Customer Reviews


180 Reviews
5 star:
 (137)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Making player all region
I fumbled around a bit getting the player to be all region. The basic instructions are:
Power on, NO DISC IN - let the power up cycle finish
Press MENU (PBC) button
Press 1
Press 9
A box will appear with the Region Number in it... change this to 0 and hit enter.
The bit that threw me was that when you press MENU (PBC) you of course expect a...
Published on 21 Jan 2006 by AWH

versus
49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How to make your CH-DVD400 Multi-region
Me and a friend also brought this product and had no trouble making it Muiti-Region. Try the following again.
1) Power on the Unit (From the remote, make sure no disc is in the unit, and wait for the display to show "No Disc"
2) Press the "Menu" key on your remote
3) Then press "1" and then "9" (All from the remote)
A greyish box should appear with...
Published on 25 Jan 2006


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Making player all region, 21 Jan 2006
This review is from: CyberHome CH-DVD400 Multi Region Capable DVD Player Silver (Electronics)
I fumbled around a bit getting the player to be all region. The basic instructions are:
Power on, NO DISC IN - let the power up cycle finish
Press MENU (PBC) button
Press 1
Press 9
A box will appear with the Region Number in it... change this to 0 and hit enter.
The bit that threw me was that when you press MENU (PBC) you of course expect a menu to come up on the screen and nothing actually happens. Becasue no 'menu' appears you think you havent got to first base and dont enter 1 and 9. Dont worry about this - pressing MENU doesn't bring anything up on screen - the screen wont change - just press menu, 1 and 9 and a box will appear with the number 2. Then use the up and down arrows to change this to 0 or the region of the disc you want to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How to make your CH-DVD400 Multi-region, 25 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: CyberHome CH-DVD400 Multi Region Capable DVD Player Silver (Electronics)
Me and a friend also brought this product and had no trouble making it Muiti-Region. Try the following again.
1) Power on the Unit (From the remote, make sure no disc is in the unit, and wait for the display to show "No Disc"
2) Press the "Menu" key on your remote
3) Then press "1" and then "9" (All from the remote)
A greyish box should appear with the current region number in it. Using the Up and down arrow keys on your remote select "0" as the new region and then Press the "Enter" button on your remote.
The grey screen should disappear and your Unit should now be Region free (Muiti-region).
Try a foreign DVD in it and it should now work.
Hope this helps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really is THAT good a bargain! :-D, 12 Jan 2006
This review is from: CyberHome CH-DVD400 Multi Region Capable DVD Player Silver (Electronics)
What can I say? It is small, neat, cute and plays all my discs. there is NOTHING bad about it!
Heads-up though - the de-regioning instructions given are bit wrong... Siobhan Vardy's instructions work like a dream (but as that's by far the most "useful" review you'll probably have seen them already). She's correct, to de-regionalise the player:
- - - -
Power on, NO DISC IN - let the power up cycle finish
Press MENU (PBC) button
Press 1
Press 9
A box will appear with the Region Number in it... change this to 0 and hit enter.
Play your discs :-D
- - - -
So in summary, if you want a cheap and cheerful DVD (and everything else) player, your search ends here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Player for Technophobes, 30 Nov 2005
This review is from: CyberHome CH-DVD400 Multi Region Capable DVD Player Silver (Electronics)
I admit to being a technophobe. I'm rubbish when it comes to electrical products, wires and all that stuff. So this comes as a great surprise. Easy to use, excellent picture, remote with just enough buttons. Lots of extras if you want it. You can watch DVDs, play CDs, look at pictures.
When I bought this it was £50 and I thought that was a bargain. If you can get it for £19 then you get a real bargain.
Nothing but praise. No problems with it, doesn't skip, plays great. Ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Machine, 18 Feb 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CyberHome CH-DVD400 Multi Region Capable DVD Player Silver (Electronics)
Very Neat Machine; 20 Quid delivered and Multi region.
Thx to others for the instructions:
1) Power on the Unit (From the remote, make sure no disc is in the unit, and wait for the display to show "No Disc"
Key is to power on from remote - if you power on from machine, then use rest of these instructions, it won't work.
2) Press the "Menu" key on your remote
3) Then press "1" and then "9" (All from the remote)
A greyish box should appear with the current region number in it. Using the Up and down arrow keys on your remote select "0" as the new region and then Press the "Enter" button on your remote.
The grey screen should disappear and your Unit should now be Region free (Muiti-region).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is your Cyberhome CH-DVD400 Multiregional?, 5 May 2006
By 
Mr. W. P. Mcardell "drivingmadman" (TYWYN, Gwyneed, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CyberHome CH-DVD400 Multi Region Capable DVD Player Silver (Electronics)
I purchased one of these earlier this year, due to the fact that I currently own region one dvds (region one covers Usa and Canada); my old Cyberhome is on its way out with the drawer continously closing automatically. This was not multiregional when I got it, but made it multiregional. I purchased a Cyberhome CH-DVD400 player and when I received it found that it was not multiregional, AAAGH! the frustration! but dont panic, Dont start ringing the nice people at amazon complaining that they have misadvertised a product! if your having the same problem, heres how to reset the factory settings.

I found that this way worked

1)Press 'menu'
2)Press '1'
3)Press '9'
a box should appear on the screen with a 2 in it
4)Use up & down keys to select region '0' (this will make the player region free. Imagine, you can play any dvd from anywhere! Magic!
5)Press 'enter'

And your spent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


146 of 149 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value - if you have the hack codes, 14 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: CyberHome CH-DVD400 Multi Region Capable DVD Player Silver (Electronics)
for £25 you can't go wrong but you will need the following hack code to make it multiregion
-power on
-press menu
-press 1
-press 9
-change region code but using up and down arrows
happy days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice piece of kit, 1 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: CyberHome CH-DVD400 Multi Region Capable DVD Player Silver (Electronics)
I got this drive specifically to play non-Region 2 DVDs and I wasn't disappointed. As the other reviewers have said, it's tiny, quiet and the remote feels rather skinny and useless, but it works over a greater distance and more reliably than my old DVD player which was substantially more expensive and from a well-known manufacturer. I may not have every kind of disc listed here, but I have a fair few (DVD regions 1 and 2, VCD and MP3s). Very recommended.
I had a little bother with changing it to multi-region but it was my own fault. For the sake of the last reviewer, the following worked for me: Power on, open/close (the tray must be open), menu, 1, 9, press down twice and hit enter. All done. I was expecting to see some kind of response on the screen when I hit menu but there was nothing but after pressing 1 and 9, the little region code popped up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Damn good but points to note, 28 Nov 2005
This review is from: CyberHome CH-DVD400 Multi Region Capable DVD Player Silver (Electronics)
It played discs that my old (more expensive) Sony dvd player did not. It can very easily be converted into a multi-regional player. It's dinky. A really good machine which is recommended.
What I did not like (partly because I did not properly read the specification page): it takes "watch" batteries as opposed to the AA(A) batteries; it has no display; and the sound is not that great when you use a cable to link it to the tv. (The last problem is disappointing and should be noted as it means that when you watch a disc you need to turn up the volume A LOT).
But still for £25 it is a bargain and so a definite 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AB FAB, 11 Feb 2006
By 
emm (birmingham, w mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CyberHome CH-DVD400 Multi Region Capable DVD Player Silver (Electronics)
Fabulous Purchase Fabulous Price! Usually dubious about such cheap deals, the previous reviews did convince me to give it a go. Not disappointed! Even setting up the multi-region bit is REALLY easy - anyone who has expressed difficulty in setting it up probably did the same as me at first: Having pressed the Menu (PBC) botton on the remote I did expect a menu to appear on the screen and so thought nothing had happened. Just trust the instructions as given in the previous reviews and press 1 then 9 and then scroll up with arrow buttons til 0 appears in the grey box and press enter. Job done! Don't expect much to appear on the screen, just trust the directions! So far I've watched DVD's and viewed photo CD's all without problem. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews