyo Godfathers [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The phrase in the title came from one of the three homeless characters when they found a baby in the trash, but it also applies to anime fans and this film. There are not many cases in this genre in which you can watch a story that has the effect this one has on the feelings of the viewer. I do not pretend to be an expert on anime, far from it, but the only anime production that had a similar effect on me was "Grave of the Fireflies". Just the mere fact that "Tokyo Godfathers" can be put in the same echelon as that masterpiece should be telling.

When an unlikely trio of homeless people finds a very special Christmas present, their world is shook in ways in they do not think possible. Thus, a bitter old man, an ex-drag queen and a teenager with a grudge towards her family embark in a quest to find the parents of the beautiful baby girl they found in the trash. The story starts out slow, but it gradually draws you into it, until you are hopelessly hooked. Little by little we come to understand the facts that led the three characters to their current situation and we are mesmerized by their search, which leads them to interact with an array of characters that range from desperate to happy to be alive.

I particularly enjoyed the graphics of this movie, but you need to understand that these differ from the common benchmark for the genre. In the film we get drawings with a good amount of detail in the main characters and in the background when it is close-up. But the general background and people that are not as relevant to the story are drawn with a lot less details. I interpreted this as a way to highlight what is important, but different people will have different interpretations for its purpose. Another aspect that surprised me is how good the tone of the voice of the different characters blended with the mood. I have seen many anime films in which the voices of the characters are a monotonous high-strung dialogue, and this one is not like that at all.

This is a movie that portrays the worst and best in human nature, and many layers in between. Therefore, there are portions that are heart-wrenching and others that are uplifting. It definitely has all the components of a great dramatic story. There is even humor sprinkled throughout the story, helping alleviate the mood at times, but not detracting from the seriousness of the plot. Simply put, this is a masterpiece that you cannot miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie! I enjoyed it very much!, 10 July 2004
This review is from: Tokyo Godfathers [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Before I saw it, I read in one of the customers' reviews that while watching this animation people tend to believe the characters being under impression that this is a live movie with real actors. I watched it today - it is totally true!
I could see realistic emotions of drawn characters, which I never experienced watching animation. And I loved the story. Don't believe to trailer; what you saw there is not what you will find in the movie... the story develops in a very dynamic way with absolutely unexpected result! That was really entertaining, and thanks to other customers for not disclosing the plot in their reviews! Intrigued? Watch it!
By the way, please keep your children out of this DVD, as there is some violence, a few explicit talks, and lots of serious social problems, which you would never be able to explain to them....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest (non-traditional) Christmas film ever?, 5 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. C. McBride (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tokyo Godfathers [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Tokyo Godfathers tells the story of an aging bum, a middle-aged transvestite and a runaway schoolgirl who live on the streets of Tokyo. During Christmas Eve, they find a baby abandoned in a dumpster, and start the task of finding the baby's parents.

Whilst the late Satoshi Kon will probably be better known for his follow-up film 'Paprika,' "Tokyo Godfathers" sees Kon at the height of his story-telling abilities, with character's motives evolving as the details of each of the character's pasts come out. But despite the seemingly downtrodden subject matter, this is ultimately a heartwarming feel good film, even if you don't realise it until the very end.

I doubt it'll be shown alonside 'It's a Wonderful Life' in Chrismasses yet to come, but "Tokyo Godfathers" is a wonderful tale about how miracles can happen even to the less fortunate around Christmas time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best anime titles around, 31 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokyo Godfathers [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I purchased this title when I was looking for something different from the normal robot/creature anime that is so abbundant. This film is superb.It is so "real" in its themes of true to life story telling that you soon forget that its animation.The feature is funny,sad,thought provoking,and a delight to watch.If you like your manga high adreniline none stop action then go elsewhere,but you would be missing a gem of a movie.This version of the film has no english/usa dubbing,but the emotions
brought out by the original japanese voice actors are superb...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tokyo Godfathers, 26 Feb 2011
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokyo Godfathers [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
`Tokyo Godfathers' is another great anime film from Satoshi Kon.

When three homeless people in Tokyo find an abandoned baby their lives are turned upside down as they struggle to look after her and find her parents. A variety of seemingly unrelated events come together until the film reaches it's heart warming and satisfying ending. Traipsing all over Tokyo they follow various clues in their hunt for the babies parents, whilst their own life stories unfold before us.

The dysfunctional homeless family make for humorous viewing, with an old geezer for the dad, a flamboyant gay man as the mother and a bitter, yet sensitive, girl as the `daughter'. There's makes for a complex but touching family relationship.

The animation is very good and whilst not as lush or beautiful as Ghibli films, this is more gritty and realistic. This film has a 12 certificate, but this is an animated film aimed more at adults. The themes, language and some scenes are more adult orientated that other anime films out there.

This feels quite bleak at times due to the winter landscapes and muted colours, as well as the storyline in general. But, it is very well made and everything comes together perfectly at the end. If you are a fan of anime films in general then this should please you and if you a fan of Satoshi Kon in particular, then this should leave you delighted. A worthy addition to your anime film collection.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Street Angels, 7 April 2010
By 
Keris Nine - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokyo Godfathers [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I don't know why - it's probably the title - but I've always had the impression that Tokyo Godfathers was an animated Japanese gangster film. I should have known better than expect something so prosaic and predictable from a director like Satoshi Kon (Perfect Blue, Millennium Actress). There are yakuza gangsters involved here, but only as one of the background elements that the director makes use of in this entertaining Christmas tale journey through the backstreets of Tokyo, when three down-and-outs find an abandoned baby in an alley on Christmas Eve and set off in search of its mother.

Even that old story, played out and parodied in many comedy movies, is given a rather different spin by Satoshi Kon - one of the very best directors working in Japanese animated features - starting off with the main characters. "A bum, a homo, a runaway and a foundling" is how homeless alcoholic Gin describes their odd little family unit, and there's a lot of fun to be found in such a gathering, as well as a little bit of self-reflection and sentimentality. And sure why not? It's a Christmas setting and inevitably, confronted with a baby left out on the streets, it's going to remind them of their own families and going to think about their own position, the chances they have lost and the lives that none of them will ever have again.

What's wonderful about Tokyo Godfathers however - and why it's an animated film rather than a regular live-action comedy-drama - is the fine detail that can be added to the characterisation and the exaggeration that can be indulged without it seeming unnaturalistic and out of place. Here, movements can be paced and coordinated, expressions perfectly thought through for what they reveal about the characters, and they are animated as ever with supreme precision. Satoshi Kon does perhaps manoeuvre events a little too smoothly and schematically here in this particular film, but it flows wonderfully and is full of wit and entertainment.

Columbia Tristar's DVD is virtually flawless, with a superb enhanced widescreen transfer, the original Japanese soundtrack in DD 5.1 and DTS, with no English dub (although there is a Spanish one). There are subtitles in multiple European languages and happily, they are white for a change. There are unfortunately no extra features related to the film on the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably my favourite Christmas movie!, 2 Dec 2009
By 
D. W. Bissett "dave_bissett" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tokyo Godfathers [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
After watching this terrific and wonderful film, one question came to my mind: Why can't all Christmas movies be as brilliant as TOKYO GODFATHERS (2003)? Because for every Frank Capra's IT'S A WONDERFUL LIFE (1946), there are one-hundred JINGLE ALL THE WAYs (1996) or DECK THE HALLS (2006).

This must have been a very strange choice, doing an anime film set during Christmas and focusing on the homeless living on the streets of Tokyo. Happily, Satoshi Kon (my favourite anime filmmaker after Hayao Miyazaki) pulls it off superbly, by giving us a funny and often touching film as we follow three homeless characters - Gin, Hana and Miyuki - as they try to search the parents of an abandoned baby girl.

Even though TOKYO GODFATHERS may not have Kon's trademark theme of blending fantasy with reality (like in his other classics PERFECT BLUE [1998] and PAPRIKA [2006]), it's still filled with memorable sequences and characters who we can care for. And of course, who cannot feel overjoyed by hearing Beethoven's 'Ode To Joy'?

Want to watch an Christmas film that's very good? Then see TOKYO GODFATHERS. It's another anime masterpiece.

Reviewer: Ben David W
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie for a great price, 11 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Tokyo Godfathers [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
One of my favorite anime movies of all time. I had hard time finding this movie on Sweden's movie sites but then I discovered amazon and found it right away. Completely new for a great price. Highly recommended, the best movie from Satoshi Kon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A more valid review, 22 Nov 2005
This special edition gift set is fantastic as it lets you right into the heart of the filmmaking process with the ENTIRE storyboards included in the book. The film itself is a brilliant lighthearted foray into anime - a genre that is well known for its, at times, mind-boggling concepts - with enchanting accompanying artwork and memorable soundtrack (listen out for the Ode to Joy cover on the closing credits!) As for the Keimart's review - be cautious of their comments as it seems a bit idiotic to buy the special edition with book if you don't want the book - you might aswell just buy the original special edition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tokyo Godfathers [DVD] [2004]
Tokyo Godfathers [DVD] [2004] by Satoshi Kon (DVD - 2004)
4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews