Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, sweet and sad. Absolutely magnificent
At last: a movie starring a dwarf who isn't a sidekick, isn't a leprechaun and doesn't spew 'wisecracks' such as, "Can you lend me a dime, I'm a little short. Hur hur hur!" Most certainly not. The Station Agent revolves around Finbar McBride, a quiet train enthusiast who moves into a little place in small-town America. A touching friendship develops with two people who...
Published on 26 Nov 2004 by Mike Mantin

versus
3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A new life
This is a whimsical story of a mature male achondroplasic who has to unexpectedly make a new life in a small American town. He was a railway enthusiast and repaired toy trains for his boss in a toyshop, but when the boss suddenly dies he inherits a derelict railway station cabin. The film follows his new life, showing the prejudices he encounters because he is a dwarf,...
Published on 2 Feb 2006 by Dr. Herbert Goodwin


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, sweet and sad. Absolutely magnificent, 26 Nov 2004
By 
This review is from: The Station Agent [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
At last: a movie starring a dwarf who isn't a sidekick, isn't a leprechaun and doesn't spew 'wisecracks' such as, "Can you lend me a dime, I'm a little short. Hur hur hur!" Most certainly not. The Station Agent revolves around Finbar McBride, a quiet train enthusiast who moves into a little place in small-town America. A touching friendship develops with two people who don't stare at him or take photos and smile as if he's never been patronised before: Joe and Olivia. And that's pretty much it. But the beauty of The Station Agent lies in its delicacy: an entire friendship is conveyed in detail without any in-your-face Hollywoodisms to make sure you're having a good time. The characters on display here are- refreshingly- ones you will actually care about. There are few enormous dramatic events that string this together, just deep relationships between three oddball, likeable characters and a very slow plot. With some of the finest acting you'll see all year, we've finally found a film that needs only human emotions to make it memorable. This is a low-budget indie flick done incredibly well: don't miss out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Top 5 Film for 2004, 22 Jun 2004
By 
Jenny Gillis (Dudley, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
An engaging story about 3 very different people - Fin (Peter Dinklage), a loner who is fascinated with trains and inherits a train depot, Joe(Bobby Cannavale), an extraverted, "in your face" kind of guy and Olivia (Patricia Clarkson)an eccentric painter. Beautifully filmed, the cast subtly portray their characters. It would be a pity to tell you more because the beauty of this film is watching the unlikely relationship that develops between these three. An incredibly beautiful and subtle film that is on my TOP 5 for this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful little film, 8 Oct 2004
By 
This review is from: The Station Agent [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
My friend made me watch this when I was tired and grumpy and I expected to hate it. But it is lovely! The story traces the relationship of three characters. Finn, who starts the story, is the centrepiece of it. He is a train enthusiast who inherits an old train depot in a remote town, and who really wishes for nothing other than to be left alone. He is forced into friendship with Joe, who refuses to give up in the face of Finn's unfriendliness - and the two have some wonderful scenes together, as when Finn times how long Joe can go without breaking Finn's peaceful silence. The third character is Olivia, a painter dealing (or not dealing) with the loss of her son many years ago. All three characters are beautifully drawn and the story deals with issues of prejudice and grief without ever retreating into sentimentality. The three actors (the only one of whom I recognised was Olivia who was the mother in Pieces of April) were amazing - such strong performances. I'm really not a fan of films that deal with issues in a heavy-handed way (which was what I expected from this after reading the blurb on the back of the box), and I was really surprised by how well - mixing moments of real humour with real sadness - this film approached its core themes. I didn't want it to end - and what better recommendation can there be?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Watch it, 5 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Station Agent [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I purchased this film from Blockbuster on their 5 for 35 offer on ex rental.
It is probably worth the whole amount by itself! I first watched the movie around 2.30am one night when I couldn't sleep. It is one of the best "human condition" films that I've seen in ages, the characters are great and there is little wrong with the movie. If you enojoyed films such as dead poets, fried green tomatoes, etc then you will love this. Slow, funny, and immersive. Watch it .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare American film!, 28 April 2007
By 
S. Powell "soopowl" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Station Agent [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I thought this was a brilliant film. The acting is superb, and its exploration of personality and, ultimately, friendship is intelligent and never maudlin. Interesting, well developed characters that you can believe in, interesting camera work - thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 April 2006
By 
Peter Roxburgh (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Station Agent [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is a wonderful, wonderful movie! It is soooo different and so laid back and has beautiful characters, each with their own problems and issues.
I really liked this movie and strongly recommend a viewing. If you like character movies (which i really do) then this definately one of the best there is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THOUGHT PROVOKING, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Station Agent [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
An excellent film, sad, funny and superbly acted, especially by Peter DinKlage, in these days when so much rubbish is pushed out it is really refreshing to come across a film of this high standard. A must see for one and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Dream Always Seems Half Empty, 18 April 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Station Agent [DVD] (DVD)
'The Station Agent ' is the kind of superb film you want to share with everyone! It is a slow feel good film with no real direction nor any real ending.

Fin, a four foot five inch small person, played by Peter Dinklage, has inherited an outpost dilapidated train Agent's Station in the wilds of New Jersey. This is a small desolate town, and the train station is right up Fin's alley. He is a man turned into himself, it appears after much teasing and bullying as a child and as an adult, he prefers time to himself. He has turned into a loner for self preservation. He finds this agent station fits him well. And, then, comes along Joe, played by Bobby Cannavale, a high strung, talkative, Cuban who is running his dad's food truck. He parks the truck near Fin's new home, so coffee is readily available. Fin is run into, literally, by Olivia, played by Patricia Clarkson.. She is an artist, mourning her lost marriage and her dead son. These three people come together, unusual friends, but each of them have a need that the other seems to fill. Fast friends they become after several stops and go. Chole, a young black girl is attracted to Fin, and he feels comfortable with her. Fin takes daily walks to learn about the town and to follow the trains, his obsession. Soon, his friends are walking with him. Through trials and tribulations, this film fills a need within all of us. The acting is superb, the filming lovely and the storyline, so important in this day and age of estrangement from each other.

Highly Recommended. Walk don't run to see this film. prisrob 04-18-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: The Station Agent [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This film cannot be bettered. Marvellous. Not for those easily bored, good! Not for those who can't understand subtleties, good! And don't watch it if you need a clear storyline with a Hollywood end. Good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original and unforgettable, 24 April 2010
By 
Ernie (Kent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Station Agent [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The Station Agent revolves around the character of Fin McBride, (Peter Dinklage), who as a dwarf, is constantly reminded in malicious ways of his short stature. Fin's world comes crashing around him when his only friend and employer suddenly dies. Although out of a job, his late friend leaves him a small disused rail road station in the sleepy town of Newfoundland New Jersey. Fin moves to the remote location to seek solitude, to mourn and to adapt to his new life. However, as Fin arrives he is constantly followed by the talkative and good willed Joe, the scatterbrained Olivia, and the young girl Cleo. In the company of these people Fin drops his emotional guard and opens up to the pleasure of living, but as Fin discovers, as well as enriching your life, friendships can complicate it too. The simple way the story flows is extremely clever, as it only tells the viewer what is needed to know, yet enhances each scene as it offers things to think about. Beautifully written, directed, and acted, The Station Agent is one of those rare films that is deserving of a perfect 5/5 score. If you enjoy gentle paced, low key, character based indie movies, then it doesn't get much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb6b86684)

This product

The Station Agent [DVD] [2004]
The Station Agent [DVD] [2004] by Thomas McCarthy (DVD - 2004)
14.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews