Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent transfer
Received this today. A very good transfer in my opinion. I use to own the DVD and I can tell the difference. Colours are more vivid and I can see more detail. Sound is more powerful. I have a 2.1 Philips speaker system plugged into the headphone socket of my TV.
Languages: English, Italian, French, Spanish and Portoguese.
Subtitles: French, English, Portoguese,...
Published on 2 Dec. 2009 by J. J. Pecino

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Contamination, Containment, Catastrophe
"Evil Never Dies..... Apparently"
The majority of people who have seen Resident Evil will be aware of its video game background. Capcom's famous horror survival zombie game that has been actively updating the series with new installments for over 15 years. While this film isn't a necessity for the franchise, more of a solid money maker, it has not been made...
Published on 8 July 2012 by J. Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars "Five hours ago Red Queen went homicidal, sealed the Hive and killed everyone down here", 31 Jan. 2014
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I found this action/SF/horror/zombie flick inspired by the video game "Resident Evil" quite watchable and entertaining, although it is really not a masterpiece. Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

Deep underneath Raccoon City exists a large, secret genetic research facility called the Hive, owned by the Umbrella Corporation. The whole site is controlled and managed by an artificial intelligence called the Red Queen. At the very beginning of the movie SOMETHING happens which makes the Red Queen seal the Hive and start killing everyone inside.

Exactly at the same moment an attractive young woman named Alice (Milla Jovovich) wakes up in a deserted mansion - bruised, naked and unable to remember jack... Then she realises the manor is not as deserted as it first looked... And then the film really begins.

Well, as adaptations of video games go, this one is better than most and actually it is a pretty decent action film. Personally, I never liked much zombie flicks (with the only exception being the old black and white classic "Night of Living Dead") but this one is quite watchable. Action scenes are not bad, there are some rather good (sometimes pretty cruel) twists, Milla Jovovich is very sexy and Michelle Rodriguez offers a great performance as a Very Macho Commando Girl With Big B@lls Of Fire...))) Also, the Red Queen is a pretty interesting villain.

On another hand dialogs are not so great and there is little humour. Even if there are some twists the whole story is rather predictable and the ending, albeit necessary for the already then planned sequel, is really silly.

Bottom line, this is a honest action/SF/horror/zombie flick, mostly enjoyable because of two main actresses - but it is nothing more and I don't think I will keep the DVD for future viewings. Still, a honest watch, especially recommended for viewing after a very hard day at work, when one is simply too tired to think much and just needs something to go nicely with beer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First Is Best, 14 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Resident Evil [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Resident Evil is a slick, tense, often edge-of-the-seat thriller. It's set more-or-less in the present and could easily be described as sci-fact, as the story it outlines is probably very near truth.

This is a B-movie with a B-cast. But even so it's very competently realised. Set pieces are right on the money, and there's a blistering beaty soundtrack to ramp-up tension.

A secret genetic-experiment facility has gone haywire. It's in an underground catacomb/fortress affair. There's a small team of experts sent to sort things out, but someone's a renegade. And time - naturally - is limited. And of course - there's flesh-eating zombies! Acting is adequate, and script about the same. Even so, the convoluted plot runs like a train, and the zombies and sundry CGI beasties add all manner of creepy shocks. The ending itself is no less of a shock either.

This pilot and its pasty-faced expressionless typing-error leadette gave rise to a never-ending franchise that deteriorated with each offering. Unless, of course, flesh-eating zombies are you thing. But taken in isolation, this movie really hits the spot in B-movie horror thriller genre, and I'd certainly recommend a viewing.

Rating is listed as `15', run time 97 minutes, aspect ratio stated as 1.85:1. My Constantin/Pathe issue came from a supermarket brantub and was crisp & clear. There's a host of extras which I haven't bothered to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not as bad as some say!, 2 Aug. 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Resident Evil [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Resident evil is an adaption from the popular computer game,and has recieved varied reviews to say the least,i can see why some criticise this movie but i can also see why some like it,in truth this is a movie that moves at a good pace so its enjoyable in that respect,plus there are one or two little twists that keep the interest level going.

The film plot revolves around an underground building called the hive that is a laboratory that experiments in genetic mutation and virus testing,when a virus spreads in the hive,there is a lockdown and all the workers are left to perish.Thats when we are introduced to the main protagonist alice,who is played by milla jovovich,who is prettier on the eye than most female heroes if im honest.

Alice along with an army unit and a few other people are placed within the hive to clear the area and get things back to normal,but it is far from easy as a computer runs the hive called the red queen who has a motive of her own.In some ways the film seems over complex but in truth its quite standard in its formula and uses many cliches used to get a scare from the viewer,some of the acting is weak,but the kills are all good,i suppose the film could have been more violent but they played it safe to get a 15 certificate rating but in the whole its a film that isnt anything new ,but is certainly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best!, 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Great DVD. plenty of action and good effects and Milla looks a total dream as she sends the foe to never land for good. Fast moving and perfectly filmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And in the begi..., 31 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
... this is the first movie in the Resident Evil saga and it is as all first movies setting a standard for what kind of story it is. An neverending as it seems but as all sagas the movies have a lot of fans around the world eagerly waiting for next movie. why? Somehow there are this nagging questions that always comes up: Will she save the last living people from the corporation and will there be a cure? Stay tuned...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A view from the non-gamer side, 25 Feb. 2005
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resident Evil [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I have to confess that I don't play video games - eye-hand coordination and lightning reflexes weren't included in my genetic package, so this review is based on the movie - and nothing but the movie.
Other than Milla Jovovich, no cast member did any real acting. Michelle Rodriguez had a fairly difficult role to play, but the snarling and eye rolling was just too much at times. She was necessarily tough, but the dialogue also really let her down. The rest of the cast was on par for a B Grade horror movie, and only slightly more animated than the zombies.
This movie is what happens when you mix too many good things in a haphazard way. Imagine trying to write a coherent script when your "must" list includes zombies, were-dogs, sloppy genetic mutations with long tongues, a controlling computer system, an impregnable "fortress", a knockout babe with amnesia, a SWAT team, biological warfare, viruses, spies and saboteurs, a battle on a train, and guns - lots of guns.
The zombie scenes failed to impress, no gore to be seen anywhere - they just looked like a typical crowd of people in the mosh pit at a rock concert. The mutating tissue-thing was straight out of a Dean Koontz book, and most of the suspense scenes weren't very suspenseful, because whatever you expected to happen - did.
On the cool side, you had the wicked lasers to do the slicing and dicing, Alice's (Milla) hot red zombie-kicking slit-way-up the side dress, and the fight scenes. Many parts may seem familiar, mainly because you've seen scenes just like them in other popular action movies.
Next time let Alice do some Mortal Kombat with Lara Croft and you can call it a Final Fantasy.
Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gerat Film, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Milla is fantastic, xstrodinary film, the very best of the series, but I love them all,
This is scifi at it best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very underrated zombie flick, 23 Feb. 2005
By 
tom austin (Blackpool, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Resident Evil [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This film was extremely underrated by critics when it hit the cinema because it was,nt a classic however it was not made to be a classic but just to entertain people, and thats exactly what this film does, entertain. The acting is very good from most of the cast including milla jovovich, michelle rodriguez ( who are both very HOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ) and also james purefoy, martin crewes and colin salmon. One particuly entertaining part of the film was the part where some of the less important cast get diced up by the red queens laser in the coridoor. The only bad thing about this film is the lack of gore due to the directors need too keep to a 15 certificate, if they used the sort of gore from the film dog soldiers then the film would have been alot better. The lack of gore is the only reason why i have given this film 4 stars instead of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whats wrong with it???, 10 April 2007
This review is from: Resident Evil [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I dont understand why many people dont like it some say "Whats the point of having the zombies" What I ask is why are you complaining at a film which its plot is based on zombies because it has zombies in! Why would you watch the film. Personally I thought it was a good film as i like zombie movies the acting was good and it was also funny seeing people i have seen in ugly betty and lost in a zombie movie.

Overall I really liked it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, could have been worse, 5 Jun. 2007
By 
Mr. D. Woods "dwoods92" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resident Evil [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This film surprised me in being a fairly entertaining interpretation of the original video game. Most movies of this ilk often turn out to be absolute steaming piles of old pants (Street Fighter, Silent Hill, Doom, Alone in the Dark, etc.) but 'Resident Evil' manages to rattle along quite happily, albeit without threatening to offer anything in the way of originality.

Paul WS Anderson does a reasonable job of keeping the action ticking over nicely and the zombie dogs are fun. But Anderson isn't the greatest filmmaker around (this IS the man who made a complete hash of AVP) and still seems to be living on the virtues of 'Event Horizon', as he fails to generate any truly distinctive moments of genuine horror. The shocks are fairly obvious, the characters remain unengaging throughout and the blood count is disappointingly tame. Still, this is perfectly watchable bunkum and, in comparison to other video game adaptations, is a decent enough effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resident Evil [DVD] [2002] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews