Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saves a lot of money on getting folk in!
After all else had failed, the length of this auger meant I could clear an awkward blocked waste pipe from the kitchen sink in under an hour. It's solidly constructed, simple to use with full instructions included. Thin enough to insert in a hole I drilled in the pipe to gain access.

A hell of a lot cheaper than getting a professional in, and does exactly the...
Published on 2 Feb 2011 by crowriver

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for tight bends and not very effective
I selected this product because I needed a longer, heavier lenth of cleaner to cope with my drainage problems in a 30 mm outlet between a bathroom hand basin and drain connection. The device was very difficult to get around bends in the outlet, although with patince I managed to achieve this. Unfortunately even though the full length of the outlet was fully covered the...
Published on 3 Oct 2011 by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saves a lot of money on getting folk in!, 2 Feb 2011
This review is from: Monument 3344k Drain Auger 25ft X 1/4in (DIY & Tools)
After all else had failed, the length of this auger meant I could clear an awkward blocked waste pipe from the kitchen sink in under an hour. It's solidly constructed, simple to use with full instructions included. Thin enough to insert in a hole I drilled in the pipe to gain access.

A hell of a lot cheaper than getting a professional in, and does exactly the same job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value product, 9 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. J. Ingram "stomper" (Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument 3344k Drain Auger 25ft X 1/4in (DIY & Tools)
I used this to clear a shower and sink drain problem that a variety of chemicals had failed to sort out. I needed something flexible and thin because of the pipe sizes. The drain auger was easy to use and the blockage was released within minutes making this very good value for money as my only alternative was to call someone in....

This product does exactly what it is supposed to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it's weight in gold!, 12 Mar 2012
This review is from: Monument 3344k Drain Auger 25ft X 1/4in (DIY & Tools)
I had a blocked Sink/Shower drain in the upstairs bathroom. Fortunately, it's an old house and the waste pipe went straight out of the wall into the main waste pipe running down the outside wall.

I checked the main inspection plate in the garden, everything seemed to be running ok (Upstairs toilet was flushing ok) so I guessed the blockage was in the pipe that ran into the main down pipe.

Fortunately, it's a plastic down pipe, so I simply used a spade drill bit to drill into the plastic waste pipe. I pushed the drain auger through until I felt some resistance (I actually read the instructions!) I then used the spinner a few times to rotate the head. I then pulled back and a huge dollop of hair and congealed conditioner came out of the hole - brilliant!!!!!!

Took me about half an hour, then a bit of bitumastic repair tape over the hole and job done. Cracking little tool that does exactly what it says on the can - reckon it saved me 100 at least.

Good investment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for tight bends and not very effective, 3 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument 3344k Drain Auger 25ft X 1/4in (DIY & Tools)
I selected this product because I needed a longer, heavier lenth of cleaner to cope with my drainage problems in a 30 mm outlet between a bathroom hand basin and drain connection. The device was very difficult to get around bends in the outlet, although with patince I managed to achieve this. Unfortunately even though the full length of the outlet was fully covered the slow drainage did not improve. Eventually I had to employ a local speciaalist at a cost of 90 to free the blockage. Not a result I was hoping for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works, but has one significant flaw..., 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument 3344k Drain Auger 25ft X 1/4in (DIY & Tools)
... it doesn't work round corners - easily.

So basically, the idea of this product is that you feed it through your pipe, until you come to the blockage (by meeting some resistance), and then you use the rotating handle to cut through the blockage. The problem is, is that you will encounter resistance at the first right-angle turn in your pipes. The problem can be overcome by using the rotation handle to get it to wiggle through the corner, but it mean's you're not able to tell the difference between hitting a corner or finding your blockage.

That said, it has worked for me, and has successfully removed the blockage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor design, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument 3344k Drain Auger 25ft X 1/4in (DIY & Tools)
thread went on handle making the thumb screw ,and therefore,the handle useless after three usages. This renders the appliance difficult to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cleared my drain, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument 3344k Drain Auger 25ft X 1/4in (DIY & Tools)
did its job fine, turned out it wasn't quite long enough but we managed to sort out a very twisty drain that had not bee cleared for years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OK within its limitations, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument 3344k Drain Auger 25ft X 1/4in (DIY & Tools)
Cleared out a semi blocked sink OK; also a bath outlet. Too light weight to clear a badly blocked lavatory but on reflection you'd expect that, and you don't know how bad the blockage is until you try clearing it.

Limitations:
It's 25 feet long so at the start you need space for a 25' tail, and also you need to be able to deal with 25' of manky steel spring as you withdraw it from the pipe.
It does mark porcelain eg in a lavatory bowl.
Also beware over-winding it in wider pipes like the lavatory outfall if they're badly blocked. You end up bending the spring which then means it won't wind round properly.

But it's straightforward to use and works fine within its limitations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars give it a go, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument 3344k Drain Auger 25ft X 1/4in (DIY & Tools)
wasn't sure if this was going to work. putting the spiral part in first is quite fiddly but managed it. pulled up a huge hair ball so was well worth persevering and saved me on having to call a plumber.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful piece of kit, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument 3344k Drain Auger 25ft X 1/4in (DIY & Tools)
Every house hold should have one, saved the inconvenience and expense of calling out a plumber to remove hair congealed soap from a blogged hand basin in bathroom..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monument 3344k Drain Auger 25ft X 1/4in
12.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews