Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Drill snake
Did the job required but not easy to work by yourself. It twisted whilst in the drill. Still a good tool for clearing minor blockages.
Published on 4 July 2009 by S. Gordon

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Monument Drill Snake
Took a chance on mostly favourable reviews - big mistake! Despite following instructions, after only a few minutes of use,the clutch mechanism fell apart.Or rather the steel spindle that inserts into the drill chuck ripped out of the clutch plastic housing! The clutch itself failed to work when the boring head met an obstruction.The weakest point then is the metal to...
Published on 26 Aug. 2011 by Sam Scanner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Monument Drill Snake, 26 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument 3351g Drill Snake - 15ft Snake (DIY & Tools)
Took a chance on mostly favourable reviews - big mistake! Despite following instructions, after only a few minutes of use,the clutch mechanism fell apart.Or rather the steel spindle that inserts into the drill chuck ripped out of the clutch plastic housing! The clutch itself failed to work when the boring head met an obstruction.The weakest point then is the metal to plastic interface- effectively the spindle being a small hexagonal bolt with its (small) head moulded into the end of the plastic clutch housing - poor engineering. This clutch is the weak point of an otherwise reasonably good quality product.I would suggest that this snake is only to be used on the lightest blockage in kitchen/bathroom waste pipes,where it is probably more effective and then might merit more stars. Avoid using to try to clear more impacted debris - in drain pipes for example.
When using a power drill ensure the speed is VERY slow,little more than if turning by hand - and if the power drill has its own clutch set it to operate at a light load.The snake clutch might then survive!
Caveat Emptor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Drill snake, 4 July 2009
By 
S. Gordon "stantheman" (Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monument 3351g Drill Snake - 15ft Snake (DIY & Tools)
Did the job required but not easy to work by yourself. It twisted whilst in the drill. Still a good tool for clearing minor blockages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has done the job on many occasions, 30 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Monument 3351g Drill Snake - 15ft Snake (DIY & Tools)
I purchased this item about a year ago and it's cleared the drain leading from our kitchen many times. Did the job today in record time. Well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant piece of kit! - and arrived within a couple of days or so!, 30 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument 3351g Drill Snake - 15ft Snake (DIY & Tools)
We have had a blocked sink drain in our village hall for months, bunged up with hardened old coffee grains and tea bags I suspect, so I took a chance on this Drill Snake - at £12.99 no great risk even if it failed It didn't, and after 10 or 15 minutes the drain was cleared.
I felt I was taking a risk because some of the reviews mention a poor clutch - although one said even after it broke they could stll use the snake successfully. I can only imagine that some folk had more severe blockages (hard to imagine) or they didn't have a drill which they could control fully
Follow advice in one of the reviews, I set my drill to its weakest clutch setting and slowest speed. I removed the sink trap but it was a little awkward gettting the snake round the first 90 deg. elbow buried deep under the concrete floor. By 'blipping' the drill trigger gently and rodding the snake up and down, I eased the corkscrew end past the bend and following that it was plain sailing. I just kept 'blipping' then rodding with the snake backwards and forwards until the drain cleared completely. In this way neither my drill clutch nor the snake clutch clicked even once. The snake is now washed and oiled and stored ready for next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes it works, 29 Jan. 2014
By 
I. J. Gutteridge (Isle of Wight UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument 3351g Drill Snake - 15ft Snake (DIY & Tools)
After reading the other reviews I decided that maybe the solution was to run the drain snake from a battery powered charged screwdriver/drill. This works at a very slow rate and put very little pressure on the clutch. I actually had a problem with moss dropping from a full size house downpipe into a smaller garden drain pipe half its size. I cleared the moss from the immediate hole access but my hand was to big to get any further. The snake was fed into the base and allowed to revolve. Slowly but surely it worked its way round the bend, pulled back a couple of times when it stuck and then restarted. At 13 feet it was through and water added went down. The snake was removed and I dosed the drain with a caustic soda rinse (mind your hands) Since then the pipe has remained clear though I intend to apply every couple of months as moss on the roof is very bad. Yes its a mucky business and you need to be patient and gentle with this snake - but it works and the clutch is still in one piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monument Drill Snake, 12 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Monument 3351g Drill Snake - 15ft Snake (DIY & Tools)
A very useful and well-priced tool from Monument. I've already used it to unblock our bathtub that only took about half an hour to do. The boring head is very effective at collecting debris that can be easily collected once the snake is retrieved. In my case I had to remove the S-Trap before inserting the snake as the pop up waste was in the way.
A point worth mentioning is that you need to fully uncoil the snake before using it which means you may not be able to operate the drill and push the snake at the same time. I set the cordless drill to its lowest speed and left it running and then started inserting the snake into the drain pipe. If it is two of you then it would be a lot easier specially as reversing the drill would make retrieving the snake a lot easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Did the job in the end, 14 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument 3351g Drill Snake - 15ft Snake (DIY & Tools)
Needed to shift a blockage a long way down on my downpipe. Sadly the plastic end to attach to a drill is not very robust and it broke, a nice idea it's palstic clutch but is simply not up to teh job. However despite that I used it direct without the clutch and eventually got the blockage shifted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hard to use, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument 3351g Drill Snake - 15ft Snake (DIY & Tools)
Bought this item to clear blocked kitchen waste. Diameter too large to go down plug-hole so dismantled trap. Impossible to negotiate more than one or two elbows so could not reach blockage. Had to resort to Dynorod!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job nicely, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument 3351g Drill Snake - 15ft Snake (DIY & Tools)
I have to agree with others that the plastic gearing end is questionable hence only 4 stars. The plastic cover over the snake ensures no damage to the porcelain bowl of the toilet and gives it more rigidity so it does not bend on itself. Cleared my blocked toilet drain where other snakes failed to reach. I would recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument 3351g Drill Snake - 15ft Snake (DIY & Tools)
Pop it on the end of your drill and stick it down the drain ... what could be simpler? ... does the job ... every home with a washing machine pumping out into an open drain should have one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monument 3351g Drill Snake - 15ft Snake
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews