Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best music DVD ever!
An expertly filmed document of Sparks highly visual and mesmerising live show of the excelletn Lil Beethoven album.
The disc also contains the second set of Sparks classics and some worthwhile extras including a couple of easter eggs.
All in all, a DVD truimph for one of the most underated - and best - bands of all time.
Published on 2 Oct 2004 by Freddie Valentine

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nearly superb, but it's an audio let-down
I'm not going to review Sparks in general, you probably already know if you like them or not. I wish to comment on the specifics of this DVD.

Great editing, good extras, and a record of a fine gig. Everything is great except for the audio. And, given that this is a music DVD, that's quite a big issue.

Those of us old enough to remember such things...
Published on 27 Aug 2007 by D. J. Stevenson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best music DVD ever!, 2 Oct 2004
This review is from: Sparks: Lil' Beethoven - Live In Stockholm [DVD] (DVD)
An expertly filmed document of Sparks highly visual and mesmerising live show of the excelletn Lil Beethoven album.
The disc also contains the second set of Sparks classics and some worthwhile extras including a couple of easter eggs.
All in all, a DVD truimph for one of the most underated - and best - bands of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 9 Aug 2004
This review is from: Sparks: Lil' Beethoven - Live In Stockholm [DVD] (DVD)
Probably the best DVD I have ever bought.
The performance of their latest album Lil' Beethoven is witty, energetic and theatrically brilliant.
The bonus live tracks is basically a Greatest Hits concert lasting about one hour. It is quite amazing to think that some of these songs are more than 30 years old - the sound is fresher and more inspiring than most music I have heard in years.
Some of the other tenacious singers (Bowie et al) should take a look at this to see how it is possible to be at the top of your game 3 decades or so after your first album.
The bonus bits and pieces are great - a rare glimpse of the Maels at soundcheck (I've never seen Sparks so 'exposed' on film before), a bizarre glimpse into their "dressing room" and a recital of the Legend of Lil Beethoven
Worth every penny - and a whole heap more.
BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 17 Feb 2006
This review is from: Sparks: Lil' Beethoven - Live In Stockholm [DVD] (DVD)
ignore the one poor review of this DVD, the show is amazing and only topped by the "Hello Young Lovers" live show. If you like intelligent, witty, catchy songs which require the listener to pay attention, pure showmanship and a great set/projected images than you are in for a rare treat. The DVD made me return to a number of Sparks albums i hadn't played in some time and appreciate them all over again..and as for the album being over-rated..it's a classic that will, in years to come, have people raving about it in the same way as they rave about the Beach Boys Pet Sounds. It's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has to be seen..., 22 Jan 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sparks: Lil' Beethoven - Live In Stockholm [DVD] (DVD)
If you buy one DVD this year, you will not be disappointed with this audio-visual treat.
This production perfectly encapsulates Sparks' unique, innovative musical genius, along with their tongue-in-cheek humour. To simply call this a "concert" would do it an injustice; perhaps a "theatrical event" comes closer. Not only does the performance cover their latest work, but many of their previous hits are presented with a freshness which puts many recent bands to shame, along with an energy that can only be described as infectious. Sparks certainly deserve to be rated along with some of the greatest performers of our time.
If you buy a second DVD, don't miss A-Ha - Homecoming - Live At Vallhall, which also proves that some of the more mature talent, sadly neglected by the British pop industry, still have bucket loads more to offer than much contemporary music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nearly superb, but it's an audio let-down, 27 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Sparks: Lil' Beethoven - Live In Stockholm [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not going to review Sparks in general, you probably already know if you like them or not. I wish to comment on the specifics of this DVD.

Great editing, good extras, and a record of a fine gig. Everything is great except for the audio. And, given that this is a music DVD, that's quite a big issue.

Those of us old enough to remember such things have suffered at the hands of "automatic recording level" on cassette recorders - it used to boost the level of quiet bits and reduce the level of loud bits. Compression.

The audio on this DVD does that, and it does it to extreme.

If the audio was right, this would be a 5* DVD. But the audio is wrong. Very wrong. Listen to "Calm Before The Storm". If you're like me, then you won't be able to do, the compression makes it unlistenable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HOW CAN I LIVE WITHOUT SPARKS, 29 Dec 2011
By 
tim.62 (Willenhell, W.Goreland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sparks: Lil' Beethoven - Live In Stockholm [DVD] (DVD)
Like a lot of people who know who sparks are, I first saw them on TOTP doing "this town aint big enough" and then bought "number one song" at the end of the seventies and the greatest hits 74-76 on cd some years later [which i played to death], but have ignored the rest of their output, how could i have been so stupid.

I was not excepting to like lil' beethoven and had only picked it up for the bonus live tracks , but by the end of "ride em cowboy" I was cheering along with the crowd and played the whole DVD twice.

I will now be purchasing lil beethoven on cd along with a number of others titles.

It does beg the question how come a band that has such a wealth of great songs remain under the radar for so long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great concert, 10 Nov 2009
By 
Terry Siederer (Stockholm) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sparks: Lil' Beethoven - Live In Stockholm [DVD] (DVD)
I hadn't heard/seen any Sparks for ages and then I went to this concert. (I'm in the sixth row!) It won me back as a loyal fan. Sparks always were and still are original, you love them or hate them. This show had some old favourites at the end to boot. A memorable show and a great DVD although some of the bonus material is boring (Ron having a manicure? Please! And fans' interviews saying the usual how wonderful they are?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The rhythm thief has got it!, 9 Feb 2009
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sparks: Lil' Beethoven - Live In Stockholm [DVD] (DVD)
As with their "Dee Vee Dee" concert film, this is a DVD of two halves from Sparks. The first half is their superb "Little Beethoven" album played from start to finish, with Ron playing keyboards and occasionally leaving his stool to interact with video screens, props and a beautiful girl while Russell sings and the band play. Then, after a short interval, the band appear together and it is a hugely enjoyable greatest hits set where no classic is omitted. Yes, the sound is disappointing in comparison with "Dee Vee Dee", but this is still a worthwhile purchase for a Sparks fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This just has to be seen..., 22 Jan 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sparks: Lil' Beethoven - Live In Stockholm [DVD] (DVD)
If you buy one DVD this year, you will not be disappointed with this audio-visual treat.
This production perfectly encapsulates Sparks' unique, innovative musical genius, along with their tongue-in-cheek humour. To simply call this a "concert" would do it an injustice; perhaps a "theatrical event" comes closer. Not only does the performance cover their latest work, but many of their previous hits are presented with a freshness which puts many recent bands to shame, along with an energy that can only be described as infectious. Sparks certainly deserve to be rated along with some of the greatest performers of our time.
If you buy a second DVD, don't miss A-Ha - Homecoming - Live At Vallhall, which also proves that some of the more mature talent, sadly neglected by the British pop industry, still have bucket loads more to offer than much contemporary music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Concert of Two Halves, 26 Oct 2007
This review is from: Sparks: Lil' Beethoven - Live In Stockholm [DVD] (DVD)
Why do Sparks persist with this concept album rubbish. Unfortunately the first half of this concert involves sitting through the Lil beethoven nonsense before you get down to the good stuff.

Terrific band that really deliver the goods live but wish they would stick to what they are good at
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafd9b84c)

This product

Sparks: Lil' Beethoven - Live In Stockholm [DVD]
Used & New from: 17.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews