Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silly person [...]
[...] how to have fun, how to escape, remember childhood and visualise anything that is not REAL!!! This album is not, on the whole a collection of his best work but it still touches on genius and easily deserves 5 stars. If you haven't discovered Devendra's work yet i would recommend Cripple Crow as a first album, to get tuned into his sound, lyrics and mad world, as...
Published on 16 Mar. 2007 by Han B

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same but still pretty good.
Although I still prefer Rejoicing in the Hands as a complete album, this studio stuff is pretty good and worth your hard earned. Definitely not a cobbled together afterthought and has a happy feel about it.
Published on 4 Jan. 2005 by muppelino


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silly person [...], 16 Mar. 2007
By 
Han B (Hastings England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nino Rojo (Audio CD)
[...] how to have fun, how to escape, remember childhood and visualise anything that is not REAL!!! This album is not, on the whole a collection of his best work but it still touches on genius and easily deserves 5 stars. If you haven't discovered Devendra's work yet i would recommend Cripple Crow as a first album, to get tuned into his sound, lyrics and mad world, as it's a little less querky sounding, then i'm sure you'll get quite addicted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a new twist on an old style, 25 Jan. 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nino Rojo (Audio CD)
Devendra's second album of 2004 and very similar to 'Rejoicing in the Hands'. If you liked it buy this. If you haven't heard it think early Marc Bolan (the best and least irritating bits of the Tyrannosaurus Rex albums), guitar playing that reminds me of the ingenuousness of Marc, to number of more sophisticated, melodic players from Roy Harper,Nick Drake and Bert Jansch to Donovan, Dylan and sometimes Leonard's Cohen's accompaniments, but it doesn't sound old. He's somehow updated these sounds and made them his own. The lyrics are somewhat incomprehensible at times, very cute at others and tend to make you think he'd be cool to have a drink with. Don't know why it's so appealing, but it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most achingly beautiful depth scaling high soaring man, 21 Sept. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Nino Rojo (Audio CD)
and this album shows him off at his best. if you want to go on a hippie neo jesus wizard world folk trip, you're in the right place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eerily beautiful folk music with a modern twist, 2 April 2007
By 
M. Wilkinson (Portsmouth, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nino Rojo (Audio CD)
The modern twist is maybe half in the actual sound which goes for a kind of intentional dissonance, almost to grab your attention (which it does) and the other half is in the lyrics which seem very much up to date but at the same time you can imagine many of the themes being timeless. It certainly has a retro feel. I can imagine hippies in the 70's aspiring to sound like this but not quite being able to do it since all the music of the time was so different than now.

Little Yellow Spider & At the Hop will be known to many British people since they have been included in recent television commercials - 'little white monkey staring at the sand...' Yep - thats Devendra Banhart.

A lovely little album to mellow yourself out on a summer afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same but still pretty good., 4 Jan. 2005
This review is from: Nino Rojo (Audio CD)
Although I still prefer Rejoicing in the Hands as a complete album, this studio stuff is pretty good and worth your hard earned. Definitely not a cobbled together afterthought and has a happy feel about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devendra Banhart: Rejoicing ..., 14 Dec. 2009
By 
Alan Murray (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nino Rojo (Audio CD)
Bethnoir has this banged to rights.

1) Do you like early Marc Bolan/Tyrannosaurus Rex?
2) Do you like Nick Drake?
3) Do you like fey, hippie lyrics (Tolkien-infused, if not actually Tolkien-inspired)?
4) Are you happy to be called a hippie?

If the above produces 3/4 or more, you will like this album. I first heard it in one of Edinburgh's finest veggie restaurants and was forced to ask who the hell it was. I rest my case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nino Rojo (Audio CD)
It's ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spider, 23 Aug. 2014
By 
Diddily "Seligor's Castle" (Pontybodkin, North Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nino Rojo (Audio CD)
A very strange guy with a very strange take on music but the album I do like very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars greaat stuff!, 26 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Nino Rojo (Audio CD)
I was extremely delighted with my purchase as it arrived speedily quick (within two days of ordering) and it was exactly as it was described. I would reccommend this seller to all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nino Rojo
Nino Rojo by Devendra Banhart (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews