Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robert Louis Stevenson meets Robert Stevenson
Disney regular Robert Stevenson directed and wrote this version of Robert Louis Stevenson's 'Kidnapped' in 1960. It is full of old Scottish character actors, including John Laurie (doing a cross between his old crofter in Hitchcock's '39 Steps' and Private Fraser in 'Dad's Army'), Finlay Currie, Duncan Macrae (who does an excellent job of a really horrible highlander) and...
Published on 16 July 2010 by Philip G. Brown

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok
Bought this as a gift for my sister...not for the film but for the fact that my Father is the redcoat sergeant in it! He was in the T.A. and was drafted in with his men as extras in the film as it was being filmed where he lived. Just wanted to see him again.
Published 12 months ago by Tia Janey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robert Louis Stevenson meets Robert Stevenson, 16 July 2010
By 
Philip G. Brown (Clevedon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped [DVD] (DVD)
Disney regular Robert Stevenson directed and wrote this version of Robert Louis Stevenson's 'Kidnapped' in 1960. It is full of old Scottish character actors, including John Laurie (doing a cross between his old crofter in Hitchcock's '39 Steps' and Private Fraser in 'Dad's Army'), Finlay Currie, Duncan Macrae (who does an excellent job of a really horrible highlander) and Andrew Cruickshank, fresh from Dr. Finlay's Casebook.

Another Disney regular James MacArthur plays David with an appropriate dour sincerity. I was going to complain about his Scottish accent, but it really is no worse than any of the English actors who include Peter Finch in the lead role, Bernard Lee (just prior to playing 'M'), and Peter O'Toole (almost unrecognisable in his debut performance as a bearded and tartaned MacGregor).

The production is nicely filmed in Technicolor with some real Scottish scenery, but some of the studio sets and the abysmal ship models in the Pinewood tank let the production down and make you think this was quite a low budget affair.

Recommended for its integrity and good honest storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stevenson, 29 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped [DVD] (DVD)
John Lawrie is brilliant as ebeneezer balfour, but credible performances all round, classic boys adventure, ripping yarn.I have three versions of this story and this one is the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD ADVENTURE YARN, 20 April 2010
By 
C. Kingswell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good adaptation of Robert Louis Stevenson's novel, although it might have been better. James MacArthur is well cast as the young David Balfour who, upon the death of his father, makes a journey to the house of his uncle Ebenezer ( played in his own inimitable way by John Laurie ). While there, he finds evidence that his uncle has swindled his father out of his estate and that he, David Balfour, is now the rightful inheritor. His uncle contrives to have him kidnapped and sent into slavery, but a chance meeting with adventurer Alan Breck Stewart ( played by Peter Finch ) brings about his release and a chance to secure his inheritance.
Peter Finch makes a good Alan Breck and he plays the part very well, but I would have liked to see someone a little more dashing like Richard Todd who had already starred in Disney's 'The Story of Robin Hood', 'The Sword And The Rose' and 'Rob Roy, The Highland Rogue' in the early '50s. I guess he had moved on from this sort of role by the time 'Kidnapped' was made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped [DVD] (DVD)
this was very good with excellent English. Excellent to show school children who are studying English as a foreign language
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good Classic, 16 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. H. T. Brown "Image maker" (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped [DVD] (DVD)
good entertainment for all the family, a little dated but my grandson was glued to the screen watching the scenes of the ruined manor steps to the tower. Kept him quiet for a short time. He was amazed at the sword fencing. All good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney Kidnapped, 29 Nov 2011
This review is from: Kidnapped [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this product thinking it would be like some of the recent Disney films of books (like Lion witch and wardrobe or Dawntreader) and not be close to the book. How wrong I was, I had forgotten that this film was made when Walt Disney's principles ran Disney and things would be as close to the book as possible (unlike now when Box office Finance is the principle). This film is entertaining makes you think and keeps you interested. It highlights that greed and jealousy have always been around and the law can be twisted but the outcome is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brimming with likeable rogues!, 6 Aug 2011
This review is from: Kidnapped [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful old fashioned children's/family film. That does not, however, detract from some great character portrayals by Finch, Currie, Laurie and the rest of the cast. This was a trip down memory lane for me and I'll certainly be revisiting from time to time! "They don't make 'em like ..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 27 July 2010
By 
E. Brooker "nostalgia" (essex england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped [DVD] (DVD)
A good old fashioned family adventure film that is well worth buying for you - your children=grandchildren.
You will be surprised that the children might enjoy this more than you thought!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped [DVD] (DVD)
It may be an old film but it is a classic and all ages will appreciate the film. Very watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 21 Aug 2013
By 
Tia Janey (Scottish Highlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this as a gift for my sister...not for the film but for the fact that my Father is the redcoat sergeant in it! He was in the T.A. and was drafted in with his men as extras in the film as it was being filmed where he lived. Just wanted to see him again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kidnapped [DVD]
Kidnapped [DVD] by Robert Stevenson (DVD - 2004)
£4.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews