Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars freshest record of 2005
OK, so taste is taste, but i'm amazed at all the negative reviews for one of the freshest, most original, and goddammit brilliant records of recent years. If you like the sound of a Missy Elliot without the #@!&$ ballads and a London emigre slant then this is for you. Arular is, quite frankly, the Nuts!
Published on 24 Sep 2006 by pj manchester

versus
6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Innovative and Interesting
[...]--there's really no reason to attack the woman's accent because you find it too "upper middle class," for example. I will agree that her vocals and her delivery are really a matter of taste. She's definitely from the Gwen Stefani school of sharp sopranos, and she sometimes throws out phrases like she's trying her very hardest to keep you from falling asleep at the...
Published on 18 Jan 2007 by anju


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bwa , should listen some more..., 25 Oct 2012
This review is from: Arular (Audio CD)
Well i haven't had so much listeningsessions yet , but it's a good album and it's harsh , hard , il like but sometimes it's to hard for me, should give it some more listens perhaps?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and original, 2 Dec 2011
This review is from: Arular (MP3 Download)
I have loved Bucky Done Gun and Galang so I was interested in this album. I finally recieved it and immediately gave it a listen, and it was brilliant! I'm not sure what to say about it review wise, but every track stood out and there is not a track I could not see as a single. Well, maybe not the skits on the album but they are addictive and fun. Definetly my favourite M.I.A. album and one of my favourite albums ever. My favourite tracks are Pull Up The People, Bucky Done Gun, Fire Fire, Amazon, 10 Dollar and Galang. That's a lot of favourite tracks but the album is just that good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece flawlessly presented on vinyl, 25 Oct 2011
By 
. Hjartnes (Bergen, NO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arular [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Despite this being an electronic album it sounds very good on vinyl, preferable to cd.
There's not much to be said about the album that hasn't already been said, except for if you still haven't listened to it, you need to do it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Innovative and Interesting, 18 Jan 2007
This review is from: Arular (Audio CD)
[...]--there's really no reason to attack the woman's accent because you find it too "upper middle class," for example. I will agree that her vocals and her delivery are really a matter of taste. She's definitely from the Gwen Stefani school of sharp sopranos, and she sometimes throws out phrases like she's trying her very hardest to keep you from falling asleep at the wheel. But that's the point in a lot of ways: this is an aggressive record, with aggressive sounds, an aggressive set of messages, and aggresive delivery. But it's also a fantastically global album, with a truly global sound--in this way, M.I.A may be more like Shakira than Missy Elliot, perfectly comfortable throwing together Brazilian, South Asian, and rap influences together in a way that doesn't suit everyone, but is very appealing if you like the sound of her voice and her repetitive, percussive, firecracker songcraft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weak MC, average beats, 29 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Arular (Audio CD)
Sorry, but as MCs go this girl is very weak, her rhymes are literally terrible: 'like P.L.O., u don't surrendo' for example. This rather large problem is not helped by an uninspiring delivery style, not terrible, but far from great. The beats belie their unsophisticated origins, fleshed out by some fairly eclectic production, though it's still very much a British sound in my opinion.
Nothing special at all, long before the end i began to wonder how long it would be before MIA goes MIA herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep the vocals, put some attitude in the beats, 6 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Arular (Audio CD)
Some seem to like the beats on this album but not the vocals, I am the opposite. While I really like her delivery, the beats seem really wet to me. If this had some traditional drum and bass percussion it would be awesome. I would love to hear her vocals against the kind of soundscape Asian Dub Foundation produce. (and I'm not saying that because they're another South Asian group).

Another thing worth mentioning is that she is better when rapping about herself than trying to be political.

All in all an OK debut, but she could do with some outside input if it didnt negate her individual charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BRITISH MISSY ELLIOT, 19 Aug 2005
This review is from: Arular (Audio CD)
As the title illustrates, this hirl is onto BIG things. If I had to describe this album in 1 word it would be ORIGINAL. And originality wins every time. Expect this to be up for numerous awards this year. The beats are fun & mindbending but the lyrics are very meaningful & often political. Maya is one intelligent girl. If you like Missy Elliot & London rappers then you gotta buy this. Its' an absolute must have IF YOU'RE COOL ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars unlistenable, 22 Nov 2005
This review is from: Arular (Audio CD)
I read somewhere that she was upset that she missed out on the mercury prize and she felt kind of cheated because her music was the only 'original' thing in the shortlist. 'Original' yes, conceeded but..... The beats are not even primary school, her 'rhyming'skills are non-existant. Maybe this is supposed to be 'Lo-Fi'? A head-nod to the uk 'Grime' scene? Whatever it's supposed to be it isn't it's utter rubbish. And if you listen close enough, it's thoroughly offensive. Bigging up the 'Tamil Tigers' indeed. Go back to school and keep on working at losing that upper-middle-class accent my dear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not much cop really., 31 Dec 2005
This review is from: Arular (Audio CD)
I bought this a good while back, listened to it a bit, and then wondered whether it would grow on me.
I listened to it again recently and, actually, it's just not very good. Bucky Gun Done is all you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sounds all the same, 9 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Arular [Us Import] (Audio CD)
M.I.A. is supposed to be one of the best new acts around at the moment, so when I bought her album, I expected to hear something out of the ordinary, and yes I did-but most of the songs sounded the same. She has weak lyrics, and the album is just a bore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arular
Arular by M.I.A. (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews