Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iconic Disc
This is a truly iconic disc, the legendary performance that introduced an eccentric Canadian pianist to the world at large. Gould had made a sensational debut in New York with a programme that included Beethoven's Op 109 sonate, a Sweelinck fantasia and the Webern variations. Snapped up by a CBS talent scout, he requested his first release should be Bach's Goldberg...
Published on 23 Sept. 2008 by Mr Swallow

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent music, pity about the humming
I don't normally take exception to the odd bit of background noise, but there is quite a bit of humming, hissing and the occasional thump in this recording. Yes, it was a landmark recording. Yes, Gould was an eccentric genius. But should that be an excuse? There are many other recordings of this work that have been made in the 50+ years since the original record was made,...
Published on 22 May 2011 by C. R. Moorhead


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iconic Disc, 23 Sept. 2008
This review is from: Bach: The Goldberg Variations 1955 (Audio CD)
This is a truly iconic disc, the legendary performance that introduced an eccentric Canadian pianist to the world at large. Gould had made a sensational debut in New York with a programme that included Beethoven's Op 109 sonate, a Sweelinck fantasia and the Webern variations. Snapped up by a CBS talent scout, he requested his first release should be Bach's Goldberg Variations, a seldom performed work the Leipzig cantor wrote for an aristocratic insomniac. As the recording took place, Gould sat on his pigmy stool, swaying, groaning, humming and playing like a god. Inbetween takes he popped pills, donned his overcoat and ate arrowroot biscuits washed down with spring water as the press gathered curiously to see the spectacle. The resulting LP sold 40,000 copies, redefined Bach playing and made Gould an instant star. Today, with many more fine recordings of the work, this is still the one that sets the benchmark. Invest and be dazzled by some of the greatest and most exciting piano playing ever committed to disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


116 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DA CAPO, 9 Jun. 2006
By 
DAVID BRYSON (Glossop Derbyshire England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach: The Goldberg Variations 1955 (Audio CD)
Sony's earlier release of this set, dating from as lately as 1992, is still available, but I'm sure they have some terribly good reason for reissuing it now. There is a reference to remastering of the sound, but I can't find out whether this is against the 1992 issue or the original one from 1955. The new disc sounds much like the old one to me, the sound of that was excellent (particularly for engineering now half a century old), and as for the performance...

This is the recording that first announced the Gould supernova to the musical world. He was 22 years old in 1955, he disavowed this account when he recorded the work again in1981, but much as I admire the latter this is the one for me. It is historic in more ways than one. In the first place it restored Bach-playing on the piano to fashionable respectability, as even Rosalyn Tureck had not quite managed to do. In the second place it marked the debut of one of the greatest geniuses, I am in no doubt at all, that ever played the instrument. Gould was a scholar and intellectual (although an unpretentious one), and his feeling and respect for the spirit of Bach's style were as acute as his interpretative sense was imaginative. However what pinned everyone's ears back when Gould came on the scene was just his phenomenal skill as an executant. Michelangeli himself was not more of a perfectionist than Gould was, and the cut-diamond super-perfection of his runs, trills and ornaments remains a thing to astonish the listener even in an age of ultra-accomplished technicians of the instrument. He has never been to everyone's taste, so I have no way of knowing whether he will be to yours with his rocketing speeds in certain variations, but I simply can't get enough of him.

There is a minor extra with this new release, namely some snippets from the recording sessions. This bonus is of course interesting, given that we are dealing with a prodigy of quite the stature of Gould, but I can't hear it as any major event given this maestro's well-known talkativeness. It can do no possible harm quite obviously, and if it gets on your nerves nothing is easier than to skip it. Failing that, Sony still seem to have the 1992 set available. Gould died abruptly of a stroke shortly before his 50th birthday, leaving behind him a more generous recorded legacy than certain other maestros of comparable eminence whom I shall not name. We lost him while he was still at the summit of his powers, and I have no idea what his early loss has denied us, because his range was a lot wider than one sometimes sees suggested. One way or another, this is the performance that set the ball rolling. As with the 1992 set there are a couple of fugues from the 48 as fillers, and the mildly interesting new element may simply be there to pad out the playing time, as in this performance Gould does not play repeats in the variations. His own essay accompanies the set by way of a liner-note, and for all its PhD-student idiom its fascination is obvious and intense given its authorship. I have his later performance too, including the broadcast discussion in which he repudiates this performance. It may be that I shall someday come to hear the matter the way he did, but I very much doubt it. This is the performance for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glen Gould playing the Goldberg Variations by Bach, 18 April 2009
By 
Mrs. Rp Meinke "Rachel" (Guernsey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: The Goldberg Variations 1955 (Audio CD)
Bach's keyboard music can take so many styles and approaches, but none can better Glen Gould's original touch and manner.
He is genius, and seems to have J.S. Bach's ear for phrasing and expression and a great love of his music.
He can however be heard humming to himself as he plays at one or two points.
This does not actually detract from the performance but emphasizes his "empathy".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Awe-inspiring Recoring!!!, 19 Nov. 2008
By 
Scriabinmahler (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bach: The Goldberg Variations 1955 (Audio CD)
If I must choose three recordings of solo piano music which deserve the word 'awe-inspiring', my first choice is this recording of Goldberg Variations by Glenn Gould, second choice is Richter's Well-tempered Klavier (Bach - The Well-tempered Clavier, Books 1 & 2) and the third is Glenn Gould's 1981 recording of Goldberg Variations. Like Rony O'sullivan's 147 in 5 minutes 20 second, I don't think anyone can surpass this 1955 recording by Gould as long as mankind lives on, on this planet!

If you can actually watch how he plays the work on DVD (Glenn Gould - The Goldberg Variations [1981]), you will be even more amazed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just beautiful, 9 Dec. 2008
By 
S. L. Nicholson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach: The Goldberg Variations 1955 (Audio CD)
Glenn Gould's first recording of the Goldberg Variations is fresh and vibrant. Apparently Bach wrote the music as a kind of extended lullaby, but I've never yet managed to sleep through any of this recording. (Gould's later recording, from 1981, is more soothing.)

On this disk there are also two fugues from the Well Tempered Clavier. I think of the E major fugue (BWV 878) as a kind of ultimate idea of fugue: if someone wants to know what a fugue is, this is what they need to hear. Gould takes the E major fugue rather quickly in his recording of the whole of the Well Tempered Clavier, but the recording on this disk is slow and clear and wonderfully resonant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gould's early Goldbergs., 8 Jan. 2013
By 
J. Mincham (kings Langley UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: The Goldberg Variations 1955 (Audio CD)
By rights one should have both of Gould's recordings of what many think is the greatest set of baroque variations. I was a student when this recording and his version of the italian Concerto hit the scene. They caused immense ripples and generated much critical interest.
Do they stand up well today nearly 60 years later? Well apart from the fact that most people now expect them to be performed on the harpsichord, I would say yes, they do. One tends to forget the instrument choices by the time you are into the second variation and begin to enjoy them for what they are--insightful and technically brilliant performances of an immortal work. Julian MIncham
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent music, pity about the humming, 22 May 2011
By 
C. R. Moorhead (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach: The Goldberg Variations 1955 (Audio CD)
I don't normally take exception to the odd bit of background noise, but there is quite a bit of humming, hissing and the occasional thump in this recording. Yes, it was a landmark recording. Yes, Gould was an eccentric genius. But should that be an excuse? There are many other recordings of this work that have been made in the 50+ years since the original record was made, so why not opt for one of those instead? There have been many fine pianists since Mr. Gould that are just as deserving of a purchase. If you want to buy this version of the Goldberg Variations, don't make it your only one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy with a good Chianti, 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: The Goldberg Variations 1955 (Audio CD)
For a recording made in 1955 the sound on this disc is pretty good. Small wonder that this version has been used in at least 3 of the Hannibal Lector films. But there's more to this then Variation 30. Bach originally wrote his Goldberg variations for Harpsichord but the transition to piano does no disservice to these brilliant compositions (and tbh I'm not really a big an of harpsichord). Admittedly though this is not as easy to get into as some of Bach's concertos (speaking as a relative newcomer) as it is purely the one instrument but if you love Chopin and piano music in general an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overtaken by events..., 18 Sept. 2010
By 
Teemacs (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: The Goldberg Variations 1955 (Audio CD)
...namely, many, many better versions. The one good thing about this one in comparison with his later version is that he had not yet brought moaning along to the fine art he was later to achieve. The bad is everything else. Gould's dazzling virtuosity is certainly on show, but there's more to great music than playing a lot of notes very quickly. Gould simply plays some of this far, far too fast. He gives the music no time to breathe. As a result, you get a tinny, mechanical rendition as it it were a musical box (or an LP played at 45 rpm), devoid of phrasing and emotion. I guess this received such a reception because it was the first time that anyone had recorded it on a piano.

There are so many better piano versions than this (his own later version, moaning notwithstanding, Hewitt, Perahia), and this is only worth acquiring for historical interest. I have the feeling I may never play it again. As another reviewer says, the price is about right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars golden oldie, 22 July 2010
By 
Nancy (worcester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach: The Goldberg Variations 1955 (Audio CD)
This is still one of the finest recordings of Bach and Glenn Gould a great interpreter of same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bach: The Goldberg Variations 1955
Bach: The Goldberg Variations 1955 by Glenn Gould (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews