Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


140 of 156 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smackdown! V Raw- Possibly be the best wrestling game?
This game has many new features and some of the latest superstars. So far, the confirmed roster is:
A-Train
Edge
Rico
Batista
Garrison Cade
Rikishi
The Big Show
JBL
Rob Van Dam
Booker T
John Cena
Scotty 2 Hotty
Bubba Ray Dudley
Kane
Shawn Michaels
Charlie Haas
Kurt Angle
Shelton...
Published on 31 July 2004 by DBW

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars must try harder
i bought a playstation 2 last year and bought this game before i even got the console so i was really looking forward to it. the graphics were good and it was easy to learn moves and suchlike. the longevity however is poor. i was bored after a week of this.
i heard murmurs on sites that here comes the pain was better even though it was a year older so i bought it on...
Published on 12 July 2005 by R. Keightley


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

140 of 156 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smackdown! V Raw- Possibly be the best wrestling game?, 31 July 2004
This review is from: WWE Smackdown Vs Raw (PS2) (Video Game)
This game has many new features and some of the latest superstars. So far, the confirmed roster is:
A-Train
Edge
Rico
Batista
Garrison Cade
Rikishi
The Big Show
JBL
Rob Van Dam
Booker T
John Cena
Scotty 2 Hotty
Bubba Ray Dudley
Kane
Shawn Michaels
Charlie Haas
Kurt Angle
Shelton Benjamin
Chavo Guerrero
Mark Jindrak
Stacy Kiebler
Chris Benoit
Matt Hardy
Tajiri
Chris Jericho
Randy Orton
Torrie Wilson
Christian
Rene Dupree
Triple H
Chuck Palumbo
Rey Mysterio
Trish Stratus
D-Von Dudley
Rhyno
Eddie Guerrero
Ric Flair
Legends
Andre the Giant
Legend Kane
Legend Undertaker
Some new features included are:
- Face/heel or officially referred to as clean/dirty meter will be included. Players are given the choice to be a heel, face, or neutral at the start of the match, it determines how you play throughyour match and what 'secret or cheating moves you do.
-create a belt
-Create a ppv
-New match type which will be the parking lot brawl
-Legends will now be referred to as 'Legend Knae' and Lgened Taker
-BETA testing of Onlince play is being carried out, so online is certainly a possibility
That's all the confirmed things so far, i'll keep updated
-Andre the giant has been confirmed as a legend plus some more big names
-Full voice-overs by the WWe superstars
-Season will apparently be more in depth
-Belts can now be used as weapons
I'lly try to keep everyone updated on what this game is panning out to be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WWE Smackdown Vs Raw, 10 April 2005
This review is from: WWE Smackdown Vs Raw (PS2) (Video Game)
A good game, but it has quite a few flaws...
Most disapointing was the "No Tag Team Titles" in the entire game...
It had a shortage of charactors compared to the previous games, but you will learn to stick with it...
The game got much better when you unlock all the ledgends and create your own superstar, but then the short season mode (with about 7 or 8 months, skipping quite a few) let it down...
Lastly, being given the ability to make a championship gave it a boost and to make a PPV for the first time since WWF Smackdown 2 "Know your Role"
3.5 Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars smackdown vs raw will lay the smackdown on halo 2, 17 Aug 2004
This review is from: WWE Smackdown Vs Raw (PS2) (Video Game)
smackdown vs raw is going to be one of the best games of this year if not the best. This why,
-create a belt and wrestler mode
-advance storyline
-commentators can be seen while wrestling and panic when wrestlers approach the commentating tables
commentators also commentate during the match and parts of the table can be used as a weapon
-there are also legends including old school kane, oldschool undertaker, and andrea the giant (hint hint-also a secret legend who is very famous for the sharpshooter)
-increased polygon count
-1 new match type officially named the parking lot brawl- you can smack wrestlers into car windows
-improved wrestling (new moves more moves and optional start to matches)
-wrestlers speed and abiltity affected when carrying weapons
-new challenge mode where u can play for money and buy new clothes moves and wrestlers
-storylines actually wrote by wwe script writers
-wrestlers are given a style face or heel its simple if you are a face u can pull of chair shots and increse the new signiture bar or choose a heel and increase the signiture bar by cheering to the croud and escaping moves ect you can change whether you are a face or heel by your actions in the story line mode
-in royal rumble match you now have to eliminate wrestlers with a special move
-up to six wrestlers in the ring at once
-u can now control managers while wrestling e.g. press the analogue stick and u can decide whether he passes you a weapon or disturbs the ref
-while in a tag match you can now brake submisions
"now u can see why this is going to be fantastic"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail November 26th, 29 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: WWE Smackdown Vs Raw (PS2) (Video Game)
Smackdown! vs RAW is going to be the best wrestling game ever.It includes new features such as the parking lot brawl, crate a belt, and the good old create a PPV is back. In the season mode it has the proper voice overs putonto the characters.The blood system has also been improved and the all-round graphics have been given a bost. The characters look like the wrestlers doubles.The final roster has also been finished.
A-Train
Batista
Big Show
Booker T
Bubba Ray Dudley
Charlie Haas
Chava Guerrero
Chris Benoit
Chris Jericho
Christian
Chuck Palumbo
D-Von Dudley
Eddie Guererro
Edge
Garrison Cade
Hardcore Holly
John Bradshaw Layfield
John Cena
Kane
Kurt Angle
Mark Jindrak
Matt Hardy
Molly Holly
Randy Orton
Rene Dupree
Rey Mysterio
Rhyno
Ric Flair
Rico
Rob Van Dam
Sable
Scotty 2 Hotty
Shawn Michaels
Shelton Benjamin
Stacy Keibler
Tajiri
Torrie Wilson
Triple H
Trish Stratus
Undertaker
Victoria
The game has eleven legends.
Andre The Giant
Animal
Bret Hart
Brutus Beefcake
Hawk
Jimmy Snuka
Legend Kane
Legend Undertaker
Mankind
The Rock
Roddy Piper
It is a shame not to see Eugene in but there is a way to create him search for smackdown vs raw roster in google and one of the links takes you to a site and it shows you how to create him. It is obvious this will be the best wrestling game ever. THQ states there is twice more polygones used than before. When this come out in late November all wrestling fans should own a copy by christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent wrestling game but has a few flaws, 28 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: WWE Smackdown Vs Raw (PS2) (Video Game)
in November last year i brought smackdown vs Raw on its release date at first i was very impressed by it. But then i noticed a few minor flaws which i will explain in the following sections of this review
graphics 10/10- wow the superstar designs in this game are amazing particularly HHH, Kane and Undertaker, and i luv Undertakers intro when he does a very detailed trademark eye roll. I think the caw models may need a small improvement though
Gameplay 9/10- alot of new features in matches have been added from the previouse game like chest slapping at the turnbuckle, spanking a diva in a womens match, a new type of subbmission gauge giving you the abilty to reverse a hold, and brand new Management control has been added so now u can have you manager distract the ref and hand you a weapon. They have also added new legends names like The Rock, Mankind, Bret Hart and Andre The Giant have been included this time round.but the big names from the past game are missing like Stone Cold, Goldberg and The Pain Brock Lesnar wich was kind of dissapointing but its possible to create them in CAW mode.

Season 7.5/10- Ok this is the section where most of the flaws are. The Season this time round has a very limited number of titles and the storylines are also limited as you only get three paths to choose from. The good things are that superstar voice overs have been added giving you a sense of realism so you will be able to hear the voice of stars like Chris Benoit HHH, Undertaker and Kurt Angle, but they could have been timed more with the mouth movements. on Easy mode this will be a breeze and less enjoyable, choosing Hard difficulty however will make this more challenging
Create A Wrester 9.5/10- this time round the CAW mode is alot better the models look alot more detailed than in HCTP. I also have fun creating the newcomers wrestlers making newbies like Heidenreich Gene Snitsky and Eugene. This is also a good way to create wrestlers that were in previose games and not in this one like i mentioned earlier. Unfortunatley i noticed something though the CAWs look less detailed when used in a maatch like lettering and logos
Replayabilty 8/10- The Season mode is repetitive but making epic matches in exhibition and completing challenges will be sure to keep you busy
other 7.5/10- The Music in this is terrible and all the bands are just underground nu metal rap bands which get repetitive and annoying i dont pay too much attention to it though. I think the musci should be removed because it makes the game lose realism with an apparent disco in the background During a match. The commentary has been brought back to life in this game with the duo of Michael Cole and Tazz on Smackdown and the duo of Jim Ross and Jerry The King Lawler on Raw. The Commentary in this game is better than previouse games (especially Just Bring it's commentary that was laughable)
Overall 8.5/10- The WWE games series has definetly reached a new level with this game. I look forward to Smackdown Vs Raw 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite perfect....but near enough!, 19 Nov 2004
By 
ToxieDogg (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: WWE Smackdown Vs Raw (PS2) (Video Game)
Ok, what can I say that hasn't been covered here already? Firstly, the main game mechanics, controls and grappling system haven't changed from last year's Smackdown: HCTP but this is by no means a bad thing, because as the saying goes, 'if it aint broke, don't fix it'. However, new additions and improvements are numerous, including a power bar meter that appears when you pull off some moves, allowing you to inflict more damage with well timed button presses. Even before the match has started, you often get 'staring' matches with your opponent, where the first player to quickly press the buttons displayed on screen gets a sly attack in before the bell has sounded. The 'Clean/Dirty tactics' meters are a fabulous idea, and now a 'heel' can be rewarded for arguing with the ref after a long 2-count and continuing to hold submission moves on an opponent even after a rope break (though too long and you get disqualified), whereas a 'face' can benefit from the likes of not using weapons and performing his signature moves. The commentary and ring announcers are back, with both shows each having their own commentators (in Smackdown: SYM, JR and Jerry Lawler did the Smackdown commentary too), although like the older games, it's a bit hit-and-miss (I personally think it's vital to have it in anyway, just to recreate the atmosphere of the TV, shows if nothing else). You also now get full speech on the cut scenes...a very welcome addition. Coupled with an online mode (though I think this only allows Singles or Bra/Panty matches) and the addition of yet another couple of new match types (for the Smackdown series) like First Blood, and you'd think this was the perfect WWE game.
Unfortunately, it falls foul of the constantly changing TV show. It's impossible to include every Superstar on the roster and THQ/Yukes have wisely gone for mainly the most popular and well known wrestlers, (be honest, nobody would ever pick somebody like Nunzio as their character anyway) but it's bad luck that they would include the likes of Chuck Palumbo and A-Train rather than La-Resistance, and both Chuck and A-Train get fired before the game hits the shelves...and the same can be said with the decision to include Sable rather than Lita, Dawn Marie or Jackie Gayda. Mind you, it scores bonus points for keeping the Dudleys instead of replacing them with the awful Basham Bros. like Day Of Reckoning on Gamecube did. Then there's the entrances. Whilst nearly all of them are spot on, they've replaced Ric Flair's music with a poor copy, and Batista's has gone altogether (he only has the main Evolutuion theme music now)...odd, considering that they're 2 of the most prominent characters on RAW at the moment. And whilst they've included Eddie Guerrero's Lowrider, unfortunately JBL's stretch limo (complete with bull horns) is nowhere to be seen, again strange seeing as he's been the WWE Champion on Smackdown for months now, although he still shakes the fans hands and has his cheesy grin. There also seems to be no option to edit the rosters this time around and swap Superstars between Smackdown and RAW...another shame, considering that every now and then on TV, some characters defect from one show to the other, and it was something that you could do even in last year's Smackdown: HCTP. Then there's that fact that they're still using Kurt Angle as the GM of Smackdown...again surprising, considering that it's been Teddy Long for long enough for them to have got him to record his voice for the game, and almost everything else, like Randy Orton's theme music and Triple H's entrance video are bang up to date.
However, none of the bad points actually ruin the game as such, and with the new addition of a Challenge Mode too (with a list of challenges to complete, such as using 2 'finishers' in one match, or pinning 3 out of 5 opponents in the Elimination Chamber), and legends such as Mick Foley (as Mankind), Bret 'The Hitman' Hart & The Legion Of Doom to unlock, you're left with a fun and innovative wrestling game that will keep fans entertained for months (at least until next year's replacement arrives), and along with it's extremely interactive backstage arenas, I have to score the game a perfect 5 out of 5 stars simply because within it's genre, there's nothing else that can touch it at the moment, and as it is, due to the variety of matches and sheer playability, it's more fun than most other beat 'em ups anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WWE SmackDown vs. RAW will reign supreme!!!, 8 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: WWE Smackdown Vs Raw (PS2) (Video Game)
hey, 2 months left till the biggest wrestling game in the world will be realeased. Not only biggest wrestling game, but greatest, best and absolutely awesomnest figting game ever! With the new match type Parking lot brawl where you can battle it out surrounded by cars (which can be destroyed) and lots of other stuff, and matches like Elimination Chamber, Hell in a Cell, Slobber Knocker, Royal Rumble, First Blood, Bra and Panties ;), TLC and others...
SmackDown! vs. RAW contain several new featrues. One of my favorites is that CAW has gotten more polygons and that you can take a photography for your wrestler to the selection screen. Dig that! Also, it's an online game! That's pretty cool, so I'm gonna make sure I can play online on my PS2 too. Also, small mini battles before matches such as chop battles, and before matches, you can choose if you will be face (goodguy) or heel (badguy). If choosing i.e. to be face, there will be a meter that you can fill out by doing face stuff and when it's filled up, you can like the SmackDown! meter use a special move like Hulking up and no selling moves...
And beyond all that, there's new legends such as Brutus Beefcake, Mankind, The Rock, Andre the Giant and yes... Bret Hart! This is god's game! And there's also other new wrestlers to the SD! series like Rene Dupree, Mark Jindrak and Garrison Cade. Old wrestlers from the series who didn't make it in HCTP are also back like Hardcore Holly, Scotty 2 Hotty, Molly Holly among others. Cool right? And what about the Create-a-PPV!? Or Create-a-belt where you can create the Million Dollar title, Smoking Scull Stone Cold title, or what about the Hardcore title!
Whew! There's so many cool things...
Oh! What a goof... I forgot about voice overs! Commentators! Yes, that's right. Tazz & Michael Cole, and Jim Ross & Jerry Lawler will be commentating. And of course. Season will be improved a lot!!! Believe the hype, and if you don't. It's just too damn bad! Yukes and THQ... you rule!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a gamer from west wales, 30 Dec 2004
By 
K. A. John "kajkarate2" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WWE Smackdown Vs Raw (PS2) (Video Game)
simply amazing,any hard core wrestling fan this is a title you should own.If you havent bought it get it now,you will not be dissapointed.You have got improved graphics which make the wrestlers seem life like and have all the voice overs of the real wrestlers.You have new legends which is brilliant to see as i was a big fan of brutus the barber beefcake.The only quarm i have about this game and havent given it 5 stars,is that you havent got steve austin,goldberg,brock lesnar and kevin nash,which i was big fans of.Apart from that simply amazing,buy it and see for yourself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars must try harder, 12 July 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE Smackdown Vs Raw (PS2) (Video Game)
i bought a playstation 2 last year and bought this game before i even got the console so i was really looking forward to it. the graphics were good and it was easy to learn moves and suchlike. the longevity however is poor. i was bored after a week of this.
i heard murmurs on sites that here comes the pain was better even though it was a year older so i bought it on another site for a fiver. i have to say i enjoy it more and still have it whereas ive sold this one on another site.
what i like about it - the graphics are great, the majority of looks of the wrestlers are spot on, the create a wrestler is very good and you can more than ever now create someone which is instantly recognisable. the royal rumble is vastly improved. the challenges are a nice addition which prolongs the game somewhat.
what i dont like - thats the point the challenges i think were put in there because they realised the season mode was very samey, too short and relied on silly storylines with the divas, as if you would want to fight over sable. in hctp, you could put your created wrestlers on the season mode. this time you cant and you get bored having to face the same wrestlers. this is because the roster is cut as well. at time of games make, the wwe was short on stars what with lesnar, goldberg, stone cold all leaving and nobody coming in to replace them. the voiceovers have been added and dont add much, after a while you will turn the volume down cos you have heard the same phrases a hundred times before.
i hope they listen to the fans of the series so they know what to change next time. the divas are a waste of time and should not be in the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smackdown vs Raw, 15 April 2005
This review is from: WWE Smackdown Vs Raw (PS2) (Video Game)
Smackdown vs Raw is the sixth installment in the series of wrestling games produced by THQ, following a couple of PSOne efforts and three PS2 predecessors. This offering introduces a few new features in an attempt to improve on 'Here comes the Pain'.
Clean/Dirty tactics - True to the 'real' wrestling scene, you have the oppertunity to play as a 'Face' or a 'Heel' (in other words a good guy or a bad guy). Performing crowd pleasing moves will fill up your meter if you are a face whilst cheating, complaining and using weapons will do the same for a heel. Create a Championship allows you to create and defend your own championship belt in PPV mode. There are new storylines in Season mode - unfortunately, as in the previous games, it is not very long before you are playing the same stories over and over again.
There are negative points to be made about this game. Quite a few current wrestlers are missing from the roster - Eugene, Regal & Lita to name a few and the legends cannot enter season mode, limiting the use of characters such as Andre the Giant, Bret Hart, Mankind and the Rock. With wrestlers such as Stone Cold, Goldberg & Brock Lesnar leaving the WWE, a lot of the fan favourites are now missing. However, the Create-a-wrestler feature is always great fun, allowing you build a character with thousands of options.
All in all, a good fighting game and a must for all WWE fans, however, this is not quite the five-star frogsplash forward fans might have hoped for. You just can't help but feel these games could be even better next time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WWE Smackdown Vs Raw (PS2)
WWE Smackdown Vs Raw (PS2) by THQ (PlayStation2)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews