Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars live and untamed, 4 Sep 2004
By 
Graeme Wright "book worm" (salford) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Name Of This Band Is Talking Heads [Expanded & Remastered] [Us Release] (Audio CD)
The CD release of this album has been a long time coming, released as it was on vinyl as far back as 1982. The original was a potpouri of live recordings mainly from 1977 and 79 and possessed that earthy, rough sound quality that, then, was the norm but now has a spine tingling nostalgic quality to it. Talking Heads, at the time, were in that dangerous no-man's land between new wave respectability and Greenwich Village cool with a growing and ever loyal following. many of their early gigs were faithfully recorded by Warner Brothers and then consigned to the rock archive while the record company bosses decided what niche Talking Heads could possibly fit into.
The results of these early recordings have now seen the light of day on this double CD and prove to be a priceless treasure trove for Heads afficianadoes. Of the bonus tracks on CD1 a raw and energetic version of 'Electricity (Drugs)' from 1978 and a sublime reading of 'Heaven' from the following year are must haves in any collection.
The second CD (1980-81) contains all of the more polished gems from the original vinyl with the nine piece Heads increasing in confidence as well as percussive and musical outflow. The Rhythmic intensity of 'I Zimbra' and 'Life During Wartime' can now only be fully appreciated and the six bonus tracks - all previously unissued - only serve to underline how organic the Heads were. For example the 'new' version of 'Psycho Killer' from disc 2 (recorded in February 1981) is almost unrecognizeable from the rugged original on disc 1 (recorded just over three years previously).
All in all this CD is essential listening for anyone who thinks he knows Talking Heads. I thought I knew them but thankfully I was wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic reissue, 31 Aug 2007
This review is from: The Name Of This Band Is Talking Heads [Expanded & Remastered] [Us Release] (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to see the Heads live,and this reissue of the early 1980s album was well overdue.Put simply,they were one of the best live bands I've ever heard,and this,especially the second disc,does them justice at last.
The original album has been expanded to include music from the 1978 tours and the full setlist of the 1980-81 band-check the version of "Animals" and "Once in a Lifetime".
Highly recommended,and if you're new to the Heads,it's much better,and better value,than any of the compliations/greatest hits CDs that are on offer.Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Heads Start, 30 Nov 2004
By 
M. Thompson (Glasgow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Name Of This Band Is Talking Heads [Expanded & Remastered] [Us Release] (Audio CD)
Having been a big fan of Talking Heads since the early eighties, TNOFTBITH had always eluded me despite my record buying fervour and I had never been able to lay my hands on the original version of this album, although I had heard it many times thanks to a friend who was reluctant to let it out of his sight even so I could tape it!
I can now say that I am the proud owner of one of the best CD's that has ever been produced.
I won't try to duplicate the other reviews that appear, suffice to say that if you are new to the Talking Heads experience buy this CD first before acquiring 'Stop Making Sense' or any 'greatest hits' compilations. It captures the absolute essence of a band that took the 'P' out of Punk (quite literally) and replaced it with an 'F'.
I can't fail to mention two of my favourites on this album - New Feeling and Pulled Up. The Heads at their consistent best.
Buy it and you will be taken on a musical journey that simply cannot be compared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YES! YES! YES! FINALLY! YES!, 26 Aug 2004
By 
Alex M. Hoskins "alexhoskins" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Name Of This Band Is Talking Heads [Expanded & Remastered] [Us Release] (Audio CD)
Well I cant believe ive been waiting 20 years for this to come out on CD! It was always the best live Talking Heads album, more raw and edgy and less overpolished than Stop Making Sense. But after 20 years of my cursing Warner for their unbelieveable short sightedness in not bothering to release this album they have now totally redeemed themselves by expanding the package to almost twice the original length. 12 extra tracks, mostly previously unreleased. Plus the second disc now represents the entire Remain In Light Tour performance, nothing missing. Absolutely extraordinary!
Buy this album now! Even if you dont know early Talking Heads the album is a great introduction to the first half of their career. This is honestly one of the greatest live albums ever recorded by anyone. Dont know if it was worth waiting 2 decades for but its damn well close!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Band Rocks, 27 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: The Name Of This Band Is Talking Heads [Expanded & Remastered] [Us Release] (Audio CD)
From the first second this album rocks.I was fortunate to see the band in the late 70's and I can honestly say this album captures them at their peak. Buy it without any reservations and listen to how a rock band should sound. Raw, exciting, fresh, innovative ans above all cool. The Heads rock and always will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Live Outings, 24 Jan 2006
By 
Christopher Hunter "cjhunter2001uk" (Farnham UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Name Of This Band Is Talking Heads [Expanded & Remastered] [Us Release] (Audio CD)
I have the original vinyl release of this record which was good but always suffered from being heavily edited to fit the format. This remastered release is excellent. The 81 live set is very good and grooves big time, though suffers slightly from over messy guitar breaks.
The real magic of this release is the collection of live performances and radio show performances from 77 to 80. The sound quality is superb and the band were so tight from the earliest of days that you can't fault them. There is no fat on these recordings and they must have sounded totally alien in the late 70's. A real blue print manifesto for the current crop of guitar based bands coming out of the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE best Talking Heads album??, 26 Aug 2004
This review is from: The Name Of This Band Is Talking Heads [Expanded & Remastered] [Us Release] (Audio CD)
Oh my God! At long last the great, long-lost live album...some 22 years after vinyl release....on CD!
I've heard this in the States (it's been out a week or two longer there) and was amazed by the remastering (anyone miss vinyl?) and the EXTRA TRACKS...loads of them, filling this out to over thirty Heads tracks live and tracing the bands history from original 1977 four piece to 81 expanded funk-driven groove thang.
I've been waiting for this to come out on CD for ages and it's even better than I could've imagined! Brilliant!
Play this back to back with Stop Making Sense and you have the ultimate Heads live experience.
BUY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent expanded live document from premier new wave band, 11 Oct 2004
By 
Dr. D. B. Sillars - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Name Of This Band Is Talking Heads [Expanded & Remastered] [Us Release] (Audio CD)
The original vinyl edition of this live album has been hugely extended by 12 tracks to make this into a comprehensive document of live Talking Heads. The first disc of this 2 CD package is made up of live recordings spanning 1977 to 1979. But it's the second disc that shines from this set. Made up from the complete set-list of the "Remain in Light" tour, this CD showcases the expanded Talking Heads Funk Orchestra to perfection.
With "Remain in Light", Talking Heads had reached their peak of creativity, the partnership of band and producer Brian Eno producing one of the most original and exciting albums of the 70's. That, together with Byrne and Eno's groundbreaking "My Life in the Bush of Ghosts" and Byrne's own "The Catherine Wheel" soundtrack, reflect what a fertile period this was for David Byrne with his inspirational mix of cerebral, nervy New York artsy new wave, the heady funk of the Funkadelic/Parliament axis and African rhythms. The augmented line-up breathes new life into earlier Talking Heads pieces to the extent that they sound totally reworked. For me guitarist Adrian Belew is the star of the show, as his inclusion adds a completely new dimension to the arrangements. His skewed, elephantine sounding guitar gives the songs an alien, otherworldly feel. There is an edginess to the performance which is typical of the material and David Byrne at that time. The following "Speaking in Tongues" tour, which produced the best concert film ever shows the band in a more relaxed, confident light and actually having lots of fun. Highlights are a beefed up "Houses in Motion", "Warning Sign", the always excellent "Take me to the River", the blissful "Drugs" and the just downright boogielicious "I Zimbra".
As ever with Ryko re-issues the packaging is excellent, with lots of photos, notes and review snippets from the period. The sound on the earlier material is strangely better than that on disc 2, which sounds a tad harsh in some areas, but in some ways adds to the raw, hyper performance on display. This is an excellent live document from one of the best bands ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a duff track, 2 Sep 2004
By 
Jeffrey M. Black "jblack437" (Stockport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Name Of This Band Is Talking Heads [Expanded & Remastered] [Us Release] (Audio CD)
I owned the original 1982 vinyl of this album and I'm surprised that it has taken this long for a CD release. It's now an essential purchase as it now comprises 33 tracks that take us through the development of the minimalist edginess of the early three/four piece to the later expanded line-up that appeared in the Stop Making Sense' film.
It is never less than compelling and sounds surprisingly contemporary up against the likes of Franz Ferdinand. The extra tracks include a feedback-assisted 'Psycho Killer' and tracks from the rare Warners promo album of 1979. Perhaps the film soundtrack captures the later version of the band better, but CD1 is a pure distillation of what Talking Heads were about.
A worthy document of a classic band that is required listening for anybody bored with unimaginative rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metamorphosis, 26 Aug 2004
By 
This review is from: The Name Of This Band Is Talking Heads [Expanded & Remastered] [Us Release] (Audio CD)
One morning David Byrne awoke to find himself transformed into a dancer. Having looked forward to the re-issue of this album since i first learned about it & after playing it a couple of times I can only conclude that it IS Talking Heads Greatest Hits (only live). The Four albums they made between 1977-1980 surely represent some of the greatest Pop ever made (particularly 1979's "Fear Of Music"). On this live album you can hear the evolution - from 1977 we get a set which sounds like it's coming from a front room with a few assorted friends as audience..The sound from this performance is lean but brilliant with David Byrne getting hot & bothered about Civil Servants, New Feelings & making a Clean Break. Reminds me of Ted Bundy for some inexplicable reason. After these tentative steps comes the material from the twitching "More Songs About Buildings And Food" album with "I'm Not In Love" & "The Big Country" being the stand-out tracks. "Fear Of Music" is powerfully represented by the sublime songs "Mind", "Heaven" & a brilliant rendition of "Air". After this The Heads take the first few rungs on the ladder which would eventually lead up to "Stop Making Sense" - part of the evolution of this album is to do with David Byrne's gradual change from petrified Existential squeaker to loosened-up funk preacher.."Remain In Light" is of course the apothesis of Talking Heads from 1977-1980 & the songs sound just as strangely blissed live as they do on record.."Crosseyed & Painless" is a masterwork by anybody's standards & almost encapsulates the whole philosophy of "Fear Of Music" into one song. "Houses In Motion" is good-time paranoia whilst "The Great Curve" stops everything in a heady know-it-all sweep of grandeur. As ever the 1977-1980 Talking Heads have to be heard to be believed as this re-issue amply proves. Buy it today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews