Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughful and beautifully crafted
I bought this CD on impulse and I'm very glad I did! This CD takes Garbarek away from his usual partnering with Eberhard Weber and Rainer Bruninghaus to give some beautiful, thoughtful melodies intertwining the saxophone with the viola of Kim Kashkashian. The viola is very powerful, sounding almost like a cello at times with its flowing deep tone, perfectly complemented...
Published on 2 Jan 2005 by C. H. Shaw

versus
14 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars so much promise, so disappointing
Oh dear. I had very high hopes for this album given the artists involved (I've a couple of classical CDs with Kim Kashkashian playing, and Garbarek's Officium is wonderful), but have been massively disappointed. Three problems as I see it. First, a lot of the percussion is programmed and as a consequence not only does it lack the feel of a 'human' drummer, but once a...
Published on 23 Dec 2004 by Jack


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughful and beautifully crafted, 2 Jan 2005
By 
C. H. Shaw "redmutts" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Praise Of Dreams (Audio CD)
I bought this CD on impulse and I'm very glad I did! This CD takes Garbarek away from his usual partnering with Eberhard Weber and Rainer Bruninghaus to give some beautiful, thoughtful melodies intertwining the saxophone with the viola of Kim Kashkashian. The viola is very powerful, sounding almost like a cello at times with its flowing deep tone, perfectly complemented and counter-pointed by Garbarek's atmospheric saxophone playing. Track 2 sets the 'theme' which is picked up again at points though the CD. I find the samples on this site pretty useless as they tend to finish before the track get going, but try the sampler for track 4 to give an idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modern, Cool and Delightful, 30 Dec 2004
By 
Lewis Graham "lewisgraham" (East Anglia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Praise Of Dreams (Audio CD)
This is different to the hard, avant-garde Garbarek of the 70's and 80's. Here he mixes synthesisers, viola and his own fluid saxaphone sound to produce a series of ethereal sounds. Track 6 - Scene From Afar - is a lilting tune in tango time which haunts and delights.
If you enjoyed his work with the Hilliard Ensemble, this will be a pleasant instrumental alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jan at its best!!!!, 24 Sep 2004
This review is from: In Praise Of Dreams (Audio CD)
I got this CD few days ago and I have must listened to it at least 20 times. It transfers an unspeakable sence of hugeness that makes you feel just right. Track two, the title track, in particular is absolutely amazing, with Garbarek's sax beautifully dueting with the viola. Trust me, buy this record, it's way worth the money it costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value album, 7 Sep 2013
By 
F. Grace "FANATIC" (COCKERMOUTH UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Praise of Dreams (MP3 Download)
I loved his album 'officium', which makes me quite emotional, this album concentrates more on his jazz and is a good example of his saxophone playing, his soprano sax playing is very moving. Would recommend it to anyone who loves the saxophone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cool mystical Jazz, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Praise Of Dreams (Audio CD)
If you haven't sampled the music of Jan Garbarek and like laid back jazz, I would recommend giving it a listen. The standard of musicianship is excellent and I found it extremely accessible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Jazz Saxophony., 20 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: In Praise Of Dreams (Audio CD)
Never heard of Jan Garbarek befor. Caught the tittle track on, I think it was the Bob Harris show, and ordered the album on the strength of it. Wasn't dissapointed. The whole album is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful album. If you like Jan Garbarek, 19 Aug 2014
This review is from: In Praise Of Dreams (Audio CD)
Beautiful album. If you like Jan Garbarek, don't miss out on this album. [Saw this line-up on tour way back; excellent]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Praise of Dreams (MP3 Download)
Solid music from Garbarek - you either like it or you don't, in my experience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars so much promise, so disappointing, 23 Dec 2004
By 
Jack (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Praise Of Dreams (Audio CD)
Oh dear. I had very high hopes for this album given the artists involved (I've a couple of classical CDs with Kim Kashkashian playing, and Garbarek's Officium is wonderful), but have been massively disappointed. Three problems as I see it. First, a lot of the percussion is programmed and as a consequence not only does it lack the feel of a 'human' drummer, but once a track has started there is no rhythmic variation - if the song begins with a boom-de-boom-boom drum-track, that's what stays for the whole of the song. Dull and boring. Second, Garbarek's sax lines remain resolutely stuck in conventional melodic form throughout. Several times the viola and/or electronics set off on an interesting path (Eastern European folk-like and Arabic type forms), only for the sax to bring everything back to an unadventurous Western European 'elevator jazz' style. Thirdly, the final third of the album is simply awful. Tracks set off with simple, sparse ideas and... don't develop at all. This part of the album sounds just like the soundtrack to one of those over-stylised eighties- French movies by Beineix or Besson. It is just aural wallpaper. Sorry, but I can't see the point of this album. It has no soul, no artistry and no magic. If you want slow, meditational but ultimately deeply spiritual and moving music then something by a 'proper' compositional musician like Arvo Part (who also records for the ECM label) is infinitely preferable - this record may just pass muster as post-dinner-party chill-out music for advertising execs who want a bit of trendy ambience without actually having to exert effort in actually listening to the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars lifeless, 20 Jun 2006
By 
G. Smith (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Praise Of Dreams (Audio CD)
This is a peculiarly lifeless record. There's that beautiful saxophone tone of course, but unfortunately there are no stories being told with it. It's a pity that the writing gives wonderful players of Garbarek and Kashkashian's calibre so little to chew on.

This music is emotionally empty and one-dimensional, with little ambiguity or mystery. To my ears it seems that Garbarek's signature style of combining jazz and folkish melodies with minimalist intensity has resulted in something entirely numb this time around. The cheesy and unimaginative electronic backings don't help matters. There are plenty of good records exploring the possibilities of jazz and electronica, give yourself a treat and try Arve Henriksen's 'Chiaroscuro' instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Praise Of Dreams
In Praise Of Dreams by Jan Garbarek (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews