Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun
We got this for our disabled grandson's birthday. It did not break too quickly so all the children got a chance to hit it a couple of times. Everyone enjoyed it and we are sure that pinatas will appear at more parties now. Suitable for all ages and abilities (& most disabilities)
Published 13 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Waaayyyyyy too durable!!
I bought this pinata for my little girl's 4th birthday party. The children started bashing and bashing... and bashing, and it would not break!!! And to think I was worried that they all wouldn't get a turn, they all went at least 3 rounds!! The parents got a big laugh out of it, and eventually we had to tear it open for them. The box was a cardboard box that even had...
Published on 25 July 2009 by Maria


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Waaayyyyyy too durable!!, 25 July 2009
By 
Maria (Northampton) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Standard Pinata - Treasure Chest (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this pinata for my little girl's 4th birthday party. The children started bashing and bashing... and bashing, and it would not break!!! And to think I was worried that they all wouldn't get a turn, they all went at least 3 rounds!! The parents got a big laugh out of it, and eventually we had to tear it open for them. The box was a cardboard box that even had cardboard reinforcements on the interior.
NOT recommended for little people. Kids need to be at least 7-8 years old to bash this one in!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Arrrgh it be difficult to open, 8 Jan. 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Standard Pinata - Treasure Chest (Kitchen & Home)
As one would normally, I purchased this chest for a birthday party. Not mine, but that of my daughter. 4 years of age and ready to wack a piñata with a bat.

Great.

Filled with sweets, confetti and plastic coins the children queued and re-queued to get their chance to beat this comical effigy of a treasure chest.

For 30 minutes, they toiled.

The most amazing thing was, not a scratch was made. Not a dent, nary a bit of tissue out of place. As though it were some sort of immaculate object impervious to the greedy sweet driven kinetic explorations of the partygoers.

Alas, as their poor arms tired and as blisters grew on their yet work hardened hands a second plan was quickly formed.

We enlisted a broad shouldered father of two who had enjoyed a complementary beverage. With a mighty swing he struck. The children crouching for cover sprang up expecting the box to explode in a shower of corn syrup enhanced goodness

Nothing.

He tried again. The very roof shook. The booty box flew against its sturdy plastic-tie tether rattling its cargo. Was it dented? Was it disemboweled? No.

Plan C was enacted. Returning from the kitchen, the children crowded close as I was forced to take a knife to the bottom of the chest and once sliced, throwing the contents high triggered a kiddie melee as such not seen since the great "Chocolate Riots" of ought-seven.

My initial thought was that I had purchased a flight data recorder disguised as a party piñata treasure chest. Second thought was that the hands that built this box should be enlisted to construct much more expensive and long lasting items like nuclear waste structures or actual treasure chests.

The true culprit, cardboard.

Now far be it from me to impart my worldly knowledge to the creators of this party toy. However in the grand and vast land of Mexico where piñatas can be purchased in all manor of shapes and sizes, they are by in large constructed of papier-mâché, a fantastically cheap combination of water, glue, newspaper and labor. The tissue decorations act not as protective armor but rather costume the cheap and most importantly fragile undercarriage with colorful adornments. Were you to, for example string the papier-mâché piñata from a tree, it would only take a few sharp contacts to break the glue and paper assembly and shower the guests with cheap plastic and candy entrails.

This makes papier-mâché ideal, in fact, for constructing piñatas.

This Cardboard constructed treasure chest is a misnomer. This chest is constructed out of corrugated fiberboard not flimsy paperboard. Corrugated fiberboard is a paper-based material consisting of a fluted corrugated sheet and two flat linerboards, a laminate, an engineered material which has been enlisted to safetly package our goods since the 19th century.

Corrugated fiberboard is widely used in the manufacture of corrugated boxes and shipping containers, when it comes to corrugated fiberboard boxes, Strength is measured in two distinct figures: the edge crush test, and the burst test. The edge crush test is a measurement of how much weight is needed to crush a piece of corrugated cardboard standing on an edge. The burst test is a measurement of the pounds per square inch of pressure needed to rupture a cardboard panel. The standard measurements for a typical piece of corrugated cardboard is 32 lbs. for the edge crush test and 200 lbs. per square inch for the burst test.

200 psi what the average baseball bat imparts on a ball in flight. An AVERAGE. 200 psi is not what a 4 year old with a broom handle can deliver to anything even in perfect circumstances.

So with this knowledge in hand. Please buy this fantastic treasure chest, and store valuable items for transport in difficult journeys. Do not buy it if you want your children to have any hope of opening it with a blunt instrument.

I have mounted the colourful treasure chest in my lounge along side the lion head and bull elefant I felled on safari. The pictures of the weary and battle hardened partygoers adorn the stained wooden plaque surounding the colorful conquered box. I am sure the monument to this battle will outlast the wall to which it is affixed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Broke very quickly, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Pinata - Treasure Chest (Kitchen & Home)
It looks cool but it didn't take very long at all for 11 year old boys to smash it up, would have liked it to last longer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Looks good but...too strong, 3 April 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Standard Pinata - Treasure Chest (Kitchen & Home)
Yes I agree,this was far too robust! By the time we got into it the sweets were smashed to bits!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Pinata - Treasure Chest (Kitchen & Home)
We got this for our disabled grandson's birthday. It did not break too quickly so all the children got a chance to hit it a couple of times. Everyone enjoyed it and we are sure that pinatas will appear at more parties now. Suitable for all ages and abilities (& most disabilities)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for kids parties, 20 April 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Pinata - Treasure Chest (Kitchen & Home)
Brilliant treasure chest pinata. The kids took ages to get to the treasure inside but for me that was good as it kept them entertained for longer! Got it for a great price too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely pinata, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Pinata - Treasure Chest (Kitchen & Home)
i used this for the older children at my son's first birthday.

Very attractive, easy to use (and hang up!).
lots of space inside.
I would recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... one layer of crepe so once filled it was easy to see where the hole was, 20 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Pinata - Treasure Chest (Kitchen & Home)
Only one layer of crepe so once filled it was easy to see where the hole was. Kids had fun all the same and with a mixture of 3 to 8 year olds taking turns it took just over 20 mins to break and spill. Of course Dad had to have a go too.

Gave us just enough time to set up the next course of buffet after the treasure hunt. A great time was had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars great for a pirate party, 25 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Pinata - Treasure Chest (Kitchen & Home)
this item fitted in well with my daughters pirate themed party. However we were a little disappointed when, on the first hit, the handle fell off. it didn't spoil the party though. we just patched it up and all was good in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Pinata, 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Pinata - Treasure Chest (Kitchen & Home)
I ordered this for my son's 8 year old Indiana Jones theme Birthday Party. We had 14 boys here and they all loved it, the only person able to break it was my daughter who was 10. It certainly kept them entertained for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Standard Pinata - Treasure Chest
£7.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews