Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars76
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 September 2004
As a Blue Nile fan, I find it hard to accept the accolades given to this album. True, there are a few gems on here - in particular Soul Boy wich smack of Curtis Mayfield funk and Soul rather than the atmospheric 'late night glasgow street in the rain' picture that the Blue Nile defined as their sound 20 years ago.
In a way, the Blue Nile have moved from College sound exploration artists to easy listening with this disc, at the most optimistic, it is a pale imitation of Hats, which is probably their masterpiece.
In terms of sound production, the overly in your face mechanics of the drum machines are too much to bear for songs that are supposed to portray so much preciousness. Eight years to produce an album leaves me questioning the Blue Nile's work methods - the results seem to convey an atmosphere of diminishing returns for Nile fans.
If you fell in love with the Blue nile with 'rooftops' then you have probably found their direction into folky singer songwriting a bit of a mystery, but if you joined around the time of Peace at Last, then you will probably think this is better than the last Garth Brooks album.
Having said all this, I'm just glad they're back, and the few songs on this album that are worthy of merit are very welcome additions.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
Fabulous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
The stars are for the album not the annoyance at discovering the CD I got was one of the notorious ones that have ridiculously strict copy protection. If you like Blue Nile then this is an essntial addition to the collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2004
Before you put the cd in your machine, you just know it's gonna be good.
As soon as the first sounds come flowing from your loudspeakers, you get your long awaited fix.
Fantastic stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2009
For me it's hard to put a label on the music of the Scottish trio known as The Blue Nile. Cerebral pop perhaps - but it's not really pop. Maybe just thinking man's music but then you wouldn't want to be thinking about suicide or this might just convince you. Even when Paul Buchanan is singing (relatively) cheerful songs they have a certain melancholy feel to them.
Output hasn't been particularly prolific. This is only the fourth album in over 20 years together, but the quality remains high. For anyone who is not familiar with The Blue Nile I would not recommend this as a first purchase. Rather I would direct them to "Hats" or "Peace At Last." Better still, try to sample the music before you commit to the investment.
It's a well worn cliche, but most apt in this case, that you either love or hate The Blue Nile. If you hate them the star rating is irrelevant. If you love them, you'd probably give it four stars. Five stars have to be reserved for the aforementioned albums, but fans won't be too disappointed with this one either.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
Great album from one of the best bands in the world,wish the rest of the world could discover this band, True genius
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2004
The Blue Nile have got better with each album they have made until now, Peace At Last being by far the best. High is a good album and I'm glad I bought it but compared to likes of Hats this will only be played now and again. The highlights of the album are Broken Loves and She Saw The World.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
great album grat singer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
will not play on cd playes on tv dvd player this is no good to me please send return addres so i can have a refund thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£11.47

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)